We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute little art museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Art Museum

Laguna Art Museum
307 Cliff Drive, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949-494-8971
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 48 things to do in Laguna Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Longest established art museum in California.
Diamond Bar, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cute little art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

we enjoyed this little museum with our 3 teenagers. it took about 1.5 hrs for us to go through it. i bought a groupon that was for 6 tickets for $21 but when i yelped it, there was a 50% check in discount so check your sources for discounts before going. no need to pay full entrance fee! enjoy!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice Small Museum, Worth a Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recently visited the Laguna Art Museum and really enjoyed it. The permanent collection is good and we especially appreciated the temporary pottery exhibit. We were able to see the entire museum in under 1 hour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth a look! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

First Thursdays of the month are free admission from 5-9 pm and I was lucky enough to be in the area to enjoy it. Small museum, but they make the most of their space with a SoCal-inspired, permanent collection as well as whimsical and conceptual featured exhibits. Collection also included artwork by local middle school students. If you appreciate art, it's worth a walk through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Go for a featured exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Laguna Art Museum is small and has limited space to devote to their collection. I visited the museum in March 2013 to see the photography of Hollywood stars taken by George Hurrell in the 1930s and 40s. The exhibit was well curated and very interesting. There is a little local art there and also some modern art. But I saw what I went to see - and I'd suggest you keep an eye on their exhibit schedule to make the most of your visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where are all the great local artist's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's a shame that Laguna Beach was the home of really good artists of all type art forms. The museum collection seems sparse and limited considering the town's history. I frankly expected more. Perhaps a new curator of more funding would help.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Art Museum also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Laguna Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.