We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days with our large party of 6 rooms. All very satisfied. Rooms and premises extremely clean - I saw the maid even dusting the top of our flatscreen TV. To be critical, water pressure great, large bathroom, mattress and pillows very comfortable, pool cleaning service was present, and it's nice to continually have ripe fresh fruit and coffee at the front desk. Parking was free and in their own lot below the rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to downtown (walking distance of 5-10 minutes) and numerous galleries along the way. Only con was the pullout sofa bed was the comfort of a pullout sofa bed.

If returning to Laguna Beach, would gladly stay here again!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor with great views and no noise from above. 1st floor with easy access to the hot tub and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings Tennis Bum!

We so enjoyed having your extended family as our guests. Wonderful parents and a great group of fine young adults you have also!

Extremely pleased on your stellar comments regarding the guestroom and property upkeep, and shared your mention of the TV top being dusted with the entire housekeeping team. They love to hear how their loving and hard work impacts our guests.

Thank you for staying and for being such a fun and enjoyable group of people! We welcome you back in the future.

Blessings!
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    157
    47
    23
    12
See reviews for
109
235
36
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Laguna Cliffs in the beginning part of April. We had been exploring the coast of Cali for about a week driving down from way above San Francisco and stopping every few days in the major destination areas: bodega bay, San Fran, morro bay, Santa Barbara, etc. and had both agreed we wanted to spend at least 3days in Laguna! We found Laguna cliffs on tripadvisor and decided to call. We spoke with a very nice lady named Paula who explained the location and hotel beautifully and instantly sold us on it. And when we got there it was everything we had expected and more!! Amazing beds, 10 minute gorgeous walk into town, and the entire hotel faced the pacific. It felt hidden. We felt like we found something amazing! But who cares about all that if the staff sucks....which they totally don't! Everyone is helpful, but more than that; everyone truly cares about you, your life story, where you've been and where you're heading. They place themselves into your lives and help plan your vacation as if it was them who were staying with you! They truly make Laguna beach worth visiting! Not to mention, they're not too bad to look at either! Haha both my friend and fell in love with John. He's funny, smart, and so sweet....we joke that he must be gay b/c straight men are just not that sincere :) We not only recommend Laguna Cliffs but swear that it's a must stay! They don't have amenities like spa, restaurant, or poolside drinks like other places, but hey...if you wanna spend all day at a resort and never go out, choose a resort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Miss Jess,

Your personalized and enthusiastic review is immensely gratifying to read and review with my team. Thank you, thank you for taking precious time to recap your stay with such detail.

You are absolutely correct in observing how much we care that your stay as our guest and your entire vacation is as close to perfect and memorable as possible. Getting to know our worldwide guests on a very personal basis is how we receive our thanks and satisfaction. The joy of hearing about your plans, your trip, your family and friends is so much fun!

Thank you also for awarding our Inn 5 stars across the board in service, cleanliness, location, product and value!

We do work incredibly hard to have the hotel atmosphere friendly and happy and the grounds and guestrooms impeccably clean, updated and well maintained.

Thank you so much for your graciousness to our guest service staff!

We welcome you back with open arms on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The desk staff is excellent and the location is great, but it is noisy-- they need to invest in sound proofing this older building. The "free" breakfast basket is terrible-- just skip it. The food is all junk! The coffee was fine. We were on the 1st floor which seemed dark to me. If you get a deal and the other things (like the tiny tub) don't bother you then it is a reasonable choice for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing wonderful compliments on our guest service staff ,value and location to everything Laguna Beach has to offer! We certainly appreciate what sounds like was your first visit to Laguna Cliffs Inn.

Our continental breakfast and snack basket serves as a great "day starter" with oatmeal, trailmix and granola bars with the fresh fruit, juice and fresh roasted Coffee Bean coffee served daily in the lobby. Our apologies it wasn't quite what you expected. We are excited to offer a May arrival for all our new guestroom lamps which will definitely brighten our beautifully renovated rooms.

