We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, courteous service, good housekeeping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed, Breakfast, & Parking
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Laguna Beach
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, courteous service, good housekeeping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I just returned from a three-night ocean-front stay at this hotel/motel. I've read a couple of tough reviews about this hotel which didn't square with my experience. The young, front-desk staff was always courteous and eager to help (regardless of shift) and the housekeeping was generally good (although management could have been more generous about the size of the bath soap and the housekeeper more attentive to the replacement of shampoo). Like at any hotel, I sought the less expensive, nearby restaurant alternative for small meals (the front-desk helpfully pointed me to the Orange Inn, a half block away), and the beach bar had a good selection of fairly priced, good-quality wines. I'd go again. stuho

Room Tip: Room 208 facing the ocean was more than adequate. This is a three-star hotel that tries to conduct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We'd love to welcome you back again, Stuart! Thank you for taking the time to review us — it's very gratifying to hear that you were pleased with your stay. You can't beat our views, so we'd love to have you back during the summer months!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    211
    86
    91
    88
See reviews for
194
266
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We love Laguna Beach and this hotel is a favorite. It is a moderately-priced, stylishly decorated, remodel of a "vintage" property. The layout is confusing, a labyrinth of connected walkways, but to us that's a minor inconvenience when compared to the quality of service and freshness of the rooms. Very cheerful and modern, many rooms with amazing oceanfront rooms and easy walking distance to the beaches and heart of Laguna Beach Village. Not deluxe luxury, but very pleasing and relatively budget-friendly. Nice meals at the Beach House next door along with light meals and appetizers in the ocean-front patio. Cannot say enough about the attentive service. Valet parking is available and highly recommended. A great romantic get-away at an affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Yes, our layout can be a bit of a maze, but we're glad to see that you've grown to love it as much as we do. Thank you for making us your Laguna Beach headquarters—it's so rewarding to hear such kind words from a guest like you! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're searching for a romantic getaway. :)

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I came here one night as part of our California honeymoon and this was definitely the best hotel we stayed in along the way. We upgraded to an ocean view room and it was probably the best decision we made during our entire trip! It was absolutely gorgeous sitting on the balcony overlooking the main beach and the ocean. We could easily access the beach and go for nice long walks, we were just a few minute walk from the central part of Laguna Beach, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and our sleep was amazing listening to the waves crashing all night long. The hotel was definitely a little bit old but the bed was extremely comfortable and the place was clean. We are from Cananda but we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ocean view room. We almost didn't spend the extra money but it is worth every pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It was our pleasure to help you make the most of your honeymoon! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful ocean views, and that our staff was so helpful. Thank you for allowing us to share in such a happy occasion. We would love to welcome you back to celebrate your first anniversary! Until then, thank you for fabulous the review. Congratulations!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We organized a kind of small vacation with my friends from overseas and booked a couple of rooms with ocean front view. It was really great - staff was very helpful and arranged rooms on the same floor close to each other. We were sitting on the balcony, enjoying the view, talking and relaxing. Room service is fast and good. Two things that are bad - furniture in rooms is rather old and broken, I had to call a maintenance man to fix the balcony door - it did not open. They close the pool at 10PM - and we could not get to jacuzzi...

