We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view. Average hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed, Breakfast, & Parking
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice view. Average hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel was OK. The view is nice. Location is great. Beach front is SMALL. If paying less I would give a higher rating, but i believe it is overpriced for what you get. Staff was wonderful so no complaints there. Valet was horrendous and we waited 1 hour to get our car, after multiple other people had been helped. We were not only ones who waited. Another individual had waited as well. Recommend they review their valet procedures to improve.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are shocked to learn of the hour-long wait for your car, Jennifer. This is completely out of the ordinary, and we'll look into this right away to make sure that instances like this remain few and far between. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further concerns.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    230
    93
    94
    90
See reviews for
211
286
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Yikes. This is not consistent with the rest of the chain. I was traveling on business whereas it was clear that the majority of the guests were vacationing families. That didn't bother me but what did bother me is the dirty, chipped paint in my room (for which I'd been charged an upgrade fee - which to their credit, they refunded when I complained), the dirty chipped furniture, the peeling paint from the fixtures in the bathroom (vintage 1980s), the broken fluorescent light covers in the entryway, carpet so dirty I was afraid to do yoga on it in the morning, broken TV, broken sink, towels with stains (most hotels throw away towels with stains that won't bleach out). I'd agreed the upgrade because I wanted a quiet room (having been on the road for 2 weeks) but the rattling and wheezing air conditioner ensured that it was anything but a quiet night. Not to mention the yapping dog next door. I'm all for pet friendly hotels but this shouldn't be allowed when the walls are so paper thin that you can hear your neighbors breathe. The only thing that even hinted that this might be a Joie de Vivre was the nice clean bed (quite comfortable), good toiletries and lively surf design prints on the walls. Also, the staff were really great - very efficient when I complained, took the upgrade right off the bill and genuinely concerned that I'd had a bad stay. BUT, must say to Joie de Vivre corporate: "please come in and do something about this hotel. It is damaging your brand. The place needs to be gutted and redone from the ground up." So sad because I love the Huntington Beach hotel and given that my meetings were in Orange County, I would have stayed there and next time will stay there unless I read that this one has been completely refurbished.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are proud to be a part of the Joie de Vivre family, so it's terribly upsetting to see that you felt our hotel fell short. That said, we are happy to announce that we are indeed in the midst of implementing the necessary upgrades for our guests, and we are fully confident that these renovations will allow us to become even better. We hope that you have the opportunity to experience them for yourself next time you're in the Laguna Beach area, but until then, thank you for your feedback. It is words like yours that inspire us to continue striving for excellence.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend had originally booked a one night stay for a standard room through Booking.com. When we checked in, we got upgraded to an oceanfront room, literally steps to the sand. Views to die for. The most spectacular sunsets and SO romantic. Great for couples. We loved it so much that we decided to stay an additional night. Too beautiful to leave. In addition, the staff was very gracious and accommodating. If you're looking for a hotel on the sand, this is the call. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for spending the weekend with us! We can't blame you for wanting to spend an extra night with us—between the ocean views, fresh air and comfortable room, it's pretty hard to leave. We hope to have you and your boyfriend back again soon, but until then, thank you for the wonderful review!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I would like to commend the service overall. The staff exceeded expectations in customer service. They were all very nice, accommodating and try to please their guests. A special thanks to Ben and Tanner at the beach. Both were very personable and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Ben impressed us (nice touch) by remembering our names! Thank you front desk staff for your efficiency and being very polite.

The balcony view was spectacular! We enjoyed sitting there taking in the heavenly view!

We would definitely stay there again!

Kindest Regards,
Tracy & Rowena Crow

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ben and Tanner will be thrilled to hear from you! It was such a treat to read your kind words, and to know that our team made you feel at home. Thanks! We'd love to have you back again next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio Ciity
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed on the beach front, 1st floor so We are really close to the beach. We got an overnight deal so it was really cheap. Since we got them out of a deal, we were place on an oldest building. It looked like a motel, I can see rusts from the door. But it was clean and we had stayed mostly on the patio because it was very pretty outside. So if you are not getting a beach front room, don't stay here because I don't believe that their price is worth without a view.

I can say that I will come back, only if there is a deal again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Glad you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay! It's hard to beat that view, but we wish that you room had left you just as impressed. However, we're happy to say that we're in the midst of renovations, so hopefully your next visit proves to be even better. Until then, thanks for the kind words!

Take care,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After hearing rave reviews of the cabanas at Pacific Edge Hotel I jumped on the opportunity to spend a day here after finding a great deal via TravelZoo. From the time of booking to the end of our afternoon, everything was amazing. Fun atmosphere, great cabana layout (tv for guys needing to watch a game or catch up on Sports Center & the private bathroom - love it!), amazing views, and tentative staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fun day in beautiful Laguna Beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Great views, sunshine and a few drinks—those cabanas are hard to beat! So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the stellar review!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

In the midst of trying to get a wedding planned in California and living in Arizona making a trip to "the golden state" is like a mini vacation. We luckily located at super deal for a room at the Pacific Edge.

Since we were traveling we arrived before check in and advised if our room was ready we would be happy to check in. The gentleman advised that the room was not ready and asked for a contact number that they could reach me at once ready...they asked for priority cleaning. I also shared with the gentleman at front desk that we were scoping out the hotel for our stay during our wedding.

While we waited for our room to be prepped we visited the Beach house restaurant. The view from the balcony was nice although the food wasn't too great. We ordered the grilled kabobs with steak and shrimp and the steak was over done. We also ordered a Caesar salad and when it was delivered some of the romaine lettuce was wilted.

Once I received the call we were provided a room in the reef tower which was amazingly close to the beach! The room was spacious with a walk in closet and separate shower and Jacuzzi tub! Once we settled in we went to the beach and we were serviced by a kind young man named Taylor. He gathered long chairs and towels per our request. We were so pleased with the location and service that we have decided to make this our hotel of choice for when we go in August to tie the knot!!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are nice and quiet...and of course a few steps away from getting some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are beyond elated to be a part of your wedding, Lissette! On behalf of our entire team, thank you so much for allowing us to take part in the celebration. Good luck with the rest of your wedding planning, and we'll see you in August!

Congratulations!
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.