We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Chippenham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This motel is in a great location. It's a 10 minute walk to the town centre. With less than an easy 5 minute walk you can be in the small park on the edge of the cliff. 5 minutes in the other direction takes you to the local supermarket.

We had a large comfortable room. It had lots of storage and was kept very clean. There is coffee and tea replaced each day, a basket of snacks and a large fridge. There is always fruit available in reception. There was sitting out space on either side of our room. There's a small pool and a hot tub. We had no trouble parking in the motel garage.

The staff were friendly and pleasant, particularly the reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed our inn and the special amenities we offer. We really pride ourselves on taking great care of the hotel and presentation of everything!

Like you, our other guests rave about the large guestrooms, outdoor garden and patio seating and the second to none location steps from Heisler Park.

I am thankful our team took wonderful care of you while you were our guest.

Please come again, and until than, take care.

Cathy LeCompte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    139
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
102
213
32
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Located just a stones throw from Heisler Park and downtown LB, the hotel is perfectly located. The staff is helpful and willing to accommodate your needs while providing suggestions for things to do and places to go in the area. You don't get a buffet breakfast, but an healthy breakfast/snack basket is in your room at check in. Other great amenities include free wireless internet, free garage parking, and snacks & drinks always available in the lobby. I wouldn't think twice about coming back the next time I'm visiting LB.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
What a wonderful review and such sincere feedback on your lovely experience and trip. Thank you for staying with us and we are of course thrilled you enjoyed the location as perfect and our healthy start breakfast basket also!

We certainly hope to see you on your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Cathy LeCOmpte
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent three nights in this motel in October 2013. We had a double Queen see view room that was USD450 for three nights including taxes.

The room was modern with nice beds. It was a good size with a nice bathroom and big sink/mirror area. Decent TV, use of nice fridge, decent coffee maker and very nice dark wooden furniture and table.

You can see the ocean and the beach and, in the right spot, "downtown" Laguna Beach. It's a 7-10 minute walk in to town.

I loved LB and this place is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and compliments on our fabulous pillow top beds, room decor and amenities. It sounds like you also enjoyed the location here in beautiful Laguna Beach!

Please come see us again and have a wonderful Holiday season.

Kind Regards,

Cathy LeCompte
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pleasantly surprised but this well run inn in Laguna. The beach is a short walk down the the hill and about a 5 minute walk to the main drag of Laguna. The rooms were clean and fairly large, bathrooms about average in size. The check in was a bit slow but the staff was very friendly. I would recommend the traditional room over the deluxe. There really isn't much difference if you are looking to save a buck.

Very pleasant stay and will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Good Day!

Our team is so thrilled that you were pleasantly surpised! That is a wonderful compliment and we do all put heart and soul into ensuring everything runs smooth.

Thank you again for selecting our small inn on your Laguna Beach getaway.

Until we meet again!

Cathy LeCompte
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Where do I start? As soon as my wife and I arrived we were greeted by the woman at the front desk and she gave us a guide on where to go and where to eat close by. She was very helpful on the amount of information she provided us. She even offered us warm baked cookies and had some coffee bean coffee and teas nearby. We came into a nice remodeled room ( great job) where you get a basket of free goodies and a nice king size bed that was comfy and clean. There is a paper where you can place on the bed to get your sheets changed everyday of your stay. Its a bit older on the outside but if you want close to the beach its only down the street from the main shopping, food and beaches. The pool and spa is a bit older but again its well stocked with clean towels and its clean. They seem to take pride on restocking supplies and making sure your room is up to par. Its a great getaway if you aren't from the region and there are all kinds of fun shops nearby. There's no fitness center or restaurant attached to it.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a view of the ocean. All rooms are pretty quiet. Corner rooms are nice and spre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
So enjoyed reading all the little things that made you smile while you were our guest!

Thank you for a delightful first sentence and for staying with us. Our team is so pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Until we meet again!
Cathy LeCompte
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the reasons we picked this hotel was that we wanted to stay on one of the beaches in the area in a nice hotel but wanted to relax and be left alone to come and go as we pleased - so many of the more upmarket places in the area seem to only offer valet parking garages which I really dislike. We weren't disappointed. Everything was as advertised, the desk staff were very helpful when called upon. The beach is about a 10 minute stroll away where there is a full complement of shops and restaurants. They encouraged us to leave our car in the garage as long as we liked when we checked out which meant we could stroll down to the beach one last time before flying home.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the more likely you are to see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and enthusiastic comments!

We do receive so many comments on our free covered parking being convenient. Also, I hope you enjoyed Heisler Park and Beach right around the corner. The park is one of the most photographed in California!

Please come see us again when you return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Cathy LeCompte
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We picked this hotel for our stay in Laguna Beach because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were so glad that we did! We had a second floor room that had a view of the ocean (which we had requested). The room was updated, extremely clean and had everything we needed. The bed even had a swan made out of towels sitting on the bed, which was a fun touch! The location is awesome! Heisler Park, which is gorgeous and goes along the ocean, is located directly behind the Laguna Cliffs Inn and is a very short walk. You can walk along this park into the town area with the shops and restaurants. It is absolutely beautiful! The staff of the hotel were so very friendly and offered wonderful suggestions for restaurants, which were as good as they had claimed! My husband and I will happily return to this hotel the next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The swans and the cookies are favorites!

Thanks you for sharing all your feedback and practically painting a picture of the lovely short walk into town along the ocean.

We would love to have you back and thank you for staying as our guest and recommending our hotel so nicely.

Kind Regards,
Cathy LeCompte
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area’s beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy the convenience of complimentary Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as in-room breakfast and a welcome basket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.