We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Even with Kids and a Dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Romantic Even with Kids and a Dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

We checked in on the spur of the moment after another dog-friendly hotel turned out to be a dump. The Casa Laguna was an unexpected surprise: old buildings but well scrubbed and meticulously cared for. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Breakfasts were nice, with self-serve coffee, fruits, granola and pastries or hot dishes (eggs, waffles) served indoors or in an outdoor garden. Evenings were just as hospitable, with various wines and cheeses set out for happy hour. Guests can check out DVDs from a pretty good selection of movies. While the traffic from PCH can get pretty loud, the room we were in had good soundproofing such that we barely heard it. A decent sized pool is elevated in the grounds with a partial view, and there's an old faux bell tower with a better view where you can carry your wine for the evening sunset. The staff was cool with our pooch, and even have a jar of doggie treats at the front desk.

Make no mistake: the buildings are old - some from the 1920's and others from the 1930's. If you like mission-revival style, and don't mind a bit of funkiness (some would say quaintness), this place is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    108
    30
    26
    19
See reviews for
32
584
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

We arrived pretty late and was surprised to see someone still up to help us. The service was quick and very courteous. The complimentry breakfast was so good, I think i might come back just for that. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Romantic atmosphere.

  • Liked — the service and food
  • Disliked — kinda small rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

Casa Laguna has it all!! The romance, the beauty, the comfort, that warmth feeling of being in an intimate place with excellent staff providing incredible service.
In the morning the fabulous Chef prepared me a breakfast omelette with asparagus that was so delicious, I still think about it.
The morning view of the ocean from the balcony while the sun is coming out is absolutely breathtaking and the evening view of the sun setting is soooo romantic, I didn't want to leave and the beds are so comfortable I slept like a baby.
I was in California for a conference and had to leave too soon, but I can't wait to go back and bring my family and enjoy it more. There is an outdoor, private jacuzzi that can be reserved to enjoy while perhaps sipping some champagne.
I travel alot and am extremely picky in selecting places to say. Overall, Casa Laguna is the best place to stay in Laguna Beach.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

First of all, you have no idea how much I HIGHLY recommend staying here. It's cute, cozy and peaceful. Check in was quite simple and even if you have never been to California, let alone Laguna Beach in your entire life, the staff can direct you to places to go.

We were first given a tour of the property, and almost every flyer, brochure or book is complementary. (FREE is always good). We were just in time to reach the cheese and wine hour, and there was an employee talking to a few of the guests about her trips to Europe and such.

The room we stayed in was not huge, but it's perfect for two people. The bed could fit a family of four, the bedding was very soft and the room was pretty to look at in general. The tub was big enough for two and there was tv with dvd player, heater, electronic fireplace, a mini fridge, robes and even a personalized welcome letter in the room.

If you are looking for a romantic get-away for two, this is DEFINATELY the perfect place to go. The areas outside of the rooms are reason enough to visit. It's gorgeous and the views from the upper rooms are fantastic. Even if you do not stay in a room with an ocean view, you can always walk up there to take a look.

The breakfast is delicious, it's a small menu with 4-5 choices, but the chef is amazing. There is also bagels, english muffins, blueberry muffins and fruit. In the morning, there are several random tables (inside or outside) set up for breakfast. I swear you'll have the best time here.

Did I mention you are allowed to borrow from their collection of dvds? Yes. Ordering food from your room is available too, they do not have their own personal room service, you have to do take out (call a restaurant) but the employees at the hotel help you with that even if you do not know where to go. They have their own menus from all the restaurants in the area.

The only downsides to the inn is that if you have a big car, you might have a bit of trouble parking because the parking spaces are so tiny. But there are about 5 would be able to accomodate you. Also, parking is free. Depending on your room location, you'll be able to hear people talking outside. But that's definately not a big downer when you see this place.

Bottom line? A definate recommendation.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

Two weeks all over California, four different hotels and I wish I'd spent the enitre trip at this one property. Awesome staff (they actually walked us to our room and showed us around), beautiful setting, perfectly clean, warm pool, great wine and cheese hour, wonderful breakfast, luxury room with more touches than I've ever seen (i.e. wall mounted candles in the jacuzzi tub). I couldn't ask for more. All I can say is "Wow!"

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

The place is nicely landscaped and rooms are clean/for most part/hair in tub and on floor. Be careful of your room selection, Our room was very very small, barely enough room to get around. Also, rooms with view is up upstairs over looking highway and tops of other houses. So caution. Staff, two girls on seperate days, Ok in a sweet girl kinda way. owners walked by a couple of times, but never a welcome, how do you do or thank you for your business. Supposed Chef: very limited Breakfast menu: If you are a non egg eater: Hope you like stale bagels .Muffins were decent, but not for second day in a row. Waffle, chef's own batter, needs to be re-evaluated: Horrible aftertaste, thank god for syrup....Oh, Take your ear-plugs, You will need it to be able to sleep due to traffic less than 100 ft from you room dooor. Oh I fogot they provide those in you bathroom. Nevermind

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
It is clear Casa Laguna was not a proper fit for this guest, and we’re sorry that they were disappointed with their stay. Although a couple of our rooms face historic Pacific Coast Highway—as do most local resorts and many luxury homes--many of our rooms are far beyond Salesguyy2k suggested 100 feet from the highway, and most of our guests are not bothered by the usually mild drone of passing traffic. We have a wide variety of room sizes, but many of our guests like the cozy artist-loft feel of some of the smaller rooms. Those who don't, simply choose one of our larger rooms or suites. Salesguyy2k’s description of our breakfast is baffling, since our award-winning gourmet morning fare is chosen from a menu of 7+ entrees that receive raves from our guests and have made us a foodie destination. We encourage prospective guests to carefully peruse our website, read all of our latest reviews, then give us a call to discuss any concerns like those expressed by Salesguyy2k before making their reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Casa Laguna, the staff was very friendly, food was outstanding. Well appointed guest rooms with great amenities.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.