We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean - motellish kind of hotell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Inn

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Stockholm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice and clean - motellish kind of hotell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When visiting Laguna Cliffs they offer most of what you need! The hotell is located on the PCH, our room was however not - we had a pool view from our pool level room. I guess the rooms on the next (top) level would have a view over Laguna, which I would definitley recommend having.

The hotell is built on 3 floors where rooms are found on the 2nd an 3rd levels. I could not see if any rooms headed towards the heavily trafficed PCH - the pool yard at the back was nice and quiet. Still the hotell gives a feeling of being a bit of a motell - as you enter your room from the outdoors - typical older California - charming!

The receptionists where all very helpful, offering us help with reservations for restaurants and general recommenedations of what to do and what beaches to visit and also offered us really practical parking, beach/pool towls, beach chairs & beach toys for our children. All this came highly appreciated. Actually the beach just below the hotell (mind you - not viewed from the hotel), about 3 minutes walk - was absolutley beautiful and also classed as a nature reserv. This meant that nothing on the beach could be removed from the beach and therefore there was a lot of findings left for us such as Sea Urchins and I even spotted a dolphin (we visitied just 2 days before Christmas). The swimming pool was heated and so was the whirl pool - they both looked and felt clean and we enjoyed them a lot. The hotell was just steps away from the beach, the Laguna Arts Museum, Las Brisas (a restaurant I will be recommneding shortly) and really cute breakfast place just across the PCH (plus lots of art galleries and shops). The walk down to Laguna Main Beach and center was about 7 minutes - either by walking on the PCH or the more scenic walk path in the Heissler Park located just above the beach (with no disturbance of traffic).
Oh yeah, breakfast was told to be included and coming from Europe breakfast means so much more than coffee and a banana muffin - cultural differences I guess - but still - I would count on eating breakfast out.
I would definitley stay here again, but ask for a room with a view heading towards the beach for the perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Happy 2013....thank you for a wonderful, enthusiastic and detailed review.

It sounds like you really enjoyed your family vacation to Laguna Beach and also your extended stay here as your home away from home.

As a team we take special care to offer suggestions and ideas to make your trip unforgettable and to be sure you do not miss the highlights here in beautiful Laguna Beach.

Until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    145
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
105
215
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Paula and David were very hospitable. Friendly and we had great conversations. Clean, standard size rooms, balcony with peak a boo ocean views. Free wifi and continential breakfast (muffin, juice/coffee). Heated pool and jacuzzi. Flat screen TV, fridge, complimentary snacks. Large free garaged parking. Cross the street and you're at Heisler Park that overlooks the ocean. One block over and you're at world famous Las Brisas - Sunday Brunch are yummy and the place to be. Another light over and you're in downtown Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool. Ask for balcony with peak a boo ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Paula and David were thrilled to see their name in your personalized review. Thank you for making their day and recognizing that they made a special difference in your visit.

Thank you also for sharing such sincere feedback and tips from your experience as our guest. Many future guests will appreciate your thoughfulness.

Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the room was spacious and beautifully remodelled. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, the hotel itself is located one block from the ocean and closeby to the main part of town. Free parking. Don't expect anything for the free breakfast, all there is are tea and coffee sachets (the hot water was cold) and prepackaged muffins/museli bars. I would recommend the hotel but don't factor a free breakfast into the price you pay :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Your willingness to recommend Laguna Cliffs Inn to fellow travelers is a wonderful compliment. I am also pleased that our continuous upgrades and cleanliness stood out to you as a first time guest.

Our morning starter light continental offers the best fresh roasted coffee in town, fruit juices and fresh fruits and as you mentioned muffins and granola bars. I wish it could have been more pleasing for you, my apologies.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and can't wait until we can come back. Our room was lovely with a little patio area right outside our room door. The staff was friendly and so helpful with recommendations and directions. Free parking, which is a value in itself in Laguna Beach. Easy walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Best Value!

Thank you for sharing Laguna Cliffs Inn as the best value in Laguna Beach and for staying as our guest! We look so forward to having you as a guest again. Be sure to call the hotel and make any special requests and we will work hard to make it happen for you.

Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay in the So Cal beach area. It is walking distance from a number of very good restaurants and the beach. It has off street parking which is a big plus in this area which has meters everywhere. Lots of art galleries with high priced work of sometimes questionable artistic merit.

Our unit, #105, had a small patio with a nice view of the area and a limited view of the ocean. In spite of the name this is not on a cliff overlooking the ocean. You will pay a lot more for that in other locations. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stay in a room back from the street. Pacific Coast HY (PCH) is a very noisy main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Your 5 star rating is a wonderful Holiday treat! We are so glad you loved your stay and would choose Laguna Cliffs Inn again.

Thank you for helpful hints to future guests which I am sure will be greatly appreciated. Quiet is important and we are the only hotel in Laguna Beach that does not have guestroom doors or windows directly on the Pacific Coast Highway.

Thank you again and we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a pleasant converted motel whose room interiors are nicer than the un-updated exteriors would lead you to expect.

Staff are extremely sweet and friendly (if a bit spacey: upon check-in, the woman on desk sent us to a room with 1 king, despite our reservation for 2 queens and the fact that we were a party of three) and seem genuinely happy to be working there. The location near Heisler Park makes for a nice walk to town during the day. Also, the beds are amazingly comfortable.

However, I would suggest that management consider the following amendments:
1) breakfast - the greasy bagged muffins aren't doing it for anyone, and I can't imagine they're that much cheaper to supply than cereal.
2) cleanliness of towels - there were some troubling stains on all of the bath towels we were given during our stay. Not sure if this is because there is no distinction b/w shower and pool towels, or b/c the linen just isn't being laundered stringently enough. Either way, worth looking into.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceheart, General Manager at Laguna Cliffs Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Happy Holidays and THANK YOU for your honest feedback to our team. I love that you enjoyed our guest service and location!

Please accept our apologies that you experienced towels that were less than perfect. As our guest feedback shares, we have a stellar reputation for cleanliness and practice stringent laundering(TIDE AND DOWNEY). The pool towels are not incorporated with our guest room towels and are of a different design.

The breakfast muffins are under review and we have already make an addition based on valuable guest feedback such as yours.

Thank you again for choosing to be our guest and hopefully we will see you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the inn for 4 days/3 nights. The location is perfect...within walking distance of the beach and shops. The rooms are immaculate, the customer service impeccable, the staff were kind, caring and polite. The front desk provided fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, complimentary drinks, and snacks. There were ample parking spaces and it was free!!! My friend and I enjoyed our little getaway. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay at and the rates were reasonable. At checkout, the front desk asked for recommendations on any improvements which is a true indication that they truly care about their guests. The only recommendation is that they install a retractable line above the bathtub for hanging wet swimsuits. Other than that, it is a heavenly inn and I absolutely highly recommend it to anyone!!! Loved, loved, loved it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Inn

Address: 475 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly By the Sea Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Cliffs Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As vast as the area’s beaches, trails and art galleries, the pleasures at Laguna Cliffs Inn are virtually endless. Stay steps from the beach in a hotel that boasts an open-air design facing the ocean for a peaceful, picturesque experience. While here, enjoy the convenience of complimentary Wi-Fi and our heated pool and spa, as well as in-room breakfast and a welcome basket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Cliffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.