Room Tip: ocean front of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
You certainly can't beat our view! It was a pleasure to be a part of you and your friends' special memories. Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises on TripAdvisor. We would love to welcome you back next time you're looking to get away!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although the price was a bit steep (350.00), it was worth if for the view alone. We were on the top floor facing the ocean with a balcony. Our room was actually very private because it extended out from the building more than any of the other rooms - we would have to look back towards the building to see other rooms with their balconies (if this makes sense). The decor is sparse; this is not a luxury hotel, but watching the sun set over the water was truly stunning. There is an ocean view restaurant on the premises, too, making it convenient for having breakfast. It's great just to walk down a couple of flights of stairs and be right on the beach!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high floor with a direct view of the ocean; otherwise, I don't think this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We feel so fortunate to be able to see the sun set over the water every evening. We're happy that you could witness this stunning sight as well! Thanks for making us a part of your Laguna Beach get away, Marie. We hope to welcome you back next time you're looking for some time away!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was in Laguna Beach for the day and booked a room at the Pacific Edge on a whim using the HotelTonight app. Pros: Great deal, central location, pleasant daytime staff, lobby decorated/maintained well, clean linens. Cons: Run-down room, threadbare towels, broken toilet paper holder, musty smell in room that lasted thoughout the entire stay. Upon return to the room at the end of my night out the key did not work, so I went to the the front desk for assistance. The night clerk said I was never checked in (which has to be incorrect since I had already been able to access the room and drop off my stuff), demanded my credit card (even though I had paid for the room in full through the app and already provided my card for incidentals upon check in), and took about 20 minutes to get me new keys (when I originally checked in, the whole process took about 3 minutes). When I finally got into my room, it was evident someone had been inside and items were shuffled around. It was unnerving, but we were tired and since ntohing was missing, we decided to deal with it in the morning. The staff on duty at check out were very nice and ensured that no additional charges were on my card. Walking out, we caught a peek of other rooms which appeared to be much nicer than the room we had for the night, but I guess you get what you pay for. All said and done, I would stay there again, but not for a penny more than deal I got using the app.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront rooms or renovated rooms. Stay away from the rooms facing the street, they seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It was truly disheartening to learn of this incident. We should have been more gracious when you had trouble with your key, and I apologize. I will discuss this with our staff immediately. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. Your candid feedback will be of great aid as we continue to improve for our guests.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife & I just had a quick 1-night stay at the Pacific Edge on a Sunday night (10/21/12). The property is made of 4-5 separate buildings on a private strip of beach. The buildings on the street side are split by a private alley from the beachfront buildings.

AMENITIES & SERVICE
We had limited interaction with the staff, since we only stayed one-night, but everyone was very helpful and welcoming at check-in. They were very accommodating to our 2 dogs (boxer & beagle mix). Our room was located on the 2nd floor on the beach. We originally booked a non-Oceanfront room, but received a call for a discounted $50 upgrade to beachfront on our way there, and took them up. It was definitely worth the price, and will not hesitate to pay for the upgrade the next time we stay there. We were 2 flights of stairs away from the sand, and enjoyed watching the sun set into the ocean from the room's balcony.

I don't like that they only offer valet parking, but it makes sense since the lot is very small. We managed to find street parking next to the property. It saved us a few bucks, so no complaints there.

Since we brought our dogs, we did not have a chance to check out the pool scene or the 2 beachfront bar/restaurants on property, but they seemed to be popular with both guests and locals.

ROOMS
Rooms are much nicer than I imagined based on the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. They are not brand new, but they are recently refurbished, nicely decorated and ours was spotless. Bathrooms have been nicely redone. The best feature was the balcony overlooking the beach. Our room came with a Keurig coffee machine with complimentary coffee. Wifi is included and signal quality was solid. We both did a few hours of work, and never experienced connection problems.

LOCATION
This property is located in a central part of a private strip of Laguna Beach. We took a 1 mile walk south, and walked by some amazing homes. The entire area of beach around the hotel is dog friendly, which was great. There is an Albertson's supermarket 1 block away, and a great hole-in-the-wall taco joint across the street called Taco Loco directly across the street. We had dinner there and recommend it highly. The waves were mostly flat, but we did see a couple surfers looking for breaks about 100 yards from the property.

OVERALL
We will definitely be back. The Pacific Edge offers great service and very good value. For LA residents like us, it was nice to discover that we could take a short 80 minute drive to feel a world away from the traffic & stress of our normal lives. Big plus for being dog-friendly as well.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is well worth the upgrade price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We enjoy reading all of our guests' comments, but we are extremely grateful to receive detailed accounts like yours! From our amenities to your experience with your dogs, you've left some fantastic feedback for future travelers. Thank you very much for taking the time to share this. We're not too far away — come back and see us soon! :)

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.