We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Laguna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arabella Laguna
Save
You added Arabella Laguna to your Saves list
506 N. Coast Hwy., Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Gate and Garden Tour
Coto de Caza, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at Arabella Laguna. My family surprised me with a "reunion" birthday party and our family took over 4 of the units plus the living area with the catering kitchen. The property is gorgeous---spacious, charming, has very comfy beds and is well located for walking to restaurants and shops. There was room for adults to gather and party while the kids ran around on the spacious lawn area or watched one of the multiple TVs in our rooms. The kitchens are well stocked and there are laundry facilities for longer stays. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Most rooms are on second floor. Choose jacaranda cottage if you do not want to climb stairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My house was being painted and uninhabitable, so I got to be a visitor in my own town. A friend recommended Arabella Laguna. Very nice. Since I was only there a few nights, I chose the Heather suite. It overlooks the garden courtyard but had a partial view of the ocean. It's a studio, meaning it's like a hotel room (king bed) with a full kitchen and a fairly large bathroom with shower. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The bed and bath linens deserve a special mention as they were extra nice. I'm noise sensitive, and PCH is close. But, I slept soundly. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to cook, or at least make coffee. Apparently, the larger units come with a dishwasher. There is no A/C. I live nearby and nobody has it. You don't need it. There's no maid service, but I think the price reflects that. If you want fresh towels, you trade them in at the laundry room. There is a home type washer and dryer, no coins.
The location is great. The beach is 1 1/2 blocks away. 2 blocks to a Von's Pavilions. The village is a 5 minute walk. Good restaurants and nightlife are within easy walking distance. 5 minute drive to Trader Joe's.
I see this as a great way for someone to experience life as a local in Laguna. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beware of noise from Hwy 1 and hidden charges. Arabella will charge $50 per extra guest per night without providing additional bedding. These charges were not disclosed during online booking. I would not stay there for more than 2 nights because of the noise from Hwy 1 . If you have your windows open ( which is the only option to get fresh air) then be ready to wake up to every motorcycle passing by . Closest beach is not the best in the area, so we had to drive to better location anyway… Next time when I visit Laguna Beach I will explore other accommodation options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Arabella Laguna for several nights in the Foxglove suite. It was nice comfortable clean and unusual. The property is beautifully landscaped and quiet. You feel like you are staying at someone's home rather than a rental property. The location is in north Laguna and very easy to go anywhere in town with the free open air trolley. There are just a few rentals so it's not crowded or noisey. Parking is good as long as each guess has one vehicle. Otherwise parking is on the street with Meter. Very close to beach and restaurants. No AC so if the weather is expected to be hot reschedule!! Overall this is a lovely property. Will visit again. Also pictures on website do not represent the property correctly. It is much nicer in person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the smaller Lavender Suite for 4 nights - it was furnished really nicely, clean with good, working facilities and a fresh supply of linen and utensils if we needed them. The place itself is only a few minutes from the main beach and restaurants and shops so an ideal location - it is also hidden from view and has a gorgeous little garden with swing seats and a BBQ. The only minor negative was that it was sometimes hard to get in touch with the owners to confirm bookings etc. However, the whole admin process ran smoothly in the end and we enjoyed our time there! AND, really great value for what you get! Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites here last week on a combination conference/ vacation trip to the West Coast and LOVED it! An easy 25-30 min commute into Annaheim on the days with meetings, and much better scenery to come home to. The bed was firmly sumptuous, the grounds were lovely, complete with little groups of outdoor seating and a bbq. Our kitchen was very well-appointed, including little things like wine glasses, a couple of big serving bowls, salt and pepper. Everything was upscale, charming, and very inviting. The place really is true to the pictures on their website. The shower was on the small side, not a problem for us but might be for very large individuals; it had plenty of hot water and lots of water pressure. Complete with shampoo, conditioner, and nice body wash. Parking was fine, we had our spot available every time we came home. Location is only a block from the beach, in a particularly beautiful section of Laguna Beach-- Heisler Park (I'm sure there are pix online) --lots of coves,each one prettier than the one before, for walking, snorkeling, swimming, kayaking, paddleboarding, etc. Be sure to check out the tidepools among the rocks and take the 15-min trip inshore to the Pacific Marine Mammal Center! We discovered a fantastic, cozy little waterfront Italian restaurant down the other end of town in South Laguna-- Ti Amo. Not inexpensive, but wonderful for a special evening out with friends. Overall, the entire trip wonderfully exceeded our best expectations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Violet Suite. The pictures on the web-site are true to form; however, PARKING is an issue. Also, Tuesday and Wednesday are street sweeping days so you have to be careful not to get your vehicle towed by parking on the wrong day. The stairs up to the rooms on the second floor are a little steep and there are no handicap bars in the showers; so, be careful! All and all, I will definitely be returning to this lovely hide-a-way!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Laguna

Address: 506 N. Coast Hwy., Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of days-gone-by, historic Arabella Laguna nestled under towering elms has all the comforts of home. Each cottage or suite has been refurbished in eclectic bungalow style. From its location on gallery row in North Laguna you are minutes to beach, town, shopping and as well as art galleries, museum and festivals. The four buildings surround a lush courtyard with barbecue for the guests' use. Each suite is appointed with fine linens, full kitchen, wireless connect and a TV with VCR. Perfect for a vacation getaway, small wedding, small corporate meetings, birthday parties and family reunions. Unique and enchanting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.