We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pint-Sized VIP Package
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay upgraded my room to a 2 bedroom apartment style room. Was great lots of room for whole family. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The view eating breakfast each morning at the beach house resturaunt was amazing we will be back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
From your beautiful room to our unforgettable ocean views, it sounds like you and your family had a fabulous beach vacation! We would love to welcome you back next year. Until then, thank you for your kind words!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    270
    119
    107
    99
See reviews for
262
364
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When we arrived we had just missed a complimentary wine tasting. I said my wife could do with a glass of wine after the appalling traffic on the I405/I73. The receptionist promptly gave us a bottle of white wine. That was a splendid gesture. They also gave us a discount token for some of the local shops and restaurants
The hotel operates a car parking valet service although you could park on the road providing you move it before 08:00.
The room lay out was more motel than hotel and are due for refurbishment.
Breakfast was at the Beach House, about 100m away, that had a wonderful coast view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
After the stubborn traffic you experienced, it was our pleasure to help you unwind with a bottle of wine! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave such kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next year!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from long driving trip west coast/Arizona/Nevada. All hotels good and of similar standard, however, the pacific edge was dire. . The Hotel info' looks good, but our room was tiny, dark, threadbare carpet, faced brick wall. we were offered upgrade for $100 !! as we were there for one night only, we didnt bother,
We found it odd that the room given was so poor compared to all of the others booked by the same agent, within the same price range between Palm springs, san Diego and all the way up the coast to San Francisco.
also uninterested unhelpful morose staff at desk,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We take great measures to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. After reviewing your comments, it appears that we have fallen short of our high standards. This does not sound like us at all, and we'd like to know more about this so we may make the necessary updates as soon as possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to share which room you stayed in and the date of your arrival. Until then, thank you for your candid feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've been staying at this hotel for over 30 years. We always stay in the oceanview rooms. The cleaning staff could not be more accommodating. The front office and recent valet parking are annoying. The price for October was staggering. We paid almost $350 for room + valet parking. This for basically the same room we've had for years. Agree the place needs a remodel, particularlly the showers and toilets, exactly as they've always been. Sadly we are looking at other options. Will never find a better ocean view, I'll miss that. Sigh.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere but in oceanview rooms, that and location are all this hotel has anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Your recent displeasure is truly disheartening, especially since you have been with us for over 30 years. However, you have left some detailed feedback that is invaluable as we work to make the necessary improvements in a timely manner. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We hope to better represent ourselves should you decide to return.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location, but it is in desperate need of a remodel and a better cleaning staff. After walking around in our room for 5 minutes in bare feet, the bottoms of our feet were black. Carpeting was old, damaged, and dirty. My son was finding random items on the floor, like old makeup brushes. Even the inside of the dresser drawers were dirty. Most of the furniture was beat up, and looked about 30 years old. The staff tried to help us and were very nice, but they didn't have much to work with in that there were not quality accommodations to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Our guests' comfort is our first priority, so it's terribly unfortunate to learn of your disappointment. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams take great strides to ensure that each room meets our standards, and I believe that we failed you in this manner. Please accept our sincere apologies for any frustration this may have caused. That said, what you've described is completely out of the ordinary, and we'd like to make this right. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this in detail. Until then, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and you can walk to a lot of places in and around laguna beach. They also have two pools and a hot tub. Staff was cortueous and they will give you towels, cabanas and chairs to sit on the bueatiful pacific ocean and watch the sunset, surf or just hang around.
Rooms are OK and have beach effect, but they are spacious and clean. Also, cost is reasonable. Note- the cost for beach facing rooms are higher and there is a $20 charge per day to valet park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
There is no better place to enjoy the sounds and smells of the fresh ocean air. We're proud to offer you a relaxing destination for you to lounge, swim and surf. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

You can't go wrong with the location of the hotel but if you can book a room with a balcony/ ocean view room you will be happiest. The reason is because the rooms could use alittle updating but a room with a balcony makes up for it. My husband and I were on the balcony the entire time enjoying the gorgeous view; if we weren't out at "the Deck" getting a drink & some food or one of the many other delicious restaurants along pch in walking distance to the hotel.

Even though the rooms could use some updating, the beds are extremely comfortable and they give you plenty of pillows. :)

I will be coming back to enjoy this beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It's so refreshing to smell the fresh ocean air as soon as you wake up. We're glad that you and your husband made such excellent use of our balcony! Thank you for staying with us, and for your feedback. We are currently in the process of making the necessary updates for our guests, and we hope to earn another star when you return.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.