We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and not terribly expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Art Hotel - Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Nevada City, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and not terribly expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here at the Art hotel for 3 nights while in town for the Pagent of the Masters. The place is nicely appointed with most all regular hotel amenities and them some. It is close to downtown with all of the Laguna coves and beaches north of Main beach within walking distance. Main Beach is only 1 mile and the city tram picks you up just accross the street from the hotel. Gail was very accommadating with our need to check in after 10:00 pm as we drove 9 hours to get there. I have visited Laguna Beach at least a hundred times over the years and I think this is the best hotel in Laguna Beach at it's price point. It is a small property (28 rooms) compared to some of the other area hostelries and is quaint in its own right. Off season rate are even more affordable. Will definately be back.

Room Tip: Small balcanies afford a view of the ocean if you want a room with a view or are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel - we do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    64
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
68
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were looking for a less-expensive option to stay in Laguna Beach for "Pageant of the Masters." I've stayed at both the Holiday Inn and the Best Western Plus previously and both options were quite expensive for their summer weekend rates. I did some searching, and found the Art Hotel. We took a chance and stayed there, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

The woman at the front desk was very welcoming. She gave us a lot of information on Laguna Beach and the best route to take to the Pageant. There is a cute gift shop on site and there are lots of brochures and maps available for visitors.

Our room was older and could use a little updating. The bed was very comfortable, however, and we slept well.

The pool looked nice. We didn't get a chance to try it out.

The continental breakfast was just enough for us. There were juices available, individually-wrapped pastries and breakfast bars.

There was ample (free) parking in the underground lot.

This is a family-run hotel, so be sure to call the office ahead of time if you're going to be checking in late at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel - we do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Described as the “best value in Laguna Beach” and I would whole-heartedly agree. I was expecting something very small and basic considering the price we had paid but was delighted with our room. The hotel is located about a mile from the centre but there is a free shuttle service stop nearby. Really enjoyed our stay and the warm welcome we received from Gail and Robert. It is an old property, more of a motel and far from the most luxurious. However, it represents excellent value and I would happily stay at the Art Hotel again if we returned to Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel - we do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed one night and the accommodations were very good. Room 206 is a king at the rear of the property and very quiet. Although the property is dated, the room was well appointed, roomy and clean. We loved the underground parking as well as the proximity to the shuttle stop to downtown. Our only issue was no hot water. I mentioned this to the front desk a couple hours after checking in (there was a repair guy in the lobby who was already responding to another complaint). The next morning, still no hot water so cold showers were in order. Upon checkout, I spoke to Gail, the owner, and Gail indicated that they were purchasing a new water heater and since it was the weekend, they couldn't get one until Monday. She offered a full refund, however, since it was a nice stay otherwise, we agreed to a smaller discount. I feel that Gail did her best in an unfortunate situation. We would stay a the Art Hotel again should we be in Laguna Beach. It's nice to be able to work with an owner who is willing to make things right.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms away from traffic and pool are 205 thru 208. There is an elevator in the lobby to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel - we do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Art Hotel is not the newest of hotels, and it looks it. Having said that, it is well maintained, and clean. Just goes to show that just because something is dated, it does not mean that it does not have to be well presented.

Air-con is a little loud, but it works and that's all that matters in a Californian summer.

The location is a good walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel - and yes, we are dated, but do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a road trip across South Dakota and Wyoming, our 2013 holiday ended with a flight to LAX and 5 nights at Laguna Beach and we couldn't have been happier with the Art Hotel

With just a five minute walk (albeit down a rather steep hill) to a beautiful beach and a free shuttle every 20 mins to take you the mile to downtown, the location suited us perfectly. The parking garage was very convenient and we never had any problems getting a space.

Our room overlooked the pool and having a small balcony was a real bonus, we could also see the ocean. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had no issues with the cleanliness of the room. All in all very happy with the room and facilities.

The pool area was lovely, with comfortable furniture and was a quiet place to relax

Regardless of what others have said, this hotel does NOT provide breakfast, but what you can do each morning is pop into reception and pick up some fruit, small pastries or a granola bar. As we had a car our breakfast venue of choice was just up the coast road (towards Newport) and Ruby's Shake Shack - where we loved drinking our coffee and eating our eggs and toast with a wonderful view of the coastline. There is also a Stop and Go just next door to the hotel and we found this really convenient for sandwiches and cold drinks to take to the beach, plus wine and beer for a drink on the balcony before going out.

Gail the owner/manager was extremely nice and helpful, welcoming us warmly when we arrived (slightly late) and also loaning us beach chairs to take to the beach.

We actually loved Laguna Beach and the Art Hotel so much we definitely thinking of making it part of our holiday again in 2014

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is a great value in the Laguna Beach area. While it isn't located in the heart of the shopping and restaurant area, it's just a short walk to the heart of downtown Laguna. Loved the small boutique feel and the easy access to the covered parking lot. My friend and I were traveling with our dogs and the pet friendly accommodations were just perfect for our pets. Our room was close to an outdoor shower to wash off the dogs after they romped in the sand which was a nice, convenient amenity. Right across the street starts the beautiful cliff side walk and we ended up finding great cove beaches directly in front of the Art Hotel. All in all I was VERY pleased with the value and location that this property offered and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Hotel - Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Address: 1404 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Hotel - Laguna Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable hotel is only a skip away from the downtown shops and galleries. Located a stroll from Crescent Bay and Beach. It offers 1 or 2 bed accommodations with microwave, fridge, WIFI, free parking and heated pool & a Jacuzzi. This hotel boasts of being the closet to the gorgeous Crystal Cove State Park, Crescent Bay Park and Pelican Hills Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Art Hotel - Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Laguna Beach
Art Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.