We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Edge was nice and relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed, Breakfast, & Parking
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pacific Edge was nice and relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I would like to commend the service overall. The staff exceeded expectations in customer service. They were all very nice, accommodating and try to please their guests. A special thanks to Ben and Tanner at the beach. Both were very personable and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Ben impressed us (nice touch) by remembering our names! Thank you front desk staff for your efficiency and being very polite.

The balcony view was spectacular! We enjoyed sitting there taking in the heavenly view!

We would definitely stay there again!

Kindest Regards,
Tracy & Rowena Crow

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ben and Tanner will be thrilled to hear from you! It was such a treat to read your kind words, and to know that our team made you feel at home. Thanks! We'd love to have you back again next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    236
    97
    97
    92
See reviews for
220
290
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Studio Ciity
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed on the beach front, 1st floor so We are really close to the beach. We got an overnight deal so it was really cheap. Since we got them out of a deal, we were place on an oldest building. It looked like a motel, I can see rusts from the door. But it was clean and we had stayed mostly on the patio because it was very pretty outside. So if you are not getting a beach front room, don't stay here because I don't believe that their price is worth without a view.

I can say that I will come back, only if there is a deal again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Glad you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay! It's hard to beat that view, but we wish that you room had left you just as impressed. However, we're happy to say that we're in the midst of renovations, so hopefully your next visit proves to be even better. Until then, thanks for the kind words!

Take care,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After hearing rave reviews of the cabanas at Pacific Edge Hotel I jumped on the opportunity to spend a day here after finding a great deal via TravelZoo. From the time of booking to the end of our afternoon, everything was amazing. Fun atmosphere, great cabana layout (tv for guys needing to watch a game or catch up on Sports Center & the private bathroom - love it!), amazing views, and tentative staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fun day in beautiful Laguna Beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Great views, sunshine and a few drinks—those cabanas are hard to beat! So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the stellar review!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

In the midst of trying to get a wedding planned in California and living in Arizona making a trip to "the golden state" is like a mini vacation. We luckily located at super deal for a room at the Pacific Edge.

Since we were traveling we arrived before check in and advised if our room was ready we would be happy to check in. The gentleman advised that the room was not ready and asked for a contact number that they could reach me at once ready...they asked for priority cleaning. I also shared with the gentleman at front desk that we were scoping out the hotel for our stay during our wedding.

While we waited for our room to be prepped we visited the Beach house restaurant. The view from the balcony was nice although the food wasn't too great. We ordered the grilled kabobs with steak and shrimp and the steak was over done. We also ordered a Caesar salad and when it was delivered some of the romaine lettuce was wilted.

Once I received the call we were provided a room in the reef tower which was amazingly close to the beach! The room was spacious with a walk in closet and separate shower and Jacuzzi tub! Once we settled in we went to the beach and we were serviced by a kind young man named Taylor. He gathered long chairs and towels per our request. We were so pleased with the location and service that we have decided to make this our hotel of choice for when we go in August to tie the knot!!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are nice and quiet...and of course a few steps away from getting some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are beyond elated to be a part of your wedding, Lissette! On behalf of our entire team, thank you so much for allowing us to take part in the celebration. Good luck with the rest of your wedding planning, and we'll see you in August!

Congratulations!
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Like many of the other reviews I must agree that the rooms are pretty standard and in tough condition. Not at all 5 star until you walk out on your deck and see the view. The location and service are what make this hotel. The staff go over the top to ensure that you have a great time and I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It's so rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, Kim. From our friendly staff to our gorgeous ocean views, it sounds like you had the ultimate beach getaway! That said, we wish that your room had left you with a better impression, but we know that our renovations will wow you. Until next time, thanks for the kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This first-class hotel is right on the sand! Rooms are spacious and airy, especially the beachfront rooms and the junior suites. Windows galore, udpated furnishings with coffee maker and fridge. Hotel staff has been excellently trained, from the valet to housekeeping to front desk. Front Office Manager Brian Sullivan was extremely accommodating when our wedding party needed early check-in to dress for the occasion. Our group of 30 or so loved this property, and we can't wait to come back for another stay!

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge on a junior suite; wrap around balcony, sliding glass doors to let in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wow! Sounds like you had a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach! Thanks for soaking up the sun with us, and for the stellar review. Come back and see us next time you need to get away!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here last week for three nights. The staff were nice and accommodating. The room we stayed in was not renovated yet, and it was very old and tired looking. We didn't mind, because we were there for the view. We were oceanfront, which was amazing. The cabana boys are sweet, and will look after you while you are relaxing by the ocean. The location is perfect, as it is right in downtown laguna beach. Overall, we had a great time, and we are picky people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Between our location, our friendly staff and the ocean breeze, it sounds like you had a fantastic time with us, Jasmyn! We couldn't be happier to hear it. Thanks for the kind words, and keep us in mind next time you need to get away!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.