We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights with my husband at Laguna Cliffs Inn in March. Our last visit was in November and everything came up to the high standard which we have come to expect. It is very good value, clean and comfortable; the bedding and towels are of a high standard and there are bathrobes in the rooms. There is a complimentary breakfast basket each day and hot drinks and fruit available in the lobby throughout the day.There are even freshly baked cookies in reception most afternoons.The staff were as welcoming and helpful as ever.
The position is perfect for us as Heisler Park is a block away and it is easy for us to walk in to town.
Christine B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you to the Buttons! Our team really enjoys having you back a few times and year and we so much appreciate your loyalty!

You will really love the new upgrades we will have in place upon your next return.

Thank you again and until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    164
    48
    23
    14
See reviews for
112
240
37
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 5 night stay at the laguna cliffs inn on Priceline for a quick trip to the area. We went back and forth between here and two other places and were pleasantly surprised with how the trip turned out. It is an older building but the rooms have been updated. Our room had a small balcony with a peak a boo view of the ocean. It was nice enough to enjoy a breeze and a morning drink. The staff was very accommodating. The location is excellent. A 2 minute walk to the beach with a gorgeous view, and just a 5 min walk down the hill to downtown and all of the nightlife and dining. Is it the ritz carlton no absolutely not, but it is an excellent stay at this price point and a great value. I would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you!

Our guests share daily that we definitely offer the finest value in Laguna Beach so you are not alone in your thought. It is great to hear as we continue our efforts to surprise our valued guests with our personalized service and special little delights such as fresh cookies in the afternoon and shortbread cookies for an after dinner treat.

Your review means the world to our GUEST SERVICE TEAM and we thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino hills CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our first stay at Laguna Cliffs but won't be our last. The price was right, the bed was super comfy, room was very clean and service was good. This is not a luxury style hotel but it is small and very convenient to everything in Laguna. I suggested to the front desk that they add conditioner and a make up mirror to bathrooms as both would have been fab to have.

Room Tip: our room was in the front near PCH so a bit noisy. Ask for a room toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The great news is that Philosophy Conditioner will arrive in May!

Thank you for your review and the wonderful heartfelt tidbits you loved. I love that our effort to offer a spotless hotel property and guestroom continues to reap tremendous success! I'll be sure to share your accolades with Paula, our Housekeeping Supervisor and her superb team.

We look forward to your return visit in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two children while we explored the area. We were very happy with the convenience and comfort. Our room was easily accessible and the staff were very helpful. It was a short walk to the ocean so I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Wonderful to read your feedback on many of the attributes Laguna Cliffs Inn offers to our guests.

We are rolling out the popular amenitiy line Philosophy in May as well as offering lovely new lamps that will perfect our beautifully renovated guestrooms.

Thank you again for review and please be our guest again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I grew up in OC and love the charms of Laguna, so drove up from San Diego for a short getaway in March (still a bit before Laguna hits the crazy summer months). Warm and friendly staff upon arrival and throughout our stay.

This property is a block off Heisler Park and Picnic Beach, two blocks north of Las Brisas and Main Beach. So you get glimpses of ocean and beaches between the rooflines, but are in easy walking distance of most of the main attractions in Laguna.

Recent renovations (interior and exterior) are well-done and we were told that some final touches are still in process. Nice colors and appointments in the room which was clean and welcoming.

Very reasonable price point for location and quality of room. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Laguna Cliffs Inn is definitely a peaceful place within a busy beach town and I am so glad you were able to rest and relax while enjoying all the special amenities.

Thank you for speaking highly of us and for also recommending us highly which is the FINEST compliment we could ask for!

We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed here many times in Laguna. Never had a problem. It's a fair price and it is really conveniently located. Some rooms have ocean views, others don't. I imagine that would be reflected in the price you pay for your room, but it is worth asking when making your reservation. It's not the Montage or the St. Regis, but it is also much less expensive.

If you are wanting a clean, quiet hotel , with good views of the oceans horizon, for a fair price, you will find it here.

The staff has always been very helpful and friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for returning to Laguna Cliffs Inn!

Your special comments on the guest service team, the views, the cleanliness and the VALUE mean the world to us and we are happy to continue striving to provide excellence!

Again, a sincere thank you for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great Views, great location, great room but most most of all.. fantastic staff who make you feel welcome. They truly want to make your stay as nice as possible. Theby room was very clean and neat and the layout made the most of the space. The views from the second floor are terrific! Location is walking distance to everything in downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Wow! "Great" across the board gives our team very meaningful praise and motivates us to keep on reaching for the stars with our guest service and hotel upgrades.

Thank you for staying and please remember LCI in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area's beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy coffee, Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as our nightly wine reception and cookies and milk every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.