We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property with exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful property with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to spend a weekend at the Montage Laguna Beach and I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience. The grounds are perfectly manicured, the hotel is beautiful, the staff is professional and extremely courteous and the location is one of the best beach locations in the world. Everything about the Montage is five star and every guest is treated like a VIP. I found the restaurants a bit pretentious for my tastes but it was exactly what one would expect in a setting such as this. Plan on spending a minimum of $50 per person at each meal (and much more for dinner) as each of the restaurants are gourmet dining. My wife and I received massages in the spa and spent over $250 each for the experience which was not something I would normally do, but the luxury of the spa visit alone makes it well worth the expense. The spa is beautiful and the staff is exceptional, a must do experience. If you are on a budget, this is not the place to go, but if you want to be pampered in luxury you will find the Montage to be the perfect location.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure it's impossible to get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    102
    39
    25
    15
See reviews for
151
283
21
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Do you like a beautiful setting with exceptional service? How about exceptionally clean rooms with one of the most comfortable beds you have ever slept in? Does eating in a 5 Star restaurant that overlooks the beach make you happy? Do your kids enjoy attending the best kids club of any resort you have ever visited?

If you answered "Yes" to any of these questions then the Montage Laguan Beach is the resort for you. OK....its expensive...but Well Worth It!!

The Rooms, pool, food, and service are the best I have ever encountered at any hotel. After the first day you find the staff greeting you by name. If you are with your kids the large pool is fantastic...and if you want some quite time the adult pool is relaxing. Speaking of kids, Paintbox is the best kids club we have ever experienced. The staff has been there for years and know our kid's names. They get big hugs when they show up on the first day. The only problem is that my son only wants to go to kids camp.....I WOULD like to see him once in a while. :)

We have stayed at this property more than 15 times. It is our home away from home...our "beach house". And by the way....Laguna is a beautiful town...if you ever want to leave the hotel.

Just GO...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments of Montage Laguna Beach on TripAdvisor! I am so glad that your children enjoy Paintbox, we are grateful to have them as part of the program. I am certain that many more wonderful memories are in store for you and your family.
Wishing you all the best,
Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I am the picky sort and can usually find Something to complain about but this place had me stumped.. It was basically perfect! From the beautiful manicured grounds to the tasteful elegance that permeates every corner of the resort to the exceptional service they have done it right. A peaceful getaway for families, couples or a girls trip. Warm heated pool with lovely poolside dining and cocktails. Great restaurants although very, very expensive (ok there's a little complaint) but expected in a place such as this. A pleasant surprise was the talented and friendly piano player in the lobby bar who is there most nights.

Room Tip: Ground floor ocean view may be partially obstructed by plantings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had drinks at the bar and watched the sunset. Exceptional service - they anticipate every need. Cannot wait to head back and stay a bit longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is beautiful! The service was fantastic! It's very expensive to stay but if you have the cash the Montage will not disappoint you. It's not in the middle of Laguna but the hotel will make sure you get near the shopping. It has it's own beach front with lounges available. The spa is wonderful too.

The rooms are beautiful. Everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here with my husband's work conference. He and I were given one of the bungalows which was amazing but a few of his work friends stayed inside the hotel rooms and had some issues with ants and a stained, dirty bathroom.
So personally we had an amazing experience but felt sorry for those who didn't enjoy it quite as much.
The one thing we all did agree on was the superb customer service. Everyone was very affable and professional.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

From the first minute you enter the door until you depart is like being in a dream. The service is superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.