We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner Experience to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner Experience to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family was looking for something different to do for Christmas dinner this year so I searched on the web for options in Laguna Beach. The Montage Resort had two restaurants offering set menus, two offering a la carte menus and they also offered a 12-station buffet in their ballroom. We chose the buffet because of the flexibility in choice and because it offered live music. It was expensive but it was not just a meal it was an experience. The service was superb. The food was a feast for all senses. The music created a relaxing festive ambiance. The Montage's chefs kept in mind that Chirstmas if for children and offered a special lowered buffet for the kids offering mac n' cheese, chicken tenders, and peanut butter and jelly. After we finished our meal we were free to explore the resort. We found a balcony off of the lobby that allowed us to watch the sunset and take in the ocean view. A special treat was watching dolphins swim past for about a half hour while we let our food settle. It was an exceptional Christmas afternoon. If you think back to your own childhood, I bet you can't remember many of the gifts, but I bet you remember the experiences you had at Christmas. This was an experience to remember and well worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Your heartwarming review reminds me to be truly grateful of our fortunate location over the Pacific. What better way to end the holiday than watching dolphins swim past while taking in the sunset. We hope to be the site of many more lifelong memories for you and your family.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    107
    42
    26
    16
See reviews for
159
302
24
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Special place to go if you have the chance. Old fashioned beach style hotel. Grand public sitting rooms with piano player and views of the ocean. Great views of the beach and coastline. Staff was unbelievably helpful. I was there for business and everyone went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Rooms are spacious with nice shower and oversized tub including candles, loofah, and special soaps. Wish I had been there for a leisure stay. There are so many amenities one could take advantage of. Food was excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We hope you will join us again soon so you can more thoroughly enjoy our amenities. The amazing setting, rooms and service await your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our family is here for a one week stay and the Montage is beautiful!
The people who work here are so kind and professional, they go out
of their way to make us happy. The views are spectacular,
We are so glad we chose the Montage for our family vacation.
The food is excellent, the spa (health club) is beautiful.
When I read the reviews before we came, I saw how exceptional
the reviews were about the staff. They are true! Especially, Tim W. and
Jackie W. they have gone out of their way to kind to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is quaint and charming. It is not as grand and opulent as I had expected, but has a more cottage type feel to it, old world charm. It is more cozy than extravagent. The hotel felt more like a house than a resort, which is fine if you don't like upscale.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The rooms are really nice with lots of extras. The pool and beach are beautiful. Make restaurant reservations early if staying over a weekend - we did not and were not able to eat dinner at the property but lunch at the Mosaic Grill was delicious. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy. Expensive but worth it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will join us again soon to enjoy dinner. We would love to create another memorable experience for you.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've travelled all over the world and stayed in some of the most mind blowing places like The Atlantis Bahamas, Ritz Carlton Naples Florida, The Plaza NYC, and Fiesta Americana Cabo San Lucas...none of them hit me like Montage!

It is elegant, casual, but the service is what makes it the best ever. The way you are treated from the moment you enter is amazing. The views are outstanding because it's on a cliff. There's not a negative thing I could say about this place. Worth ever dime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Others have come close, but none are as perfect as this property. It is sumptuous but very comfortable. The staff are courteous and professional but not stuffy. The hotel at Christmas time is cozy and cheerful. I would live here if I could.

Room Tip: 5th floor is lobby level and highest floor for rooms, so balconies are open to the air and unobstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Our team goes great lengths to make every guest’s visit perfect. Your warm description is all the reward we could ask for. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.