We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to relax, watch TV, listen to the radio, don't stay here!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you want to relax, watch TV, listen to the radio, don't stay here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

I spent my wedding night at this hotel. The hotel grounds were beatuiful and the staff were helpful at first and during the day. Once the night time came around, the security started harassing us for having our music on. They didn't stop there, they had the security come to our room on our wedding night and bang at the door for 10 minutes. Keep in mind the radio was on low with all the slider doors closed. They didn't stop there, they then called us again on the phone. So I spent my wedding night being harassed by the staff and security. This palce was over priced and I got treated badly. My friends had decorated the room to make it special for us and the staff refused to help my friends light the candles when we were arriving from the reception. After a fight with the staff on duty and two phones calls they eventually came and lite the candles, but it took a fight. You would think at a luxory hotel, they would go out of there way to make you feel special. The montage went out of there way to make us feel unwelcome. I would never stay here again. If you like to watch TV, relax, and listen to music, please stay somewhere else and don't give them the chance to harass you too!!

  • Liked — Great beach location
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    110
    42
    26
    16
See reviews for
160
306
24
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

I have traveled fairly extensively, and this is truly one of the most beautiful properties I have ever visited. Mounted high atop a rocky cliff overlooking the ocean, the setting is tranquil and luxurious from the main lobby to the pool, the impeccably manicured grounds with bunny rabbits milling about and lovely rooms with stunning ocean views. The service is wonderful and the staff is incredibly warm, inviting and helpful - the pool staff was quick to bring us blankets when the weather turned chilly.

The decor is beautiful with a fire burning in the lobby and plenty of cozy nooks to lounge or socialize. The hotel is listed in most local magazines as a gallery for its many California impressionist paintings, which add to the elegant feel of the place. Rooms are equally as nice, decorated in buttery yellow with huge marble baths, separate tubs and showers, and wonderful bath products, from bath salts and oils to French soaps.

The location offers an easy drive into the town of Laguna with cute shops, art galleries, beaches and restaurants. It is also a quick walk down one of the many pathways to several secluded beach alcoves

The fitness center is large and modern (and also overlooks the ocean). Free group fitness classes (yoga, beach walks, aerobics) are offered to guests throughout the day.

Food at both the Studio and Loft restaurants are unique and fresh, made with locally grown products.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

Originally, my family and I were only going to Montage for dinner at Studio however after seeing the resort we decided to stay the night.

LOCATION: The beach at Montage is gorgeous. It is also ideally located right off of the PCH and very close to down town areas.

HOTEL: Very beautiful. The grounds and hotel itself are truly top notch. The pool area is a great place to relax. The workout area was very modern. They also have a topnotch spa.

SERVICE: Very nice, the hostess at Studio was willing to bring the hotel information and make the reservation for the hotel room during our dinner which was impressive.

ROOM: We stayed on the top floor in a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The view is the best part of the room but the room itself was very luxurious and had all the amenities.

INTERNET: I did not try and connect to the internet on this trip.

RESTARUARANT: Studio was very impressive, they are a top restaurant in southern California and I highly recommend it. We also had lunch on the deck next to the pool which was also very good.

OVERALL: Montage was fun and I would probably go back if given the chance. The only down side is that Montage is know for being a celebrity hot sport and if you don’t like the L.A. glamour (sometimes snobbish) feel then I would not recommend this hotel to you. Thankfully, when I visited no celebrities were on the property. I also was warned to not come back during the busy season (I was there in September and not a lot of people were vacationing). I was told that when they are packed with guests, service slows and it takes away from the tranquil ambiance. However from what I did see it was a very nice experience.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

If you want to be pampered, this is the place. Sitting on the cliffs of Laguna ,overlooking the ocean is wonderful. Separate pools for adults if you want quiet. Spa services were great and the spa is relaxing and well equipped. Staff well trained overall and everyone is at your service. Easy to go into downtown to eat and shop. Would recommend for a romantic get-away. Lots of art to buy in the galleries. Family friendly. $$$$$$ Candles in bath. Lots of personal touches to make the experience sensual and spa like.

  • Liked — service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Pricey, but worth every cent. The rooms were spacious and attractive and the bathroom even more so. The really stellar aspects were the quality and range of the toiletries and the service, which was attentive but not intrusive. The resort itself is blatantly, flashily, trashily fake and I loved it. Not an eco-anything in site and all was cleaned and groomed to perfection. It would drive me nuts after more than a few days, but for the ultimate, hedonistic, 'OC' experience it delivered beautifully.

The only negative was that they allow smoking on the balcony and the cigar smoke from the room next door was unpleasant.

The day spa is spectacular but offers poor value for money unless you have 3 hours plus to spend there so that you can use the plunge pool, steam rooms etc. I had a good but average 90 minute facial which was USD300 (which I think is expensive) and was then slugged with a $60 'service fee' which meant the real price was USD360. Given that this is compulsory, why isn't this included in the price quoted? To do otherwise seems sleazy, underhanded and cowardly and surely must sour an otherwise pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Location and amenities
  • Disliked — Only downside was the pricing of the spa services.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

This place is excellent on all fronts -- room, grounds, service, heated outdoor lap pool, etc. They have fruit in bowls at various locations -- a nice touch. Definitely the equal of a Ritz or Four Seasons -- including the price; there's no way to get around the cost -- food, drinks, whatever -- but presumably you know that after booking the room.

  • Liked — The adult lap pool, and the TV's on every bike and stair machine in the exercise room.
  • Disliked — Had to wait a while to get my car from the valet parking service. -- call in advance.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

Beatiful location. Great Service. Great suites.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.