We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laguna Beach is amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pint-Sized VIP Package
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laguna Beach is amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

I was a bit nervous when i first arrived at this hotel after reading all of the horrible reviews, but my experience was good. The front desk staff were very nice and answered any questions we had thoroughly. Our room was decent, but it did need a few improvements. The Walls are paper thin though. We had a street view and the street was very loud at times! It would probally be worth your money to book an ocean view room. This hotel is in an amazing location, the beach was awesome and we were able to walk everywhere else in Laguna quickly! I would recommend this hotel to others for the fact that it was decent for the price we paid and it was in a great location! We had an amazing trip and i will definatly be going back to The OC!!

I Highly recommend going to The Cabana Bar and Grill for drinks and Food. Amazing service there and great drinks! Also you should take the OCTA (Orange County Transit) Bus #1 and go to Newport Beach and go to Fashion Island! Definatly worth the $1.25 you pay for the bus ride!

  • Liked — The Beach & the Location!!
  • Disliked — The small bathroom.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    270
    119
    107
    98
See reviews for
262
363
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

The location is wonderful because it is right on the beach and the hotel supplies you with beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. However, the hotel is a strange conglomeration of older buildings and there are very narrow, sometimes dark walkways to the beach. It was confusing to try to find our way through the place. Also, although our rooms had seemingly new carpet, and the bedsheets were nice, the furniture was outdated as was the bathroom. We were in room 17 right above the check in lobby. I think the hotel is trying to renovate so you should ask for a new room.

The hotel is very close to various restaurants, though you may have to walk a few short blocks to get to a family friendly place. (There is a KFC next door though.)

  • Liked — Location on the beach.
  • Disliked — Older buildings.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

From the start, a giant mess!
The room, small and old, with stains on the side of the mattress, the bathroom had an odd red mold like stuff in the shower, no tub and the TV hissed
Location was great! Great restaraunts right there, thank god, cause you could only sleep in that room with a buzz on

we arrived to a confused front desk
then were informed that we had no res. I had all my info written down and gave my only copy to the manager, almost an hour later, and a promise that they would find us a room,they did.
2 days later, after a late breakfast, our key did not work, only to find out, that we only had the room the 2 nights, and were TO check out that day!. Wrong! they were not nice nor appoligitic(sp)
Acttually, rude about. Checked my info once home, and sure enough, our res. were for the 3 days and payed for in advance
We were able to stay the extra night, but only after ruddness and ugliness had ocurred

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at Vacation Village on Laguna Beach for 2 nites, and enjoyed every minute of it! Our room did not overlook the beach, but the building we were in was right on the beach, so just around the corner from our room was our own private beach - with a friendly beach attendant to offer us lounge chairs and towels. Our room was neat and tidy, plenty of towels,and helpful literature about the area. We really appreciated the refridgerator to keep our drinks and snacks in. Our beds were comfy, the AC worked well, and we had the luxury of the pool and hottub just outside our door, as well. The entire staff was always very helpful with any questions we had, and we found the rates here to be lower than any other hotels in this area. This seemed to be a safe place for families to stay - we were never bothered by noise or rowdy behavior, as we have sometimes found in other resorts. We enjoyed walking the area, visiting the many shops and restaurants within walking distance. All in all, Vacation Village helped our trip to southern CA a very memorable one, and we definately will stay there on our return trips!

  • Liked — best rates in the area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V erne, Ca.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

This hotel is overpriced and in deplorable condition for the amount of money it costs to stay there. The only positive is the location, other than that I have nothing good to say about it. We hoped to stay 3 nights but checked out early. When we entered our room I noticed what poor shape the room was in but I was willing to put up with it for the location. Unfortunately, things got worse than appearance. Our tv did not work. The "engineer" came to fix it by holding a hair dryer to warm it up. When that did not work, he brought in another tv. Ok, I was willing to forgive this. But later that night, we had no hot water for our showers or washing our hands. I thought, this is a fluke it will be better tomorrow. No, still no hot water and the dirty, noisy room got to me. I complained and we were moved to a slightly better room with an ocean view. But by then we decided to cut our stay short. Even the nicer room was not adequate. But the view was nice, too bad. Such a great location but such a miserable place to stay. Oh yeah, watch out for the elevator.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Poor accomodations, no hot water
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

We paid just under $200.00 for the night. The rate was way to high for the lack of quality for the room. It looked worse than a motel 6, 20 years ago. the room was small, old looking, curtains looked liked they hadn't been changed since they opened. The bed springs were shot, the beds looked just as old. No place to hang your towel or wash cloth, a simple hook and or towel bar would have been nice. No shelf either to put your bathroom things on. The quality of the room was appalling, below sub par. If you look online and see the rooms, don't believe it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything about the room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMONA,CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

We took our 3 grandchildren for a 3 day mini vacation here. I found this place on lagunabeach.com, (great rates).I was amazed at how family friendly they all were here. First of all the staff was all very friendly and helpful with all my inquiries. The room was very large and the beds comfortable. The kitchenette was fully stocked with dishes ,pots and pans etc. (even the dish soap.) A market was across the street for convienence too. While my husband and I sat in the huge, hot jacuzzi relaxing, the kids played in the adjacent game room where the games were free and we could keep an eye on them. Every morning on the beach they have arts and crafts for the kids, they really enjoyed that. And you need not haul anything to the beach, The beach attendants provides lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels, cold drinks for purchase, and free use of sand toys for the kids and a variety of boogie boards. All i needed was the suntan lotion and my book. We had a great time here and have to decided to make it a summer spot tradition,and we'll be back next month too.

  • Liked — Everything Included Free, Game Room, Beach Chairs, Umbrellas, Toys, Etc...
  • Disliked — No Room Service.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.