We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and thank you for the feedback. Please do come visit again to enjoy a few more upcoming upgrades and feel free to request a top level oceanview guestroom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had thought that this hotel was closer to the "action" . We had to walk a number of blocks to get any where. For some reason I thought it was closer to the shops and restaurants. The hotel is like a motel. So as long as you aren't expecting too much, you will be satisfied. FOr instance the quality of hte sheets is very low, and the pullout couch was uncomfortable. But on the good side, the furniture in the rooms was nice and had great storage - unusual for most hotels. Unfortunately the carpets had big stains on them and seemed dirty. Also , it was odd to have shampoo provided but not conditioner. I had to walk ( quite a way) to buy some, very inconveninet. It took a bit of walking to get the the beach, but it was certainly do-able. So, for the money, the place is great, just know what you are getting. The staff was REALLY nice - helpful!

Room Tip: We had rooms on the top floor, I think that is important. Because the people staying right under us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with Laguna Cliffs Inn guest TAS,

Thank you also for sharing several tidbits of positive feedback with your constructive feedback and personal opinion. It is always appreciated to know the good with the not so good!

Your capitalization of our REALLY nice and helpful staff brought smiles from our team as we reviewed your guest comments together. I am happy you enjoyed the guestroom furniture and storage as we have enjoyed redesigning and renovating the hotel and lovely guestrooms.

The famous Divers Cove and Heisler Beach and Park are literally a half block around the corner, with downtown and the main beach just 4 blocks south. Pavilions is 1.5 blocks North for any amenities or groceries for guest convenience.

We are proud to be introducing the world reknown "Philosophy " guest amenity line which will include hair conditioner in May. We work hard at very frequent guestroom shampooing and apologize for falling below what you expected!

Thank you again for choosing our Inn and we hope you will allow our award winning team another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a lovely little hotel, great location in Laguna Beach, and affordable considering the cost of the other hotels in the area, very clean bedroom and bathroom, extremely helpful and friendly staff, but the complimentary breakfast was alittle on the thin side, but I guess you can't have everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We love providing a lovely little hotel here in charming Laguna Beach. As a frequent traveler myself, Laguna Cliffs Inn is exactly the style of hotel I enjoy staying in!

Your comments on the cleanliness, helpful staff and superb location speak loudly to the many other travelers are planning a trip to gorgeous Laguna Beach.

We do hear that the little extras we provide such as afternoon chocolate chip cookies, evening shortbread, complimentary fresh fruit and in room snacks soften the lack of a full breakfast.

Thank you again our Netherlands traveler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del mar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had friends and family come out to CA for our wedding and I'm SO happy we chose Laguna Cliffs Inn to have all of our guests stay for the weekend. Hotel is clean, super comfy beds, right on the beach.. Or steps away, free parking.... And the staff is amazing! We knew all of their names and they knew all of us!!!!! I highly recommend this hotel and even though I live local, ill be popping in to say hi;)))

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback on your VERY SPECIAL OCCASION! We so enjoyed treating you and your family and friends like royalty as we know that we are making life long menories for all!

Thank you also for popping back in last week to say HI!

Thank you for recommending us and for the kind remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights with my husband at Laguna Cliffs Inn in March. Our last visit was in November and everything came up to the high standard which we have come to expect. It is very good value, clean and comfortable; the bedding and towels are of a high standard and there are bathrobes in the rooms. There is a complimentary breakfast basket each day and hot drinks and fruit available in the lobby throughout the day.There are even freshly baked cookies in reception most afternoons.The staff were as welcoming and helpful as ever.
The position is perfect for us as Heisler Park is a block away and it is easy for us to walk in to town.
Christine B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you to the Buttons! Our team really enjoys having you back a few times and year and we so much appreciate your loyalty!

You will really love the new upgrades we will have in place upon your next return.

Thank you again and until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area's beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy coffee and croughnuts, Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as our nightly wine reception and cookies and milk every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.