We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Art of Spoiling - Perfected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Art of Spoiling - Perfected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived at the Montage at 9 pm after a long drive. Several valet staff were just waiting for us, or so we thought. Extremely courteous, they opened the car doors for us, one of them welcomed us and took the car keys while the rest unloaded our luggage.

By then a kind receptionist walked out, welcomed us again and asked for our names. She whispered something into her in-ear communication device and immediately walked us to our room. In the room, she quickly explained the amenities, processed my credit card on her hand-held device, arranged a table at the restaurant, then took leave.

The Loft restaurant is supposed to be a rather casual place, but it in terms of courtesy, service and quality of food, it equals some of upscale restaurants in California. Fantastic.

After quite a nice dinner (and some great dry martinis) we went to bed but I woke up in the middle of the night, being disturbed by the noise of the utility room close to our guest room. I crept out of the room and complained to the duty manager. As it was 4 am, he couldn't do anything about it then, but promised to take care of the problem in the morning.

The next morning, my nine-year old daughter and I went to the pool. We were welcomed by a friendly lady pool attendant, who set up our sun loungers and brought us glasses of iced water (with slices of lemon inside). Every time we dried ourselves, a pool attendant would come and swap our wet towels for a fresh one.

About 11 am, a receptionist rang me on the mobile and asked me if I wanted to view an alternative room, as I hadn't slept well the previous night. The new room was much quieter and happened to have even more spectacular views. The hotel staff took care of the entire move.

The second evening, we went to the hotel's signature restaurant, Studio. The level of service, courtesy, staff knowledge, interior design, food quality and wine list surpasses many top restaurants anywhere in the world.

In terms of location and infrastructure, the Montage is really one of the best. All the praises and reviews are correct. What you see on their website is really what you get. No (apparent) Photoshop gimmickry. However, this is an expensive place, as quality does not come cheap. Whatever room rate you're offered on the web, you end up paying double that amount after all the additions, drinks, dinner, etc.

What especially impressed me was the high level of knowledge, the friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff. They are also invariably well groomed, well dressed and well spoken. They have obviously gone through some serious training.
Some may complain about the expected amount of gratuity, but in my opinion, the staff of Montage have earned every penny of it. Well done, guys. And thank you for making us feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fifth or fourth floor to the south of the building. You won't have pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
You describe what I hope is the quintessential Montage experience, complete with spectacular views and attentive service. Our team will be delighted to know that your stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    104
    39
    25
    15
See reviews for
153
287
22
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful location, excellent service and right on the beach. Great location for a getaway from LA.
I'll be back!
Friendly staff make it a very "easy" stay
This is in a great location and if you can't relax here I don't think you'll find anywhere better!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is amazing. It truly is. The staff was remarkable and were extremely friendly. The property is amazing with some of the most amazing views you'll ever see, This is a very nice, swanky hotel that is a great place to holiday.

Pro's- extremely clean hotel.
amazing views from many rooms and all common places
excellent asian food directly across the street and a grocery store to get anything
rooms are very classically decorated, almost to the point of feeling like they may need renovation soon. They feel a little tired.
amazing grounds, sucha beautiful place to walk around.

cons:
this is a short list... but:
THe room they gave me overlooked a house under construction, so every single day by 8 am saws drills, hammers, landscaping, all day long. there was no was to relax here.
also for some reason every morning and evening room service brought carts of food right below my window, all you could hear was the clanging of a big metal cart.

Of course I'd stay here again. the question is would I stay if I had to pay for it. and I would say probably not. I prefer more modern...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your praise; I’m glad you enjoyed the spectacular views and service. I only wish your entire visit had been seamless and apologize for the noise disturbances you encounterd. I have sent you a private message and hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I work in Orange County and spend the weekend driving up the coast and staying at this hotel. Staff is great, rooms are spaceous, women are gorgeous and love to come to my room. Have a drink in the bar and enjoy the company of fine wine and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

La Montage is built on the cliff side in Laguna Beach, CA. The views from the lobby and all the rooms are fantastic. A beautiful sunset every night. The service was impeccable. The rooms are a bit tired, but very nice. Forget trying to eat there though: crazy expensive for marginal food. And the hotel has a great free car service to take you to and from town where there are unlimited fantastic local restaurants that are reasonably priced. The hotels proximity to town is great. Also, the beach is right behind the hotel...a short walk from the rooms. If you are using the spa and it's pool, you can reserve chairs early with the staff. That's also a problem as key chairs with views go unused because they are reserved and the guests never show up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Almost perfect from beginning to end. The hotel was beautiful and extremely well maintained with breathtaking views from almost all vantage points. We spent four wonderful days at the Montage with another couple. As both rooms we booked with Amex Platinum, the hotel graciously upgraded both couples. Service was attentive and personalized and delivered with a smile. No request was too much. The gym and spa were extremely well appointed. One could spend the entire day on the elliptical gazing at the ocean. The hotel also offered complimentary Mercedes shuttle service to and from town (5 minute drive). The only nits were that the food at the grill by the pool was not up to par for such a wonderful hotel and the staff at the pool spa held chaise lounges for guests who grabbed them first thing in the morning and then did not use them until the afternoon. Otherwise, the entire experience was fabulous. We are going to make this an annual trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Can't say enough about this resort experience. The facility, room, views, bedding, grounds, pool, beachfront, etc., are all gorgeous. It is a 5-Star resort in every sense of the word. Loved The Spa and the gym facilites. But what really stood out, was the superlative level of exceptional service that the staff gives there. They are all obviously trained very well, extremely professional, courteous, and helped make our stay at The Montage extremely special. From drive-in to check in, everything in-between. The turn-down service was great. And when we left, there were baseball caps as parting gifts and cold waters in the car for our departure. We highly recommend the Montage, and will definitely try to go back soon and often.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another fantastic experience. Many thanks for your kind review!

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;