We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their wonderfully trained staff made us feel appreciated & very welcomed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Montage Laguna Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Their wonderfully trained staff made us feel appreciated & very welcomed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was our second trip to Montage, Laguna Beach and honestly I enjoyed this outing even more than the first time around.

First things first: we were met at the door with a big basket of toys for our dog Charlie, who was staying with us for the first time, as we entered the lobby and it was wonderful surprise.Then again, Montage is what I would call a first class property and just like Disneyland, they tend do things well and get it right the first time.

Our room was a North facing ocean view (that is exactly like the images you seen on Trip Advisor) and as return guests we were given a split of chilled champagne and some little nibbles that were presented beautifully in our entry way.They also put a dog bed and bowls for our dog which helped us allot although we weren't told about those being provided when I asked. The only negative thing I have is say about our room is that while the cheerful California themed decor was very pleasant and reminded me of an upscale beach house, the yellow and white carpeting and upholstery could use a deep cleaning to give it that clean feeling we all love.Then again, with pets staying in the ground floor level rooms (where you are required to stay with pets) trying to keep the light colored fabrics clean and bright would and must be a full time job!

The bathrooms: have carrara marble and are very large with separate water closets for privacy and double sinks + a deep soaking tub that I wouldn't miss relaxing in after stressful day.

The Spa: Montage Spa is and remains my favorite after my last and previous visits. My only regret is not having enough time to really relax and enjoy it more than I did. I would plan spending a big chunk of time to just lounge around before and after your appointment and I would not miss spending as much time as possible there! Peggy was my massage therapist and I would highly recommend her.

Tips: Sunset Yoga is free for guests. When booking my spa appointment it said that my massage or facial would include lunch + sunset yoga, which I thought was a deal. It was a deal @219. + tip, but what I didn't realize is that yoga would normally not be extra if you're staying at the hotel.

Walking: this property sits of one of my favorite pieces of land in California and for this reason I always look forward to staying and walking at least twice a day to the beach and on the paths-especially if you're bringing your dog along. Also, there's a big fire pit on the property with a excellent view of the coastline that is very romantic and just a cozy way to end the day, especially during fall evening and nights but bring your sweaters.This coastal area gets foggy and cool most every night. The big beautiful pool that sits in the middle of the property is a stunner and I wish I could have taken some laps in it before leaving, but we were just too rushed to take full advantage of everything we could have but that doesn't mean you have to miss it.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms here should be great and have some kind of an ocean view, but sign up for the latest d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    110
    42
    26
    16
See reviews for
160
305
24
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Montage to celebrate our three year anniversary. My husband booked an ocean view room and informed the hotel the reason for our stay. We live locally and wanted to do something different. We have a 10 month old baby and it was our first night away from her, so we wanted to stay close enough to grandma's house, just in case there was a problem.

When we were shown our room, we were really disappointed. They were going to put us in a room facing a residential neighborhood where there was construction going on. There was a ocean view but the main focus was on the construction. I thought that was really inconsiderate. I immediately asked for another room. The man who took us to our room offered us other rooms at an additional cost. I thought this was weird because we had booked an ocean view room and it was a monday night. The hotel didn't seem too busy, so I found it surprising that he didn't just offer us a better room. I told him that we wanted a ocean view room without construction.

In the end, we finally got a room with a very nice ocean view. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were luxurious. The only complaint my husband had was that the bathtub only fit one person at a time.

The service was great. We had lunch at the pool and the food was very good. I would recommend this hotel, but I do think it is on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Make sure you request ocean view room that is not facing the residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to Montage Laguna Beach. We appreciate your feedback, and apologize for any issues you encountered. We do not wish for any of our guests to feel dissatisfied.

I regret that you were less than satisfied with your room location; however I am happy that we were able to amend this situation for you. We pride ourselves on providing truly customized service with keen attention to detail, and I apologize that you didn’t experience this upon your arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I’ll send you a private message with my contact information. Please reach out to me if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel and location are fantastic. Breathtaking views, great location, nice pool and though did not use it, the spa is supposed to be nice. The landscaping is fantatstic. Prices, however, are over the top, so this paradise does not come cheap. Even a sandwich at the pool is over $20. Can get breakfast at Ruby's across the street or pay $$$$ at the hotel. Easy to spot a celebrity at the hotel if you look. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Just think that service was a slight notch less than the last time we were here. This time it was a bit off season at the pool but busy with a meeting and luncheons so did not get the usual spritzes and smoothies at the pool and had to wait a bit to get our car when we went out, but not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We value your compliments of Montage Laguna Beach and greatly appreciate your feedback. I would like to apologize for any service issues you encountered during your time with us. I regret that we did not exceed your expectations in some outlets of the resort. Montage prides itself on providing truly customized service in order to ensure a flawless stay. I am disappointed that yours was anything less. I’ll send you a private message with my contact information. Please reach out to me if you would like to discuss your experience further.
Sincerely,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My 2 daughters and I spent Oct 8-9 at the Laguna Beach Montage. It was an overnight made in heaven! We all were treated like princesses and experienced first class service from the Vallet parking to the room attendants, spa, Loft restaurant and the attendants at the pool. We enjoyed the spectacular oceanview from our room which was comfortable, and well equipped with everything we needed. The Loft food was absolutely delicious.....mushroom risotto left you wanting more. It was served with attentiveness and expertise....we were served wines which complemented each dinner course. Thank-you all at Laguna Beach Montage! You exceeded our expectations and we will be back for MORE!!

Room Tip: Oceanview - the rooms have balconies and it is delightful to sit outside with a perfect view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Everything about this hotel is perfect. The rooms are beautiful (even those without an ocean view), the restaurants have wonderful food, the service is excellent. You do have to pay attention to where you are going, as the property is quite big....but that does give you a chance to explore this lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Impeccable service, awesome rooms & amenities, gorgeous views, all perfectly maintained. Staff are unsurpassed - friendly, helpful & I mean, every single one! I've stayed at top properties in several countries - don't know of any better! Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed one night in October 2011 to attend a work event being held at the property.

Service: Service is exceptional at the Montage. We were always greeted warmly wherever we went in the hotel. They were able to accomodate an early check-in and we were even escorted us to our toom while receiving an overview of the property. Luggage arrived quickly and was accompanied by showing us around our room.

Room: We had a standard room (as far as I know) and it had a great view. The property seems to be set up so that most of the rooms have a view overlooking the pool and ocean. Our room was big, clean, and had a very nice bathroom.

If you are looking to book an event, you should know that we had a great experience with everyone associated with the hotel. We had to prepare some materials for the meeting and the hotel was very accomodating in providing us a room to work in and then delivered the materials to each of the guest rooms.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxury property for an event or just to get away for a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Resort & Spa Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including gourmet restaurants, an oceanfront spa, swimming pools, and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.