We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tasting Gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Paradiso

Gelato Paradiso
448 South Coast Hwy, Ste A, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
(949) 464-9255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 150 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Description: authentic Italian gelato and sorbetto
Restaurant details
Description: authentic Italian gelato and sorbetto
Lake Tahoe, NV
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went there after a nice dinner at Nick's. Some of the best Gelato we have tasted. Nice variety of flavors. Very good service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“All I can say is OMG you gotta go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Got a medium cone to share. The server asked if we were sure as they were generous in their servings. We were sure we could split a medium as we love gelato. OK we were wrong. It was like a pint of gelato in a house made cone!!! Had the Bacci (dark chocolate with hazel nut), espresso and tiramisu - HEAVEN

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Gelato I've Had Outside Florence...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

And as good as any I've had IN Florence. This place absolutely rocks. It's tucked way back in a charming alley off of the main drag in Laguna. Look for a small green and wrought iron awning with gold "PepperTree Lane" lettering to lead you into the alley. Or just watch for blissed-out people eating gelato.

It's evil they open as early as 11am, tempting you right after breakfast. Their sickeningly helpful service people suggest hard-to-resist combinations. The whole thing is so addictive, they should be ashamed of themselves. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Gelato Goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place has some excellent gelato. After spending a few minutes taking in the gorgeous displays of some very fresh-looking items, we decided to go with the mango, strawberry, and double chocolate cones. Each was supreme in its own right.

The staff were really friendly and offer good recommendations and combinations. The parlor is in a very cozy and warm little end of the building it's in. (We almost missed it, though, since we didn't see any arrows pointing us to the far end of the alley it's in.)

If you're ever in the Laguna Beach area, be sure to treat yourself here. Our only regret was that we were able to go there just once given the short duration of our trip, but we definitely look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Even if you do not like ice cream, you will love Gelato Paradiso's sorbet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The smell of waffle cones cooking, walking under the pepper tree, the pathway itself, watching them make the gelato and sorbet or the combination of it all makes it magical and yummy to have dessert at Gelato Paradiso. My kids and husband love it so much! There is always a line in the summer be it 11am or 11pm. :) Worth the wait. Plus while they wait in line, I go to La Rue du Chocolat, my place to have dessert.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Paradiso also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Gelato Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.