We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Resort Hotel and Spa in Laguna Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Resort Hotel and Spa in Laguna Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Montage Laguna Beach exceeded our expectations in every way. The setting is as gorgeous as other reviewers have described, and the hotel itself is lovely and the grounds beautiful. Even though we had one of the cheaper rooms at the back of the property near the Pacific Coast Highway (as we booked through Travelocity.com to get a manageable deal on the very high room rates), we thought our room was fabulous. It was spacious, comfortable and well appointed, and very quiet (no highway noise at all) with a nice deck and a lovely expansive view of the ocean, albeit a side view over the roofs of other houses rather than a direct frontal view that you would get from the more expensive rooms. We had no complaints at all. But all that said, what impressed us most about Montage Laguna Beach was the staff. Without exception, from pool attendant to bellman to concierge, every person with whom we interacted was warm and welcoming and genuinely friendly. Once introduced, staff members remembered our names, even without benefit of a computer in front of them. A lot of resorts aim for this effect, but the Montage staff actually succeeds, and seems to pride itself for this. Of special note was our first visit to the spa to check out the fitness center and the spa soon after we arrived. We were welcomed warmly and enthusiastically by Deborah who made us feel like we were old friends of the Montage family. She gave us great pointers about spa usage and made a point to introduce us to the folks working in the fitness center since we would be using some of their extensive work-out equipment and needed some guidance with that. On each subsequent visit, Deborah greeted us by name, asked about our activities for the day, and genuinely made us feel at home. While Deborah may have been a particularly exceptional employee, I hasten to add that everyone else was so friendly and attentive that each visit to the pool or spa was a real treat. If you have a treatment of any kind at the spa on a given day, you are free to use the facility throughout the day, including the adults-only fitness pool with its spectacular view overlooking the ocean and the cove below. Being able to avoid a lot of loud children at the regular pool was a nice option for us. (If only the Montage could outlaw those obnoxious adults who insist on using their cell phones at the fitness pool for extended calls to their office underlings, all would be perfect!). We did not eat at any of the Montage restaurants, choosing instead to take the readily available car service from the hotel into town to sample the good restaurants there, but we did have room service breakfast each day and it was always excellent. This was one of the best resort vacations we have had and we will definitely return. Two final notes to give you a flavor for how well treated Montage guests are: (i) upon check-in, the person at the registration desk walked us immediately to our room and settled us in, reviewing all our scheduled spa appointments, our room rates, etc., on his iPad, including running my credit card right there, and was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and how best to get to the Pageant of the Masters show. I'd never experienced such personal service before from the front desk staff. The bellman who followed with the luggage was equally helpful and attentive. (ii) When we left, the valet brought up our rental car and we thought there must have been a mistake, since there were two baseball caps on the front dashboard and we had not left anything in the car. It turned out that these were parting gifts from the resort...really handsome baseball caps with the "Montage" logo on the front. Granted, this is good advertising for the resort when we wear them, but it was still a very nice gesture, and put a smile on our faces as we left behind a perfect vacation destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    124
    44
    26
    18
See reviews for
179
343
26
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a place where you walk in, and the ocean breeze blows through your body. Your Valet takes your vehicle, your bags are brought to your room, and the check-in is amazing. The staff is so calm and nice and you get a mini tour of the hotel before you are escorted to your room. When you are presented your room you, they open the drapes, swing open the french doors and let the ocean breeze waif through your room. Anything you need, you ask for. When you are done eating your lunch, they don't come by and ask if they can take your plate. They ask "Are you done enjoying your meal?" The Montage is going to be our destination hotel any time we are in SoCAL. Its so amazing you will truly be staying there and wish you could just live there. Ive stayed at many very nice hotels. Ive stayed at travel inns. Now I can say I have stayed in a palace and that I was treated like a King.

Room Tip: Ocean Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

You can't imagine a more picturesque location. The view from the $3,000 a night suite was sweet! But, the rooms are getting dated looking, the service is very friendly, yet lacks attention to detail. 3 kids in the $100/day kids club =$300 and not even a dollar off sibling discount?! 2 king room suite for 5 people....hmmm well we got a make shift roll away....manager called to say that they wanted to call personally to let us know that they would make a big note of our accommodation needs for our next visit....gee thanks!
Fiji water is complimentary- really good! Nice flowers in the room and a car that can drop you off in town. Just don't look for any deals! I guess at $3G per night my expectations were high. In Hawaii, we got an executive suite as a simple upgrade once. View is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Please accept my apology for the challenges you encountered during your recent stay with us. It is our goal to be the resort of choice for discerning travelers and to create lifelong memories for our guests. I am sorry that we were not able to do this for you and your family and that we disappointed you in not delivering our highest standard of service and value. We hope that you will consider returning to Montage so that we can exceed your expectations on your next stay. I have sent you a private message with my contact information if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,
Todd Orlich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Each year my company takes us on a "luxury vacation". Last year it was the Pelican Hill Resort in Newport Beach, Ca. This year it was the Montage Laguna Beach! The hotel staff at the Montage make you feel "pampered", and very special. The resort grounds are fabulous. The restaurants are very 'gourmet' (try the white chocolate "pod" dessert!!!) The Spa is beautiful and very relaxing. (any spa treatment gives you full use of the entire spa and pool for the entire day!) Each night a "gift" is placed on the night stand! The list of luxury amenities goes on and on...the bottom line is this: "Over the top luxury" on the most beautiful beach in California!

Room Tip: The upper floors have the best and most panoramic views. The wing of rooms that allow "dogs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've been to a lot of hotels in great places. This one is the best. Beautiful grounds. Great service. Very relaxing. The only thing I'd change is that on the very rare super crowded days in late July everyone rushes out and puts towels on the chairs by the pool so there are very few chairs available even though nobody is sitting in them. I know Montage doesn't want to make a lot of rules, but there must be a way to fix this issue. Otherwise, perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed at the Montage to celebrate an anniversary and were truly impressed with location, staff and amenities. Studio (their signature restaurant) is a near perfect dining experience. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the service when you arrive. They really know how to wow you at the entrance. Once you're in and settled, that service fades a little bit (i.e., there is nothing special about the service at the pool, the spa, or the restaurants.) At $1000 rack rate a night for a regular old room, I was expecting something better. All I was thinking the whole time is that I could have stayed in a huge oceanfront suite at the Four Seasons in Lanai, Hawaii for this much money. The food was good but not great.

I found the spa utterly frustrating as I gave them three days to work me in a massage and they couldn't accomodate me in that timeframe.

The beach is probably the best in SoCal in my opinion. So, that's the big upside to this hotel.

It's all in all a nice resort, but I have stayed in much nicer for a lot less money. I will probably not stay here again, but only because I consider it to be way overpriced. It's worth about half what they charge. At half the price, I give it 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We do not take criticism lightly, as we constantly strive to improve. We wish for every guest to experience true comfort and relaxation. I regret that your experience was anything less, and hope you will consider giving us a second chance. Please respond to the private message I left for you. I would like to personally oversee your next stay to ensure perfection.

Warmest regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager, Montage Laguna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.