We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Property - Could be Managed More Effectively” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Laguna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arabella Laguna
Save
You added Arabella Laguna to your Saves list
506 N. Coast Hwy., Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
bridgewater NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Property - Could be Managed More Effectively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

As a prolonged layover on a trip to Hawaii we stayed two nights at the Arabella in Laguna Beach to visit with family from California. We were pleased to be upgraded to their cottage property for no extra charge.

The property was clean, cozy and pleasant. The location was phenomenal. Cross the street and walk for 2 minutes to be at a marvelous beach!

I wish that the property were managed more effectively though because it has such great potential. Interacting with the management was "mysterious". We made our reservations over the internet, but never got a confirmation e-mail (very unnerving when you make a credit card purchase!)- and had to call multiple times leaving requests on machines to finally confirm our reservation.

Signs on the property are virtually invisible, so you very easily wander around the neighborhood before finding the property - neighbors got perturbed that we might take their parking, this is apparently an issue.

The owners do not clearly communicate where to park - nor are you guaranteed to see them when you arrive. They literally leave the room/building "open" for you - and their is no "Welcome Letter" to at least affirm you are in the right place. It's weird to start your visit wondering if you have committed a 'Breaking and Entering" offense.

We noticed signs in the area indicating "for sale", so perhaps the owners are selling. I suspect that in the right hands of more active management this property would be a gold mine.

All this being said, after the weirdness of checking in without seeing anybody and bumbling around to figure out the mysteries of parking, we were very pleased with our stay and the remarkable neighborhood.

Room Tip: Consider asking for the cottage if it's available - may be worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Arabella Laguna for a couple nights. We had the detached Jacaranda cottage. The whole property is so quaint with a beautifully maintained garden. The cottage was very nicely decorated and had a fully stocked kitchen! We definitely felt like we were in the home away from home. A very different experience from staying in a hotel.
There were only a few minor items which may not be bothersome to some people. The blinds in the bedroom can totally be seen through at night. It also was difficult in the morning to sleep in. We ended up hanging towels to try and get privacy. Also if you were staying with a family or friends because the cottage can accommodate up to people, the living room has a few windows with the same problem. The location can't be beat being only one block from the beach. The traffic noise was also a problem for me being a light sleeper. Check in time is 4pm and check out is 10am which is really early but they are nice enough to give a later check out if possible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Absolutely charming! The one bedroom, kitchen, living room and bath was beyond belief. Every thing was spotless..big fluffy towels, decorations were wonderful...could have stayed a week. Other friends had a huge two bedroom upstairs apartment with flat screen tv's and everything one would need in the kitchen. Connie the manager was so helpful..waters in refrigerator and told as everything we needed to know about Laguna. I am very skeptical about internet reservations..but finding this made everyone think I had the magic touch. This is our to go to place in Laguna. Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

we stayed at arabella laguna for one week in march 2011. we booked the jacaranda cottage, which had enough room for our family of four and a very nice kitchen. the garden is really beautiful and our kids loved to explore and play in the garden. Although PCH is right in front of the property, we didn't feel disturbed and when windows are closed you nearly don't hear any noise. city center and main beach are a ten minute walk and about the same distance is beautiful crescent bay and crescent bay point park. we would definitely return to this great place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Laguna Beach is one of the few Californian beach towns that has retained the village feel. Arabella was reccommended by friends, and we had a very pleasant stay. Location is only two minutes from the superb Heisler Park clifftop walkway leading into Main beach and the town centre. The rooms were very comfortable and had all the facilities we wanted, including off-street parking. We have no hesitation in reccommending this charming property to anyone looking for first class self catering in Laguna Beach

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Laguna

Address: 506 N. Coast Hwy., Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of days-gone-by, historic Arabella Laguna nestled under towering elms has all the comforts of home. Each cottage or suite has been refurbished in eclectic bungalow style. From its location on gallery row in North Laguna you are minutes to beach, town, shopping and as well as art galleries, museum and festivals. The four buildings surround a lush courtyard with barbecue for the guests' use. Each suite is appointed with fine linens, full kitchen, wireless connect and a TV with VCR. Perfect for a vacation getaway, small wedding, small corporate meetings, birthday parties and family reunions. Unique and enchanting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.