We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach with clean rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Laguna On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capri Laguna On The Beach to your Saves list
Capri Laguna On The Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Minneapolis,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“On the beach with clean rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip in November. It is a lovely hotel with clean rooms and it is right on the beach as advertised. There are a number of fun restaurants and shops within walking distance. My only issue with this hotel (from a business trip standpoint) was that the internet was pretty slow at peak times and there are no coffee makers in the rooms. They say breakfast opens at 8:00am (which is a little late if your headed to work) however coffee and food was available in the lobby at 6:30am when I checked. All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you Sully S. for taking the time in writing a review. We are happy that you chose the Capri Laguna as your lodging accommodations during your business trip. We sincerely apologize if the internet wifi was not fully at your service during your stay. Also, at this moment we are currently adding more room amenities so we will be adding coffee makers as well. Feedback like this allows us to fix and improve on things. Our staff would be happy to welcome you back again soon, so I hope you’ll think of us when planning your next trip to Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    36
    29
    63
See reviews for
64
112
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Glad I didn't read reviews before staying here, because we would've missed out on a little spot that really made our trip. After a $300/nt at the Marriott and a small motel in Laguna, we wanted something on the Water. We looked around and it was either another motel with a "view" or a $4-600/nt room at some posh new resort. We found this from the beach originally and checked it out. Great last minute deal on an OceanFront room! The place had a lot of flavor and you could feel the 1980s Beach Resort there! Sure they could use a coat of paint here and there and some new stuff, but c'mon......We had 3 Ocean Windows and a small Balcony and waves crashing 25' away.
The staff was great there, and pretty much everything you'd want to do in Laguna Beach is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room 1st. We did, and they were happy to let us see it. #711 where we stayed has 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Clinton B, Thank you for your lovely review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to give every guest the best possible experience, and I’m thrilled that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Our staff would be happy to welcome you back again soon, so I hope you’ll think of us when planning your next trip to Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was a little skeptical after reading the previous reviews before booking a nice get away from the arizona desert to the beach for a weekend. Yes, this is not a four star hotel but it deserves the 4 stars we are giving it on trip advisor. It is an older building and does show in some areas but this did not affect our stay in any way. The front office folks were very nice and the continental breakfast was perfect (cereal, bagels, pastries, eggs, toast, coffee, hot tea/cocoa all fresh). You can't beat the view of the ocean from your room or the mere steps it takes to be there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear kinetcnrg, thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Capri Laguna. We always like to have guests leave happy and if there is anything else we could improve on just let us know! Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quiet a weekend Get Away. The Capri Laguna Inn was exactly what we were looking for. It is such a charming place, right on the beach in the middle of town. We had an ocean view room, and enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the changing tides and relaxing to the sound of the ocean.
The staff was wonderful, they let us check in at 10:30 and were kind and accommodating throughout our stay.
The room was not very big, but comfortable. Not all was perfect in the room, but we found it charming and sufficient.
The pool is heated and great even when it gets very chilly.
There are art galleries, many little shops and some nice restaurants in walking distance. A little drive up North, there is the lovely Heisler Park and right next to it the Laguna Art Museum.
After 2 days we felt completely relaxed and certainly got our money's worth.

Room Tip: We loved our room # 101, very private and gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you HollywoodHolly for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you think of us again when you travel to Laguna Beach. Feel free to request Room 101 again the next time you visit Capri Laguna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great view in our 2room king. The door was wide open when we went to our room for the first time. The front desk came and walked around to make sure all was good so that was a little weird. Overall the room was as expected...It’s a boutique beach hotel so don’t have 4star expectation. Our roomed need repairs had a bit of an odor, and some stains but can’t bet the view, the rate, and location on the beach. Great sunsets too! The breakfast was a bit light for continental...Too much bread and not enough fruits. Overall we had a nice visit but Mexican place 4 doors down was the worst meal ever! The folks at the liquor store on the corner were very nice and helpful!. Don’t forget to take the ride to Balboa Island on the Ferry and walk on Newport beach!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front or ocean view...and book online..I booked on their website a king ocean front af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you wtc92 for your review! We are very grateful for your feedback and for bringing some of your concerns to our attention. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel so I hope the next time you visit we will exceed your expectations. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The view WAS great. But everything else left much to be desired! The carpet was dirty, the shower control was uncontrollable. No grab bar in the shower. Ants in the kitchen. Musty odor. Lighting was poor. Parking was a zoo. Breakfast, being continental, was fine. Front desk and housekeeping were fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Ottzie, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. We understand your disappointment and sincerely apologize that your expectations were not exceeded. Our staff appreciates you bringing your concerns to our attention as we continuously strive to improve our services and facilities. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel-updating all of our guest rooms, improving our amenities, and working with pest control. Delivering the best services is our highest priority. If there is anything else you would like to discuss, please feel free to contact us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

TWe spent one night, spending 196.00 for our queen bed. The smoke alarm in the ceiling was hanging open with no battery inside. The end table lamp had no finial to hold the shade on so when your hand came up inside to find the switch the shade almost always fell off. The metal strip threshold connecting the carpet to the tile floor had all the screws sticking up 1/4 to catch a toe on. The continental breakfast was minimal and of poor quality with dried creamer for the coffee. The upstairs balcony had tables with broken wooden slats for a table top.. The location is good with a lovely sound of the surf but the accomodations are worst than motel 6 ....and I like motel 6

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguirguis, Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear 33045DonnaP, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel; acquiring new furniture and repairing all maintenance issues. I can promise you that the highest quality standards will be met in the future. If you have any other concerns or questions, please feel free to contact us. We hope you choose the Capri Laguna the next time you travel to Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri Laguna On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Laguna On The Beach

Address: 1441 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Laguna On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's a relaxing romantic getaway, an activity-packed family vacation, a quiet solitary retreat, or a quick trip filled with shopping, food and fun with friends, the Capri Laguna on the Beach is the perfect Southern California getaway. Nestled in the quaint seaside town of Laguna Beach, located midway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the oceanfront Capri Laguna on the Beach Inn is situated directly on the sand of the Pacific Ocean with its picturesque sunsets and world-renown coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capri Laguna On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Laguna Inn On The Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Capri Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Laguna On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.