We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay top dollar for one of the most incredible ocean front views,property and top service anywhere in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Laguna Beach
Plainview, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You pay top dollar for one of the most incredible ocean front views,property and top service anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

You pay top dollar for one of the most incredible ocean front views,property and top service anywhere in the world. The rooms and balcony could be bigger for what they charge but overall the experience is tuff to beat. Service is over the top. Room service is 5 star. Landscape is incredible. It will be tuff to beat this location and property anywhere else in California.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    94
    37
    25
    14
See reviews for
133
251
20
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Montage for a weekend in March. It was incredible! From the minute we arrived, we were treated like royalty. We were immediately upgraded to a beautiful ocean facing suite. That has never happened to us before, we thought wow how lucky are we! The suite was beautiful, smelled new, had a lovely balcony with two lounge chairs. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine as well. Brian from guest services even brought us a gift during our stay, as we were celebrating our anniversary. Great hospitality! The grounds are beautiful and the north pool is really nice. It is only available for spa clients. The restaurants and spa were pricey, but we did enjoy them. We took advantage of the car service to take us to dinner one night, that was a nice feature. All in all, had a wonderful time and would highly recommend the Montage!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just spent another heavenly weekend at The Montage. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The grounds are beyond beautiful, the landscape of native plants breath taking. The beach is clean and the water clear turquoise blue. My boys love the tide pools and the kids club. It is crazy expensive ( Easter brunch $ 105 per person!) . We ate at The Loft instead and it was yummy and 7 of us ate for less than $200. Wonderful service. 5 star experience and 5 star prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at the Montage. The last time we visited was 3 or 4 years ago during late June. We visited during the beginning of our children's Spring Break and the resort was busy, but not as busy as during the summer months. Ironically, we repeated the exact same behavior as on our previous trip. In other words, we hardly left the pool and we never left the resort. Because, quite frankly, there is no need or desire to leave!

The setting: Gorgeous.
The amenities: Perfect. We dined and drank at every venue and all were fabulous.
Studio: Delicious food. The monkfish was divine. I loved the clean cut look of the waiters (reminiscent of the Book of Mormon play).
Mosaic: Again, delicious salads and a fabulous lobster sandwich.
Mosaic (poolside): Friendly service and I loved that the waitresses attire was appropriate to the family friendly setting.
The Loft: Once again, the food was delicious. I had to order the monkfish again since my sister-in-law had raved about it. It was tasty, yet was prepared in a different way than Studio's dish. I favored Studio's preparation!
Room service: Prompt and delicious.

Paintbox: They begged to go every day! The young women that worked there kept them busy and happy.

The rooms are stunning. We have stayed in the suite and this time we had connecting rooms. both are lovely. For us, the connecting room set up gave us more bed space. The rooms were lovely and immaculate with amazing service and turn down. My husband left out his money clip and it was placed on a towel in the bathroom in a visible spot.

I love the Montage's vibe--casually elegant with perfect service that does not feel obsequious.

So, back to that worth every penny promise. It is. But, you have to be prepared for dropping a lot of them! Cocktails poolside are $12 each. I can't even remember the other prices since the checks are signed and we've moved on.

Our children begged to stay. We had to assure them that we will return soon.

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle which is convenient. It was very quiet even though it was close to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! I hope all of our guests leave feeling the same sentiments of our cuisine, service and Paintbox program. We hope to be the site of many more incredible vacations for years to come.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just stayed from March 10th thru the 18th. The best service we have ever received and the rooms were delightful. Only bummer was all the clouds that hung over the resort while we were there. We brought our 2 doxies with us and had one of the lower level rooms. They are perfect! They still have a lovely view and right outside the doors is a really pretty grassy area so you can easily let them out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The night we spent here was spectacular. The design of Montage perfectly complements the fantastic surroundings. The building isn't ostentatious, yet the amenities offered are outstanding. Aside from the food and the view from our room, probably the most enjoyable part of our stay was simply walking the grounds of the Montage and the very nearby beaches. Despite the fact that we arrived on a busy day, every one of the staff was welcoming and helpful. Everything was taken care of perfectly, including a complimentary bottle of champagne, excellent valet service, and top quality room service. I wouldn't change a thing about my stay at Montage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The Montage Laguna Beach is easily one of nicest resorts in Southern California. The location is amazing. It is right on the beach. Every room has a breathtaking view of the ocean. There is the ocean horizon rooms and suites, witch are the standard rooms that start at $395 a night. They view the resort grounds, and ocean from the first floor. For $495 a night, there is the ocean coastal rooms and suites. They view the ocean and the resort grounds on the higher floors. The ocean surf accommodations are above the spa, and view the ocean only. They also offer bungalows and a wide selection of suites. The best part of the resort is the service. I have been to other world class resorts, and their service doesn't come close to Montage. Their dining is pricy but very good. The rooms are very nice, a very clean coastal decor. However they are a little small compare to other resorts. The resort is an elegant craftsmen style. I live in Southern California, so I go to the Montage beach a lot. Most of the resort is public. Non hotel guests can see the lobby, the beach and dine there. If you live locally, you can see the resort without paying $500+. Both valet, and self parking is available. Self parking is limited. I visit the Montage a lot, but I plan to stay there soon. Overall it is the nicest hotel in Laguna beach, and would recommend it to anyone who is willing to spend more then $500 nightly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach
Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.