We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laguna in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Laguna in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My 2nd visit here and it again has impressed me. The main ingredient for TS access, apart from the perfect location is the incredibly friendly and attentive staff. I love it here. We had a private barbecue for my son's Graduation and they did a superb job for my family. The restaurants and pool area make this a great destination..

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    97
    37
    25
    15
See reviews for
143
269
21
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Over the top resort. If you want to see what "real" excellent service is like, spend a few days here. The staff is second to none. The resort is beautiful, clean and has stunning views of the pacific. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here two nights in May, 2013 for a business conference. As such I paid a deeply discounted rate. I feel like the rate was appropriate. The hotel is lovely, spotless, the service is impeccable. I had some odd dietary restrictions from my doctor this trip... I was concerned that it would be difficult. I just explained to the staff exactly what I needed to eat. Not a problem at all. Granted I paid $12 for two cups of vegetables and $10 for sparkling water... but at least it wasn't stressful.

My room was large and comfortable. I nice separate shower and big tub. Small but comfortable balcony. I had no view without leaning out my window except of a house and very cute poodle.

My only complaint was I could here conversations in the room next door which surprised me. The woman next to me got a phone call at 5:30 am and proceeded with the discussion for some time. I can tell you all about her plans... Once the call ended I was able to fall back to sleep.

I do think the pillow top on my bed needed replacing.. it had two divets where people sleep and a large hump in the middle.I am sure had I requested a change it would have happened immediately, as it was just me, I just settled into one of the divets.

Overall lovely and worth the price I paid. Had I paid the going rate, the rating would be pretty low on the value scale...

Room Tip: Ask for a view... the backside rooms look into a neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for your compliments of our “spotless” hotel. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and found the service to be impeccable. I have shared your feedback regarding the noise disturbance and bedding with the team. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to amend this on your next visit. I have left you a private message with my contact information and would be happy to assist you in the future.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is by far one of the most laid back relaxing venues we have traveled to. The grounds are stunning, the rooms are clean, well maintained, comfortable and up to date. The restaurants are superb and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to explore the beach cities south of Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have not stayed at Montage, only enjoyed the atmosphere by dining there. I don't think a more beautiful beach front location exists! The food was amazing in the The Loft and the views to die for. It is incredibly relaxing. There is also a great place to sit and people watch upstairs (which is actually on the Lobby level). There is a bar and piano and many different locations to sit with a view inside or out here. While it is pricey, I found it worth every penny. Service was impeccable for us as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A world class combo of place and people, our weekend at the Montage was an extraordinary experience. Classic beach design and elegant comfort abound. The only distraction--valet parking bottlenecks on every arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip, followed by a weekend with my wife. The property is beautiful, the room was just perfect, and service from all staff members was incredible. I would stay here again and again and would highly recommend this hotel for getaways and business events.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.