We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel. Fair price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet hotel. Fair price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed here many times in Laguna. Never had a problem. It's a fair price and it is really conveniently located. Some rooms have ocean views, others don't. I imagine that would be reflected in the price you pay for your room, but it is worth asking when making your reservation. It's not the Montage or the St. Regis, but it is also much less expensive.

If you are wanting a clean, quiet hotel , with good views of the oceans horizon, for a fair price, you will find it here.

The staff has always been very helpful and friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for returning to Laguna Cliffs Inn!

Your special comments on the guest service team, the views, the cleanliness and the VALUE mean the world to us and we are happy to continue striving to provide excellence!

Again, a sincere thank you for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    148
    41
    21
    12
See reviews for
106
221
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great Views, great location, great room but most most of all.. fantastic staff who make you feel welcome. They truly want to make your stay as nice as possible. Theby room was very clean and neat and the layout made the most of the space. The views from the second floor are terrific! Location is walking distance to everything in downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Wow! "Great" across the board gives our team very meaningful praise and motivates us to keep on reaching for the stars with our guest service and hotel upgrades.

Thank you for staying and please remember LCI in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated. It has a smashing view of the ocean. Just a fabulous place to take in the beach and lovely town.

Very convenient to have buffet breakfast available. The $25.00 "resort fee" should be included in the price from the outset. The addition is a little tacky as there is no choice but to pay it.

Still worth it.

Room Tip: renovated room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank very much for your feedback and we are so thrilled you enjoyed a "wonderful stay". We are receiving rave reviews on the renovations and have additional exciting upgrades planned this month.

The light continental is a wonderful start to your day before you head out to enjoy the amazing food Laguna Beach offers for every meal.

We DO NOT charge a resort fee of any sort and I think you may have viewed an "incidentals authorization" of $26.00. This authorization falls off after your checkout and I apologize for any misunderstanding.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having grown up in Laguna Beach and still having family there, we make frequent trips to visit. Family is in the north end of town so close proximity was important. The Laguna Cliffs Inn is in an ideal location. It is situated near Heisler Park where you can amble along above the shore. There is also a beautiful little beach to enjoy. One of the things we especially enjoyed was the on site parking with no additional fees. Parking is a premium in Laguna and being able to leave the car and walk was a huge perk for us. The room was much better than anticipated. There is a little balcony off of the back with a table and two chairs. It faced south and had a hill and ocean view. The front faced the pool and again there were two chairs for enjoying the sunshine. The room has been recently renovated and the bedding was sooooo comfy! The pillows were perfect and the bedding soft. The bath is on the small size but met our needs just fine. There is a little table with chairs so working on a computer or playing a card game is possible. The coffee maker in the room along with a basket of muffins and trail mix made starting the day easy. I am thrilled to have found a "home away from home". I would definitely recommend this to family and friends coming to town. This property is a treasure!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a more ample and well priced breakfast option The White House on PCH is a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
My goodness and THANK YOU!

Reading your delightful review was heartwarming. I think all the little things that were special and surprising to you also have the same effect on our other guests as well. We do love to surprise and exceed.

Thank for allowing us to now be your home away from home in Laguna Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The rooms were very nice, the staff members were very accommodating and friendly and the location is perfect. We had a "skyline/ocean" view room on the 2nd floor and had a great view of the coast toward South Laguna. Heisler Park is one block away - spectacular stretch for walkers, joggers and dogs - hugging the shore with many, many beautiful access points to the beach along a one-mile path. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor and pay the extra dollars for a view of the ocean. It's not dead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thrilling top notch marks across the board.

We are so glad you loved the newer upgraded guestrooms and what guests tell us is the #1 location in Laguna Beach for parks, food, quiet and shops!

We thank you so much for choosing to stay as our guest and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments.

We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

What a gem! Location couldn't be better, staff is extremely accommodating and helpful, rooms are very comfortable. We loved how easy it was to walk to shops, beach, restaurants...Would highly recommend Laguna cliffs inn to anyone planning to stay in Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your stellar review and comments. It does not get much better than Fabulous in every way!

We look forward to your next stay and your reaction to the new upgrades we will offer.

Thank you again for taking your valuable time to help us shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed for a couple of nights in January. The room was good-sized and comfortable. There was a fold-out bed for our son that worked fine. Although the Inn is on PCH, we didn't get road noise in our room. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It is a short walk to the Main Beach and to the downtown shops/galleries/restaurants. My only small issue is that the window covering in the bathroom area is one of those woven, non-solid covering, and at sunrise, the morning light lit up the room quite brightly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area's beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy coffee and croughnuts, Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as our nightly wine reception and cookies and milk every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.