We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but, a bad night for atmosphere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avila’s El Ranchito

Avila’s El Ranchito
1305 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3117
949-376-7040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It's a chain restaurant and the other locations are in Trip Advisor - just not this one..
Barnard, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food but, a bad night for atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I love authentic Mexican which this was not but, it is the next best thing. Food was good. Fun place but, we had a group nearby with a tribe of kids and parents that were clearly off duty. The kids were out of control hitting parents, screaming, and throwing chairs on the floor. Rocking other kids back and forth in their chairs. I asked our server if she could ask them to tone it down a bit and she said no she could not do that and walked away. 4 other surrounding tables were also disturbed. One neighboring guy turned around and stared at the parents and they still did nothing. When the group got up to leave all the surrounding tables started clapping and cheering for this inconsiderate group to leave. Not such a great experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great guac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stopped here for a beer and a snack. Great freshly made guac and friendly service. Good assortment on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A favorite for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have been here at least a dozen times. Great for relaxed & reasonably priced dining. The food is always good. The staff is always warm, friendly & accommodating. Once when they made an error on my order they went nearly overboard to keep us happy, smiling & well fed.
The small outdoor patio with a fire pit & banana palms makes for a great atmosphere. When inside I always sit by the windows with an ocean view. Perfect at sunset!
Parking can be a challenge on busy weekends - as is true with all of Laguna. In the summer you can take the free Laguna trolley here.
LOVE the salsa that comes with the chips! My favorite dish is the roasted veggie rellenos. You can substitute a salad for the usual rice & beans. Love the lime-cilantro salad dressing. If you go for beans go for the black beans.
When you are done dining the Cress Street Beach overlook is only minute walk away. You can take the steps down to the beach for a beach walk to walk off your dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good California style Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for quality Mexican cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere then this is your place in Laguna Beach.

Fresh ingredients used in entire meal. Guacamole was a little chunkier than I prefer but very fresh. Not a lot of spice to it but good flavor. Great selection of drinks ad their patio overlooks the street, not the beach. There are a few tables inside with a view of the beach, but it is vey limited.

Overall, good food at a good price in a nice atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty decent food for mass market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The food is basic Mexican fare. Not really traditional or anything like that, but a decent meal at a decent price. Nice view & location & fun to sit outside near the fire pit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila’s El Ranchito also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Avila’s El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila’s El Ranchito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.