We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great surprise this was. Traveling with my mother and made reservations not knowing what to expect. When we walked into the room and opened the door to the balcony we heard the sound of the ocean. Top floor and warm weather watching sunsets was great. Kurig coffee makers and fridge in rooms. Comfortable beds. Right on the beach too. We are planning another vacation there. Cant wait.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We might be a bit biased, but we've always felt that nothing compares to being lulled to sleep by the sound of waves crashing on the shore. What's more relaxing than that? :) We're delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    252
    108
    102
    95
See reviews for
237
323
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballentine, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were very disappointed in the quality of the hotel for the cost. It would have been tolerable for $100 less per night. The ocean front view and sunset were lovely. Our room was just above the bar and the noise level was a bit much at happy hour but quieted down later. The room was very dated and shabby. It felt like an old apartment. Old bathroom fixtures and appliances in the kitchenette. We were on the 3rd floor and the elevator didn't work. No one offered to carry our bags up/no bellman. We have stayed at the JdV Vitale hotel in San Francisco and expected at least close to the same type of quality facility. Fortunately, we were only there for one night on our trip.We spent the next night at the posh Beverly Hilton in LA for LESS $ per night!! What a drastic difference. The Pacific Edge Hotel is perfectly fitting for teenagers or college spring breaker's although they probably couldn't afford the cost. It is NOT for anyone who expects a higher level of quality and comfort. If you are 20 and a surfer, go. Otherwise, find a nicer hotel if looking for a romantic place to stay. I will say that the front desk staff were all very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Though we truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff, we wish that the rest of your time with us had left you with a more favorable impression. As a proud member of the Joie de Vivre family, we do our best to ensure that every room meets the same standards of the hotels that have come before us. However, we must emphasize that we are indeed in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests, and we are always open to suggestions. We will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we work to better ourselves. Thank you for leaving it, Carl.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The best decisions this hotel has made is in their staffing. I was impressed with the level of service that the Pacific Edge Hotel (PEH) provided from the valet, front desk, and management. Madison, Javid, and Rafael were all extremely helpful through the medley of complaints and requests that we had for our reservation of 4 rooms. The staff had 4 star service for a 2 star hotel.

We have stayed at Joie de Vivre hotels in the past. The service at PEH met JDV's standards. The building and rooms did not.

I understand that the PEH is undergoing construction. And as a result of the improvements being made and intended to be made in the next year it may one day be considered a "hotel" in our eyes. On the inside and outside the PEH appears old and a bit run down.

-The carpets on the outside hallways matches the carpets in the rooms.
-Two of our four rooms came with horrible smells upon check-in. *The front desk was extremely accommodating and moved our rooms appropriately.
-The heaters in two of our rooms did not work. *The night staff kindly let us use a space heater.
-We accidentally broke a glass in one of our rooms. After inquiring with the housekeeping service twice they NEVER came in to clean it up before we checked out. We cleaned as much as we could on our own.
-In-Room construction was happening in the rooms above and below one of our "Apartment Villa" rooms on Saturday afternoon and at 7am on Sunday morning.

Again, the front desk was extremely accommodating when we approached them with each of these issues and they were kind upon our check-out.

We may have stayed at PEH one year too early.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Although we're pleased that you were so impressed with our team's customer service, we wish that we could have prevented these issues in the first place. As a proud member of the Joie de Vivre family, we do our best to ensure that every room meets the same standards of the hotels that have come before us. As you mentioned, we are in the process of making the necessary upgrades for our guests, but it is unfortunate that this work disturbed you during your stay. We apologize for that, and for not being more attentive with the glass. We will be sure to discuss your comments with our team to discover new methods for being prompt and courteous at all times. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to offer you a 5 star experience should you choose to return.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The Pacific Edge Hotel is a great value in Laguna Beach located right on the water. The location to restaurants and shopping is the best!! There are several room locations to fit into any budget. We booked a very inexpensive room on the street side which was nice but then asked for an upgrade and for a small fee they gave us a wonderful room with an ocean view. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Laguna Beach doesn't get any better than this! We're so happy that you were able to enjoy the ocean breezes right from your room. Thank you for staying with us, and for the wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back next year, John!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a corner room with our own private balcony deck. We couldn't have asked for a better location. The views from here were spectacular. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. But, the room itself is a bit worn around the edges. It definitely did not match the price bracket we paid to stay here. Hopefully, this room is on the list to be renovated soon. It could be very special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yes, we are in the midst of making the necessary updates for our guests. That said, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and that spectacular view! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We checked in Saturday for a quick getaway in Laguna Beach.
The property is right on PCH....just a bit south of the downtown touristy area.
Javid checked us in, and...after a room upgrade (very nice), went ahead and sent a bottle of wine to our room. Followed by a SECOND bottle an hour or so later....even a different label!
The room (102), was one room off the beach....with a beach view from the window, and the sound of the surf in the air.
The room was a bit dated...Joie de Vivre purchases older properties, and updates them.
They have started on another wing, but not this one yet.
However, it was clean....good bed. Dated cart type tv.
The property has no parking, you share valet with the Beachouse resaurant, 20 bucks a night.
Typical Laguna Beach...there is no parking anywhere in this town.
The Hotel is kind of in peices...a wing here, another across a little alley of a street...again typical of Laguna squeezing every inch of land for development....so it takes a little getting used to the layout.
I do reccomend this Hotel, and will watch for the renovations to be completed.

Room Tip: Only a few ocean front rooms....so book early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! While it sounds like you enjoyed our beautiful ocean views, we feel that you may have been a bit disappointed with your room. As you mentioned, we are in the midst of renovations to our waterfront rooms, and we hope to complete them soon. Hopefully your next visit will prove to be a 5-star experience! Until then, thank you for taking the time to review us. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel's website is very deceptive! The rooms are less then Motel 6 quality, there was a slope to the floor, ripped carpet, it smelled like mildew, had water damage on the ceiling, a view of construction, and what appeared to be a full size bed for two adults. I had to pay an upgrade charge just to have a room I was willing to sleep in for one night. I didn't want to loose my money but felt like leaving and going home. The towels are the size of wash cloths and are rough, I found hair in the bathroom. I want my money back! They dont even have central air and heat so we were freezing the whole time. The staff was pleasant but the hotel is so run down, not clean, and old it doesn't matter if the service is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It's very disappointing to hear about this. We would never want our guests to feel as though they were forced to stay in an unfinished room, and I apologize if you did. Your description of your room is not only embarrassing, but unacceptable. It seems that this particular room was overlooked, so I will speak to our team about this immediately. In the meantime, don't hesitate to call if you'd like to continue this conversation. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best wishes,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.