We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people & close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people & close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and it was lovely! We had a spacious double room with partial ocean view from the rear balcony. No window out to the balcony though, only door. Maybe it was designed like that to protect from the traffic noise. Because it was surprisingly quiet while right on PCH. Complementary parking & WiFi were great! Lovely courtyard, lots of plants, small pool and a hot tub. Overall very clean and neat property. Though there was an unpleasant old-carpet-smell in the room if left with air-con off. We did not mention that to the staff as time was rather spent enjoying lovely beaches, coves, restaurants & galleries Laguna Beach has to offer. Taking the location into account the value-for-money not that bad.
The hotel is only minutes from the most beautiful coves with tide pools. Dining is just perfect. A few times we had breakfast at Las Brisas – fantastic service & great choice. Also ate at Alessa Laguna Beach – an Italian restaurant, fantastic food. Another time we bought some lovely prepared meal from Whole Food market which is about ten minutes walk.
Usual note on the absence of a kettle to make a cup of tea. We had asked for it and had been advised to use microwave or a coffee maker instead. Also we were not advised that there is morning refreshments provided, only discovered on check-out. That would have made “tea situation” more bearable. That aside the staff was incredibly welcome & helpful. Very useful PC with a printer in the lobby for park tickets/flight check-in printing.
Overall we would recommend anybody to stay in Laguna Cliff Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    157
    47
    23
    12
See reviews for
109
235
36
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here for one night as we passed through Orange County.

The hotel has new management, but we found them to be very warm and no issues with our booking or anything.

We has a partial ocean view room, which was a view of the ocean skyline from the window by the door but it was still nice. Next time, i would just go without the view as you can get a very nice view from the open walkway on the top floor anyway.

The room was spacious and modern and the King bed was comfortable. The bathroom was not as nice, just standard but who really cares about bathrooms. It just didn't match the room so hopefully they re-model them eventually.

There were cookies in the afternoon and drink available in the lobby. There was also coffee and a donut/croissant mix pastry which was a nice breakfast when most places offer nothing.

The location is close to town, right before the boardwalk entering the main part of town on Ocean Ave. We walked everywhere.

I would stay here again as everything was so easy to get to and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This property has been sold. They now have a policy of putting you next to the elevator or by the street if they don't think they charged you enough for your room.
I bought the room on their website. It was their price. But on check in we were told if you paid a lower rate you get a noisier room. The price booked was not what we were charged. It was 60.00 higher. The extra amenities they used to give you and which are still in the hotel services book in the room, you don't get that now. I have been staying there for years but now I'm going shopping for another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear KMB727:

I was truly sorry to read about your experience at Laguna Cliffs Inn. I have reached out directly to KMB727 in regards to her response.

While KMB727 is correct that we are now under new ownership I would like to assure our guests that we have maintained the same wonderful staff. One of the changes that we have made is that we now allow our guest the opportunity to reserve a room with a balcony at a premium rate. No longer will a guest have to wait and see if their request was honored. We have also begun serving Croughnuts and Coffee in the morning and continue to provide our guests with complimentary Wi-Fi and beach amenities.

KMB727, please look me up if you have plans to stay in Laguna Beach in the future. I would love to remind you that Laguna Cliffs Inn is still a great property to stay at.

Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I booked this on hotels website . Website said free parking and welcome basket. We got charged for parking and got no welcome basket . We had a 1 st floor room. It was clean but you could hear every footstep and toilet flush from the room above us . It was not worth the price .

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were sad to leave this place. Great location, beautiful beach views and very nice staff, always so helpful and friendly. Definitely we will go back. I miss my morning walks in the park and on the beach so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just checked out and hated to leave. Great staff and wonderful room in a good location. Will stay again when in Laguna Beach. Only thing that could have been better was a place on the water, but only two blocks to the waterfront park which I also recommend.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

What more can I say that my title doesn't already convey. We loved this place, we loved Laguna Beach, CA. My wife and I stayed here from 4/14 - 4/17. We were taking a quick break from the horrendous Chicago winter and decided a few days in CA should do the trick. We landed at the Laguna Cliffs Inn, based on the reviews from my fellow Tripadvisor reviewers. Well, yet again, they didn't lead us astray. The hotel is a quick trip from John Wayne Airport. Once we arrived, we were treated with a very warm welcome and a delicious cookie. We were quickly checked in and given what I can only describe as a great breakdown of where to go and what to eat. Armed with that knowledge and my Yelp app, we proceeded to have three incredible nights in Laguna. The hotel room was very clean. I loved the modern decor. The hotel is a quick block and a long hill away from the action. Everything is a long hill away. The hotel is located around the corner from Heisler Park, which is spectacular. A basket full of free healthy treats every morning aided us in our morning hikes. And I can't forget about the beds, soft and comfortable. One quirk if your'e over lets say 6 feet tall. The shower in my bathroom was short. Just something I noticed because at 5'9", I was at the edge of too tall. For a cute boutique, in a gorgeous city, right next to an amazing park, down the street from the beach, it just doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area's beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy coffee and croughnuts, Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as our nightly wine reception and cookies and milk every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.