We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in Laguna beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Art Hotel - Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1404 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Corona, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value hotel in Laguna beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here last July and for the value I give it a five. Traveled with husband and two daughters (21 and 16). The hotel is clean and includes free parking and continental breakfast. We did not use the pool but the hot tub was a nice little surprise hot for my taste but perfect for the hubby. It is an above ground hot tub pretty secluded on the third floor I believe, it overlooks the ocean (from a distance) and the street, very fun, we snuck a glass of wine, shhh...For location I would drop down to a 4 rating, it is a little on the outside of town, but still convenient. There is a free trolley during the summer months that picks you up right across the street and will take you to downtown, if you are lucky you will get the oprah singing trolley driver. Be sure to continue walking down the strip there is a lot to see. Careful of the stop it is on the steep street, gettng on and off can be tricky, my daughter slipped and had a heck of a time pulling herself back up. We parked our car the entire time, the trolley's last drop is 11pm. Short walk across the street and down the hill and bam you are on the beach and it is a very nice area a lot of tidepools to explore, sea stars galore, I will try to post pictures. Having spent plenty of time in Laguna Beach sure there are more expensive and nicer hotels, but this is the best value by far, almost a year later the girls are still talking about it and my daughter just booked a stay with her boyfriend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comment. It's wonderful guests like yourself, that has awarded us the Winner of the 2012, 2013 Trip Advisor Excellence Award. We appreciate your visit to Laguna Beach and we look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
72
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent one night here 04/29/13 the location is good, the room clean #213 had a veiw of the ocean over PCH. Fill in night staff great welcoming and gave us a bogo coupon to a nice Italian restaurant. The manager wouldn't honor the yelp $10 coupon for checking in. Said his accountant had cancel that??? It was still there, should have just honored it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Sorry, I was away for a few days, and appreciate all your comments.
Yelp is usually my call...
I have protective & fine staff, if unsure - stick with regular pricing; which is always reasonable
any day for Laguna Beach.
Thank you for your kind words & your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A gigantic thank you to Robert and the rest of the Art Hotel staff! The day before we were set to arrive, we were forced to cancel our trip due to an injury caused by a bicycle/car accident. Not only was the staff very sweet about us having to cancel at the last minute, but Robert also called the next day to let us know we would not be charged and to see how we were doing. Such a kind gesture! We're already looking forward to rescheduling and to say.ing thanks in-person.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you travel to Laguna Beach to enjoy the beach, town and local vibe, this is the best deal in town!! Free, covered parking, a small pool with awesome pool and outside furniture and a healthy breakfast cannot be had for the price in Orange County!! My daughter and I walked to a most beautiful beach with awesome tide pools!! It took us less than 5 minutes to drive into the downtown area..if one had bikes, no car needed. With a 10 year old, a car was required!! Staff was very friendly. HIghly recommend. The owner was very nice and personable which was an added bonus!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Robert (owner?) at the front desk was very nice and willing to provide all the info I needed (as I'm Italian, food related of course): we also had a short and interesting talk about living in California. The room was huge and comfy and the bed had the biggest amount of pillows I've ever seen. Very safe underground parking lot. The hotel is only 2 minutes walking to Crescent Bay Point, probably the best "secret" spot in Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We found the Art Hotel on line, and our relatives in the area confirmed it would be great. The location is so handy, with free covered parking right there. The owner and staff helped us find our way around and keep the place very clean & tidy. We were able to stay two nights, do our laundry and relax. For the price it is amazingly comfortable and so cute. Will definitely tell our traveling friends about it.

Room Tip: We had a room with a little balcony and could see the coast somewhat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel. Yes, everyone loves our free underground parking! We hope you enjoyed your stay in Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I explored many hotels before booking at Art Hotel. It was the best value for the price. The rooms were large and typical hotel rooms. Location is good and a walk across the street into the neighborhood finds you at a lovely look out over the beach. Gail, the manager, is most helpful with any of your needs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gailDC51, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel - Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Address: 1404 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Hotel - Laguna Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable hotel is only a skip away from the downtown shops and galleries. Located a stroll from Crescent Bay and Beach. It offers 1 or 2 bed accommodations with microwave, fridge, WIFI, free parking and heated pool & a Jacuzzi. This hotel boasts of being the closet to the gorgeous Crystal Cove State Park, Crescent Bay Park and Pelican Hills Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Art Hotel - Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Laguna Beach
Art Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.