We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed, Breakfast, & Parking
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Litchfield Park, Arizona
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in an ocean front roof in the Reef building. Room was bright and colorful, looks newly remodeled, nice bedding, large TV, satellite. Bathroom is tiny, but does the job. Tiny fridge, no microwave. Being in front of the water is amazing. Hotel staff was friendly, allowed me to check in early (based on availability), and stay late. Free wifi. Walking distance to Ralph's market and tons of boutique shops, other restaurants. The Deck (their own ocean front restaurant is closed for remodel 5.24.13) but the Beach House next door gives 10% off for guests staying here and is right on the water too, also has a stunning garden patio under trees. The beach is nice and water pretty clear for the Pacific. Definitely recommend a stay here, but do spend the extra money for ocean front with balcony.... you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean front room!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It's hard to beat that ocean view, especially when you just want to lounge around on the balcony! We're delighted that you loved it as much as we do. Come back and see us again soon—there's nothing like Laguna Beach in the summertime!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    231
    93
    95
    88
See reviews for
210
286
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed just right on the beach. The ocean view room was spectacular! It was my Birthday and relaxing gateway with my hubby... Great location and close to restaurants, surf shops, gift shops, main beach, park...We had more than 2 bottles of wine through our few days stay just at our patio and it was so relaxing to watch the sunsets, surfers, ocean, puddle boarders (couldn`t see any dolphins?). All staff was very nice starting from receptionist (we got full info upon check-in and many brochures), valet, housekeeping (always got new towels etc.). Especially thanks to the guys who took care of us every time we were sunbathing and they did great job! They set up our lounges, towels, umbrellas (make sure you tip them, they work hard!), they also asked us where we would like to be seated (great hospitality!!!). I guess we didn`t stay at the renovated tower but the reef building wasn`t bad. Only cons, small and tiny bathroom...just good for quick shower. Free wi-fi worked perfectly! Summary: great price for the ocean view room compared to other places in Laguna, amazing location, you will get 10% discount at some places with your room key, complimentary use of beach lounges etc., room dinning (we didn`t try but it has good price). We enjoyed our stay so much and we will come back for another Laguna Beach gateway! P.S. Check Orange Inn for morning coffee and breakfast I bet that all locals are dining there (it`s on the right from lobby; take to go) and try The Beach House (10% off w/ your room key; they have great entrées, martinis and it`s mostly like 5 star cuisine w/ the ocean front view; it`s by the valet desk). Famous DECK restaurant was closed and I was disappointed by that (we have been informed by the receptionist about that too-thank you!)

Room Tip: Ocean view definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Wow! It was so rewarding to read your kind words. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourself, and we'd love to have you back next time you need to get away!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was the perfect location for a weekend on the beach.
We happened to luck out and stay in one of the renovated beachfront rooms.
Others in our party were less fortunate.
The hotel staff were exceptional and went out of their way to be helpful.
Our room was clean and very comfortable.
If you are going to stay, you MUST, ask for the newly renovated rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Sounds like a fabulous beach weekend! Thanks for taking the time to sing our praises, Roger. We can't wait to have you back again!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We (me, hubby, 4 yr old child) took a 3 day breather from the daily grind down to Laguna Beach and this was the perfect place to be. Ocean front, walking distance to everything, enough amenities to make stay great. It's NOT a luxury hotel, but they don't charge luxury hotel prices anyway, so it's OK. We were pleasantly surprised that we got an adjoining room with 2 double beds in it, so our child who got a fever right when we got there, could sleep comfortably and her constant coughing didn't wake me and hubby up at night. Instead the sounds of the waves crashing lulled us to sleep :)
There were a couple of glitches (staff was mostly friendly but for 1, the bathroom in the pool area was disgusting but it was not the hotel's fault-someone just went nuts with the t.p., and the bathroom kind of smelled but I just figured it's the beach plumbing -- rusty pipes. Also the cable was not HD but hopefully ppl spend more time staring out at the ocean than at the TV here). The ocean front beach had everything: sand toys, boogie boards, volleyballs, chairs/chaise lounges/umbrellas, towels of course, and lots of other stuff you don't always get like water bottles. Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get OCEAN FRONT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Glad we could help you unwind! It sounds like you and your family had a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach, but we're sorry that your little one was feeling a bit under the weather. We'd also like to apologize for the state of our restroom, and we will make sure to remind our team to be more vigilant. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and for the lovely review. We hope to welcome all of you back again next year—or sooner!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of downtown Laguna, and right on the beach. The pool & jacuzzi area is nice to have as well. The hotel was updated a couple years ago, so it's in nice condition. The rooms are basic, but nice. You have chairs and umbrellas available for you on the beach too. If you're looking for a place to stay in the heart of Laguna and not planning on spending your days in the hotel room, this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We're in the perfect place to soak up the sun! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, Kirsten, and we're happy to report that we are currently in the midst of renovating our rooms. Hopefully your next visit will prove to be even better! Until then, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my second stay at Pacific Edge, and I hoped that the rooms had been brought up to par along with the rates, but not so much.

Stayed in a beach front king in the Reef building, and the view from the deck was great, but not so much the rest of the room. Bed, linens and towels are good quailty, but the rest of the room, from the furniture to the bath to the TV, were not. Walls are thin, and you'll hear everyone on the decks next to yours.

Before you stay here, make sure you understand exactly where your room is located (end rooms on the beach are a bit more private), and make sure it's in an updated building. Not all buildings have elevators, and the worn, rotted carpets, rusted fittings, and general lack of attention to detail can be disappointing on the way to your room.

But you can be right on the beach, with an incredible view from your deck, and an easy walk to most everywhere in Laguna.

Room Tip: Beach front on a corner, and make sure it's in a recently updated wing. If stairs are an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Although we're thrilled that you enjoyed being steps away from the beach, we wish that your room had left you with a more positive impression. Your comments are concerning, but we are glad to report that we are currently in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to wow you with one of our newly remodeled rooms, but until then, we will certainly keep your words in mind as we work to better ourselves. Thank you.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Laguna Beach at least twice per year for over twenty years and, when we don't rent a house, we usually stay at this old favorite. This trip it was just the two of us to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms in the surf wing. I can recall staying in this exact room when it was done up in bright/loud beach colors (big bird yellow and bright sky blue). They have mercifully dialed it back to earth tones and it makes a big difference. Very tasteful. The location is unequaled for proximity to the beach and downtown. The only thing I can even come close to complaining about is the $24 per day parking charge. When we come here we never get back in our car until check out and the parking used to be included. My sore neck reminds me to suggest pillow top matresses to go along with the room upgrades.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our new look—it definitely offers a more relaxing experience for our guests. That said, we're sorry that you woke up feeling a bit stiff. We'll certainly look into this as we continue making the necessary upgrades for our guests. Still, it sounds like you had a fabulous time! Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your celebration, Kevin. We'd love to welcome you and your wife back again soon!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.