We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect for the family:-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect for the family:-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very pleasant, comfortable and clean. Right in the heart of Laguna. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Beach is just down the steps behind the propedty. Glimpse of tbe Pacific from patio. 5 minute walk to town. This will be my goto spot in Laguna, especially if they keep the reasonable room rates:-).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    151
    45
    22
    12
See reviews for
106
228
34
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have the best summer ever.The staff was so helpful and friendly special thanks to Jamie she is outstand.
This is amazing location , we walked to the beach,restaurants and supermarkets.
We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mariza L,

Thank you for letting us know we are wonderful, especially Janie! Her knowledge and love of Laguna Beach is shared with so many of our guests.

Our location is north of Downtown Laguna but still in short distance. We are also steps away from the free Laguna trolley stop which is perfect for exploring other areas of Laguna Beach.
Mariza L, thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to you coming back next year.

Rachel Tejeda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I planned this trip the day of, just because I wanted to get away. There was a great deal on the hotelstonightapp, so I decided to book. As soon as I pulled up to the hotel, I knew it was not what I wanted. It is a bit run down looking on the outside. It looks more like a motel than a hotel. The rooms were okay. They were spacious but a little outdated. We had an ocean view but nowhere to sit and enjoy it. There are no balconies. You would have to sit out in a public area if you wanted to enjoy the view. Although, I was not too happy with the atmosphere of the hotel, it is in a great location. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Close to the beach, a really nice park and walking trail. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The lady at the check in desk offered suggestions on where to go, and also gave us a coupon for a restaurant we were planning on visiting. They also offer cookies upon arrival and coffee service in the morning. Personally, I would not stay here again. I am a bit finicky when it comes to hotels, but if you are more about location, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Miss TinaIrvine:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay. You will be pleased to know that we will be going through a renovation this year that will address your concerns of the exterior and outdated rooms. The rooms will have a bright beachy feel that will only enhance our guests stay.

I know that you were disappointed not to have a balcony to enjoy the ocean view but I would like to assure you that a few of our rooms offer a private balcony. It is always best to book through our reservations department to reserve a specific room type.

I would also like to thank you for pointing out our great location and friendly staff. Our associates pride themselves on sharing the Laguna Beach experience with all of our guests.
Miss TinaIrvine, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to stay with us after the reservations. I am positive you will love the change.

Rachel Tejeda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It is on the beach side of the Pacific Coast Highway. But it does not have an unobstructed view of the ocean. There is a building between you and Heisler Park on the cliffs. The website does not make this clear.

Having said this, it is still very well situated for walking to all the main sights in Laguna Beach. A two minute walk brings you to the cliffs. A 15 minute walk brings you to Main Beach, the little down town and the shuttle for the Sawdust Festival.

The staff were great, courteous, friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel changed hands recently and lost our reservations (good thing I called to confirm our reservations a few weeks prior!) and they corrected the mistake without any problems.

The room was up-to-date and comfortable. The little pool is pocket sized but you’re there mainly for the beach, right?

If you stay there for the 4th of July, as we did, the fireworks explode directly overhead and you do not have to fight the crowds on the cliffs, we just watched from the hotel’s pool area.

I’d go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Laguna Cliffs Inn is a great place-charming, well- appointed and welcoming. Came down for a friend's 60th birthday party and decided to spend Saturday night. Unlike a number of other hotels, the Laguna Cliffs Inn did not have a two-night minimum. We had a slight delay getting into the room at the 4 pm check-In time, but Zack, the guy on duty, took care of us. The room was a good size, and nicely furnished. We weren't high enough up to get much of an ocean view, but our room, 110, had a nice patio that provided a glimpse of the ocean. The hotel has a small pool, several patio- style table and chairs around the pool area, and a complimentary continental breakfast. The location is north of highway 133, and there was ample parking. I will definitely stay here again. The staff was very nice and the property is well-maintained. The beach is walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor have the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Rolau:

I hope that you had an amazing time celebrating your friend’s birthday. Laguna Beach truly has a lot to offer for those special getaways. While I wish your check in did not have any delays I am thankful that Zach was able to take care of you. He is truly a valued associate at Laguna Cliffs Inn.
Laguna Cliffs Inn is a ten minute walk to the heart of the Laguna Beach and a five minute walk to Picnic Beach. While we no longer offer a continental breakfast we like to start your morning with Croughnuts and Coffee.
Rolau, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you back at Laguna Cliffs Inn.
Rachel Tejeda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night over the weekend.

-Free Wifi
-Free Parking

Love the amenities of this place! Upon arrival we were given fresh baked cookies. Right next to the check-in there are flavored water (orange water when we were there) and hot drinks you can select from. It's not just your usual coffee either. They had an entire box full of different teas and hot cocoa. And thank you for putting the creamer in the fridge! Don't know how many places I've been to where it's just left out on the counter... Free instant oatmeal, breakfast bars, and trail mix in your room.

And thank you for giving me free Q-tips and cotton balls in our room. I know it's trivial but when I get out of that shower my ears long for a visit from the cotton swab. Honestly I think this should be a standard at all hotels!

The staff were friendly. They even gave us a guide book of what there is to do around the place.

One suggestion though.. upon checking out the staff member asked my husband how our stay was... It was a bit awkward being put on the spotlight. My husband had some comments on areas that can be improved upon, but resorted to the generic reply of "everything was great. Maybe provide a feedback form in the room?

As for the room it was alright. Did not love the super soft squarish pillow. The bed was ok. The AC is a wall unit which was kind of loud.

Overall it was a good one night stay. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I just stayed at this hotel. My wife found a great deal from Hotel Tonight App that she found. The original room that we were going to get wasn't ready, so we were given a much larger room. Even though the room was nice, we didn't have a view of the ocean: negative. The hotel description stated that they had breakfast: negative. They stopped serving breakfast in May. All they offer are coffee and pastries. Their description also says free parking: negative. They charge $12 parking per night, which isn't bad. Other places charge up to $40 per night. There's more pros and cons about this place I would like to write on here, but I leave that up to you my fellow travelers.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area's beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy coffee and croughnuts, Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as our nightly wine reception and cookies and milk every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.