We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in Laguna Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed, Breakfast, & Parking
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Spruce Grove
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Central location in Laguna Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When you get there, the front lobby is nice. The resort is old and the rooms show this, however, the rooms are clean and maintained. The staff are friendly and greet you with smiles. On the most part the front desk staff could answer most questions, they do need to be more familiar with surrounding areas and towns. We took advantage of the two pools and hot tub/spa. They were clean, heated and maintained. Unfortunately for us the hot tub was out of order the last two nights we were there. Our room had a nice kitchenette, but no microwave or pots and pans to use. This should be changed, eating out can get expensive. Could hear the ocean from our room and very little street noise. Our room faced an alley. Would stay again, but would want an ocean view room and perhaps one with a fireplace. Thank you for a nice visit to Laguna Beach, CA.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. While we're delighted that you enjoyed your time in Laguna Beach, it appears that your room left you with mixed feelings. We're sorry about this, but we would like to point out that we are in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests. As such, we will certainly keep your feedback in mind as we move forward. Thank you for leaving it. We hope to show you a 5-star experience should you decide to return.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    231
    93
    94
    88
See reviews for
210
285
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The furnishings are a bit dowdy for such an amazing location. But then again, you cant beat the view and the location. The kitchenettes are great; fully equipped, very useful. Bathrooms small.
But the VIEW!! THE VIEW!!! The ice that came with my room probably liked the view too. I loved my patio, loved the restaurant, which is a Laguna Beach legend with good food and a great bar. I could have done without the mice, along with the so-so valet parking staff and the eh! front end staff, but every tried. The manager didnt believe me about the mice until I showed him A LOT of evidence, and then he was sort of decent about it, but this is NOT a Ritz Carlton staff. What you get at the PAcific Edge is GREAT VALUE, relatively comfortable and clean furnishings and GREAT VIEW!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room with a patio. Check the website for deals; they are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Yes! You just can't beat a view like ours. While we're delighted that you enjoyed gazing out at the ocean, we wish that your room had left you with a better impression. However, we are currently in the process of revamping our suites, and we look forward to making the necessary updates.

I am curious about your comments regarding mice. We have not received any reports of pests, and we take feedback like this very seriously. Where did you spot them? Please reach out to me if you'd like to discuss this further—we want to resolve that immediately. Until then, thank you for your review, Amy. We hope to welcome you back again next year.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The most welcoming staff. We were upgraded for an affordable fee and they sent up a bottle of wine. Will stay here again. Get an oceanside room it is worth it! I can relax on my private patio and take a very short walk to the adjacent bar/restaurant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It was our pleasure to offer you an upgrade! Thank you for the fantastic review, Kacie. We hope to see you back again next year!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed here several times -- most recently a few nights ago. The views are stunning. The rooms are spotless. The service is so friendly and responsive. I love this hotel. I also love that I can bring my dog! It's not 5 star, but it's clean and comfy and the ocean is outside your door. The variable is who your neighbors are and how crowded it is. Mid-week in the winter, this place cannot be beat. I go there to get some work done in peace and quiet, to be on the ocean (the only way to be closer to the water would be to be on a boat!), and to restore my soul. There is nothing like watching the sunset from the balcony and falling asleep to the sound of the surf. My first time there I watched a pod of dolphins from my balcony and I was hooked. My experience in the summer has been that it draws BOTH the OC party crowd (this is not a quiet, understated bunch) and lots of families, so it's a totally different deal. If you like peace and quiet and the best views around go to the Pacific Edge in the winter. If you don't mind a louder, more rowdy crowd, you'll be happy here in the summer too. Either way get an oceanfront room! And pick up coffee and muffins next door at the Orange Inn, a lovely little cafe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
There's something beautiful about being near the ocean in the wintertime—the sea has a very different character during this time of year. We're glad that you've taken advantage of this lovely season, and that you were able to witness our dolphin pod from your balcony! Thank you for the fantastic review, and for making us a part of your special vacation memories. We'd love to welcome you back soon!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I just returned from a three-night ocean-front stay at this hotel/motel. I've read a couple of tough reviews about this hotel which didn't square with my experience. The young, front-desk staff was always courteous and eager to help (regardless of shift) and the housekeeping was generally good (although management could have been more generous about the size of the bath soap and the housekeeper more attentive to the replacement of shampoo). Like at any hotel, I sought the less expensive, nearby restaurant alternative for small meals (the front-desk helpfully pointed me to the Orange Inn, a half block away), and the beach bar had a good selection of fairly priced, good-quality wines. I'd go again. stuho

Room Tip: Room 208 facing the ocean was more than adequate. This is a three-star hotel that tries to conduct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We'd love to welcome you back again, Stuart! Thank you for taking the time to review us — it's very gratifying to hear that you were pleased with your stay. You can't beat our views, so we'd love to have you back during the summer months!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We love Laguna Beach and this hotel is a favorite. It is a moderately-priced, stylishly decorated, remodel of a "vintage" property. The layout is confusing, a labyrinth of connected walkways, but to us that's a minor inconvenience when compared to the quality of service and freshness of the rooms. Very cheerful and modern, many rooms with amazing oceanfront rooms and easy walking distance to the beaches and heart of Laguna Beach Village. Not deluxe luxury, but very pleasing and relatively budget-friendly. Nice meals at the Beach House next door along with light meals and appetizers in the ocean-front patio. Cannot say enough about the attentive service. Valet parking is available and highly recommended. A great romantic get-away at an affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Yes, our layout can be a bit of a maze, but we're glad to see that you've grown to love it as much as we do. Thank you for making us your Laguna Beach headquarters—it's so rewarding to hear such kind words from a guest like you! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're searching for a romantic getaway. :)

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I came here one night as part of our California honeymoon and this was definitely the best hotel we stayed in along the way. We upgraded to an ocean view room and it was probably the best decision we made during our entire trip! It was absolutely gorgeous sitting on the balcony overlooking the main beach and the ocean. We could easily access the beach and go for nice long walks, we were just a few minute walk from the central part of Laguna Beach, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and our sleep was amazing listening to the waves crashing all night long. The hotel was definitely a little bit old but the bed was extremely comfortable and the place was clean. We are from Cananda but we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ocean view room. We almost didn't spend the extra money but it is worth every pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It was our pleasure to help you make the most of your honeymoon! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful ocean views, and that our staff was so helpful. Thank you for allowing us to share in such a happy occasion. We would love to welcome you back to celebrate your first anniversary! Until then, thank you for fabulous the review. Congratulations!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.