We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for someone on a budget.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
1661 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Laguna Beach
1 review
“Great hotel for someone on a budget.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were satisfied with our stay (ie room was clean and location to beach was great with just a short walk down the road) however the the rooms were very noisy! During the night we could hear the next people beside us snoring! We had to have the fan running so we could try to ignore the stranger snoring in the room beside us. The walls seemed paper thin. It felt as if our bed was on the sidewalk as we heard sirens and cars all night long. If you are a light sleeper would not recommend this hotel for that reason. They could use some more insulation as it was pretty bad.
If that doesn't bother you definitely request the top floor as previous reviews say you can see the ocean over the rooftops of the houses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at Seaside. After driving round Laguna at 6pm on a Saturday night trying to find accommodation, and only finding a few foul smelling rooms at extortionate prices, we called Seaside and they said it looked like they had a no show and to come by. We were greeted warmly and shown a large suite with balcony and kitchenette at a reasonable price. All was perfectly clean and parking outside was free (this isn't the case in a lot of places around here!). We were given great tips on restaurants and things to do in the area and generally made to feel very welcome.
We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Planning on staying in Laguna Beach to attend pageant of the masters, we began our search for a close, affordable hotel. Since we were only staying for one night our choices were limted but we decided on Seaside Laguna Inn and Suites. I always check trip advisor first before booking and to be honest I was a little nervous based on the reviews. However, when we arrived we were pleasantly suprised. We reserved the king bed room and it was an quaint, cute room. It was modern, clean and updated. we even had our own balcony. It was perfect! I would absolutely stay here again.

The only draw back was that there seemed to be a celebratory group of people in the room above us, but when we notified management they quickly took care of it and they occupants quieted down. Great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our research led us to expect better. Perhaps we got one of the worst rooms (it does seem that this is a hotel you should ask to see particular rooms). Our room was very small with a tiny unrenovated bathroom. There was a small pedestal sink and no room to put anything. Shower was a small stall that was quite worn out. The shower head was too low to stand under and I am only 5'8". We did find the bed comfortable and the room kept clean (though the worn bathroom did not look clean even when clean). At a minimum steer clear of room 110.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were so excited to try out this hotel based on the positive reviews. I saw one recent bad review and figured it came from someone who was "a complainer". He complained it was dirty- I didn't find it dirty but it seems like the renovation was interrupted or they ran out of money. The rooms are very small, no biggie, but the toilets have to be flushed 3 times for the paper to go down. They replaced the mirror in the bathroom with a smaller mirror and didn't bother to fix the wall where you can see they ripped the old one off. They didn't patch holes in the walls and they did nothing to soundproof the place. We had an upstairs ocean view room. You can hear the ocean in-between
the street noise of cars and motorcycles. You can also hear every word and way more than you
want to from your neighbors on both sides. The beds which promise to lull you to sleep are hard and cheap as are the pillows.

My recommendation is if you are not concerned about any of the issues i brought up and you can sleep anywhere and through any noises without problem, this place may work for you. If you are a
light sleeper, I would look for another place.

Here are a few positives to end on-it's close to the free trolley line, you can see the ocean from your room, not the white water but its still the ocean. The manager was very nice and let us park our car in the lot before our room was ready and then called us on our cell when it was (before normal check-in) Free parking and wi-fi.

Time to get dressed and check out...based on the water pressure, I'll wait to get home to shower.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Definately not the st Regis but awesome beach hotel. The two gentalman who operate the hotel were the best. Remembered my name and were very welcoming. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The pillows were the upgrade pillows instead of the cheap standard pillows. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A nice place to stay for a nite after attending the Laguna Beach Pageant of the Masters. Room 110 was a small European sized room but more than OK for one nite. The queen sized bed pretty much filled the room but was comfortable and the sheets and pillows were clean. Likewise the tiny bathroom was clean and the towels, while not plush nor large, were adequate as were the little soaps, lotion and shampoo. It is located on the beach side of the Coast Highway and serviced by the free Laguna Shuttle which made it a piece of cake getting to and from the Pageant. The front desk staff were nice and helpful - pointed out where to catch the free shuttle and gave us a great recommendation for lunch (rooftop of the Casa del Camino hotel with a nice ocean view). While nothing is cheap in Laguna Beach we found the rate here to be among the lowest among hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Laguna Eco Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Eco Hotel
Seacliff Laguna Hotel
Seacliff Laguna Beach
Address: 1661 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites is an intimate, 25 room hotel just steps from the cliffs and coastline of beautiful Laguna Beach. Our hotel offers direct beach access and many of our rooms include beautiful ocean views with private balconies. The hotel has been recently renovated and is complete with new comfortable beds, wood flooring, and vibrant decor. Our fresh and clean new bathrooms feature vintage inspired tile and marble topped vanities. Every room includes flat screen TV's, free cable, HBO, free parking and complimentary wireless internet. While availility lasts, several also include refrigerators and coffeemakers. Select suites will accomodate up to 6 guests and offer a kitchenette, with microwave, toaster and hot plate. We are looking forward to sharing our lovely property with you. Our hotel is a non-smoking property, and we do not allow pets.Come and take fresh breath of air oceanside at Seaside Laguna Inn. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.