We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Basic. Friendly. Renovated in October 2012!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
1661 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean. Basic. Friendly. Renovated in October 2012!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you're looking for a clean, basic, friendly, economical place to stay in Laguna this is it!

We usually stay here when we come to Laguna.

We're the type who have felt at home in fancy places like the Montage (Laguna Beach) and the Taj Lake Palace (Udaiper, India) as well as modest means like a sleeping bag on the ground next to a dirt road (Cinque Terre, Italy) or a 10 hour cramped bus ride (that broke down) in Cambodia.

The point is, we're not fussy travelers. We can go with the flow and have a good time wherever we are or whatever the budget may be.

The Eco Inn is steps from the beach and some rooms have an ocean view. Yes, there is a row of private homes between you and the ocean but the rooms are on the second floor looking OVER the homes. I can't believe those who complain about the houses. If the ocean was right outside the windows, the rooms would cost a fortune. We have always enjoyed our stays here.

A company bought the hotel in the summer of 2012 so they were going through an extensive renovation during our most recent visit (early October).
Therefore, any complaints people may have had about the place being old and out dated (which was sort of the charm of the place and the reason for the low price point) should be moot. Because of this, I assume the prices will go up a bit, but I'm sure it will be a better bargain than many of the surrounding hotels.
The pool was being filled in and we were told it was being replaced by a fire pit. It didn't seem like many people used the pool anyways.

The old management will be missed (Tino was super friendly) but the new staff were just as friendly.

We're going back this weekend and look forward to seeing the new changes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
14
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a VERY humble place but clean and good location. Staff very freindly. Clean pool too. Thye served coffe in the morning with simple pastries. They could improve the room decor a bit and add newer details like new blankets, block out courtins etc. If you want a cheap but clean place to stay that's your spot

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cris L, General Manager at Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay last summer and wanted to let you know that our property has undergone a complete renovation. We have raised the bar and have all new beds and furniture, as well as new wood floors and new bathrooms and windows!

We hope to see you this summer, as a former guest, you will surely appreciate the upgrades! Laguna Beach awaits you :).

Best regards,
Dana K. Race
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you are looking for a cost effective place to stay in Laguna Beach. I think this is the hotel. Although small and a little older, we were very happy. Steps away from the beach, you can walk to nearby restauants and shops... best of all, the staff was very friendly. Tino, the general manager was very friendly and provided excellent customer service. Being a family of four that included two children, 8 and 10, we realized that the regular rooms were too small for our family. We will plan on staying there again..but in a suite. Not the Hilton, but for the price, well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites

Address: 1661 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites is an intimate, 25 room hotel just steps from the cliffs and coastline of beautiful Laguna Beach. Our hotel offers direct beach access and many of our rooms include beautiful ocean views with private balconies. The hotel has been recently renovated and is complete with new comfortable beds, wood flooring, and vibrant decor. Our fresh and clean new bathrooms feature vintage inspired tile and marble topped vanities. Every room includes flat screen TV's, free cable, HBO, free parking and complimentary wireless internet. While availility lasts, several also include refrigerators and coffeemakers. Select suites will accomodate up to 6 guests and offer a kitchenette, with microwave, toaster and hot plate. We are looking forward to sharing our lovely property with you. Our hotel is a non-smoking property, and we do not allow pets.Come and take fresh breath of air oceanside at Seaside Laguna Inn. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Eco Hotel Laguna Beach
Seacliff Laguna Hotel
Seacliff Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.