We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Laguna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway by Amar Santana

Broadway by Amar Santana
328 Glenneyre St, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
9497158234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Broadway by Amar Santana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 131 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Forest Avenue
Description: Open Daily at 5pm. Ongoing specials: Monday ~ $39 Prix Fixe, Tuesdays ~ Small plates, Wednesday ~ No corkage
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best in Laguna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were with friends who knew the owner, so that did help. We were overwhelmed with the welcome and were treated like royalty. We were introduced to the owner and being from the UK I suppose it was a bit of a novelty, not many Brits visited this restaurant. We were allocated to Neil who was our server, he was very professional and looked after us all night, what service, what a sense of humour.
The food had to be some of the best I have eaten in the States, the deserts were delicious and most unusual. I could not fault this place. The locals were very friendly and you felt as if you had known them for ages. A brilliant night, with brilliant owners. Well done. When we visit our friends again, I will insist on going back. A marvelous experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Verdant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Amar, may I be so informal as to address you by first name?

Of course, I can.

After the verdant meal you and your staff prepared for my friends and I, diplomacy escapes me and I would much rather replace your name with some expletives. But, I digress.

Explosive flavors and culinary nirvana escaped us. A "cutting edge" food experience, it was NOT - LIES and Deception.

The cocktails and complimentary bread were excellent. Kudos to the mixologists and the bakery from which you order your bread.

The Crisp Braised Pork Belly was good.

The Roasted Bone Marrow prepared with ox tail marmalade and marinated anchovies was average.

The Confit Lamb Shank served with braised bean ragout, lamb bacon lardons, and mint chimichurri was below average. Made me wonder if you and your staff understand the meaning of confit.

The Grilled Smoked Pork Chop served with Black Mission Figs, red quinoa, crisp prosciutto wrapped salsify and fig pork jus was again average.

However, the Grilled Aged New York Steak served with glazed heirloom carrots, spinach and smoked marrow bordelaise was superlative.

Genuine charm and skillfulness does not germinate from bells and whistles but rather from an innate passion coupled with the application of physical labor involved in delivering measurable outcomes rather than hyperbole.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Different/Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have to tell you to try this place. We had a business dinner here, and it was nice to talk about something other than business. Their bar had the BEST beer I have ever had (Naughty Sauce) and the food was really delicious. What was nice is that it wasn't standard restaurant fair. Different for sure. Delicious for sure. Service was also very good.

I would think that you should always make reservations here. We did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, thoughtful and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've been to this restaurant twice now, and each experience has been close to perfect. The first time, we were referred by 230 Forest Avenue when they did not have space. We secured a spot at the coveted Chef's Bar thanks to a no-show - and it was a real treat. While we witnessed the chefs busy at work, they always had time to field questions from the guests, offer samples etc.

Both times, the service has been simply outstanding, from servers to the sommelier. Everyone has taken their time explaining and recommending, and the food creations were fresh, delicate, thoughtful and delicious.

If you are looking for a quiet spot, though, this may not be the place for you - actually, most Laguna Beach restaurants won't be. Tables are close together (you could easily set your clothes on fire trying to navigate in or out of the long couch) and the ceiling high-vaulted. For us, it invited us to strike up interesting conversations with our neighboring diners - and vice-versa.

We could not recommend this new place highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1 Year Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is delicious! The brussel sprouts are amazing, and their steaks are incredible. Love the atmosphere of the restaurant - however their tables are really close together....not very private.

Loved loved loved the food here and would definitely go again!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway by Amar Santana also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Broadway by Amar Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway by Amar Santana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.