We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call us! We have rooms!
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Laguna beach is a wonderful relaxing place and Casa Laguna the best place to stay to enjoy it. I stayed a few nights on my way down to San Diego and enjoyed every second of my staying in Casa Laguna. My room was small but with an extremely confortable bed. Everything was clean and well arranged. Breakfast is one strong point, every day you can choose from a "a la carte" menu with fresh ingredients cooked in front of you. The swimming pool is a plus and very useful after a day at the beach. Staff is friendly and always ready to help. Cheese and other refreshments is available in the afternoon for guests, this is a treat! Finally, a wonderful experience, fully satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We sincerely appreciate this lovely review from our new Parisian friend. Casa Laguna is proud to have a strong international following, and we are so pleased that paris-traveller2013 chose our inn for their Laguna Beach respite. We hope that paris-traveller2013 will have the opportunity to visit our inn again in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    96
    27
    25
    18
See reviews for
29
529
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having stayed in Laguna several times before I was looking for a quiet romantic getaway for my guest and I. The Casa Laguna Inn is that and more. I was a little concerned when I first saw it because it looked really small from the outside but as soon as we entered the gates I was pleasantly surprised. The grounds are beautiful and the staff was very friendly and professional. The food was excellent and the bedding was so comfortable it was hard to get out of bed. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Some of the rooms are on the small side so I would suggest upgrading to one of the suites as we did if you want to stretch out a little more, but that's a personal preference.The location was great because you didn't feel like you were in the middle of all the city traffic. There were great ocean views and the afternoon wine and cheese was a nice touch. Parking is limited but worked out for us. I highly recommend giving them a try. My guest was very pleased and said she would definitely stay there again so in my book that's a win win!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are so pleased this couple discovered our award-wining romantic hideaway and had an enjoyable romantic retreat. We appreciate their kind and comprehensive review and recommendation, and we are so pleased to see that they are planning a return stay. We want them to know that they can always expect the same friendly helpful service, excellent food, and attention to detail, on every visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two day stay at Casa Laguna. We live local and didn't want to go far to celebrate our anniversary. After reading all of the positive reviews we decided to try a "bed and breakfast" instead of going to one of the "popular & pricey" hotels in Orange County. For the most part, we were not disappointed. The grounds were absolutely charming! The service was good. We loved the gourmet breakfast and the wine and cheese that was served in the evening. Such a nice touch! We sat by the pool for an afternoon and just loved it. We were the only ones there and it was so peaceful. We could even see the ocean from the pool! The only thing that I wasn't sold on were the rooms. We stayed in the Newport Suite. It was clean, but I just never felt completely relaxed in it. It was small, but I don't think that was it. It did sit on PCH, but the noise didn't bother us at all. It smelled like room freshener when we walked in, which wasn't refreshing at all. It had a counter top electric stove, with plates and cutlery which I thought was kind of strange. It was overly warm even though the thermostat was set at 69 degrees and it was very nice and cool outside. My advice is maybe try a different room? Otherwise, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are so glad Gina556 enjoyed Casa Laguna’s dedicated guest-first service, award-winning food, and beautiful ocean-view patios and terraced gardens. Casa Laguna has 10 different room types, ranging from full suites to quant little “artist” rooms. Our returning guests tend to stick with a favorite, and for some that would be the Newport and Balboa “junior” suites, due primarily to the larger overall space compared to a standard room, including a sitting area, and a king bed. We are at a loss to understand why the room would have been warm with the AC set to 69 degrees. This is not something we’ve experienced, nor received previous complaints about. Every room is thoroughly cleaned and refreshed between guests, and that includes the use of an eco-friendly “odor suppressor.” Our experience has been that any related odor goes away in a matter of minutes. It is possible that the room had residual odor from some product used by the previous guest. If this was the case, we certainly dropped the boat in not identifying the odor and taking care of it. Fewer and fewer guests are using the remaining in-room kitchen facilities that are still available in only three of our suites. It is highly likely that we will be eliminating them in the not-to-distant future. We want Gina556 to know how much we appreciate her input, and we have already taken all of her comments under advisement. We are pleased that this couple enjoyed their stay, and we hope that they will have the opportunity to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a positive attitude about this place but were dissapointed with little things. First our towel bar was loose it kept falling apart. We were also annoyed by the alarm clock that went off all night we unplugged it but i guess it ran on batteries so we took it to the front desk. The second night we saw a huge roach on our wall. It was huge! We killed it told the front desk they said it was normal due to all their plants on property so it's common to them. If they did proper pest control outside they shouldnt be so common! We found very small marijuana leaves on the chair. We made a good time of our stay even though it wasn't perfect. We thought they would care more about our dissapointments because they were all nice but they did nothing to compensate for the bad experiences we had except give us a bottle of cider after the roach incident. We had a $25 charge which they probably charged us for the cider or the outdoor spa we don't know they didn't tell us the spa wasn't complimentary when we reserved it. The breakfast was great. We loved the wine and cheese bar. We liked that our room smelled clean. If you get a partial oceanview you have to go out to the patio to actually see the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
First of all, we want Jbaj08 to know that we are so sorry they encountered some difficulties while visiting our inn and we are glad they were able to enjoy much of their stay. Despite every effort to remind prospective guests that concerns should be reported to the front desk immediately, we continue to find out about them at check-out or in reviews, which of course is far too late for us to correct the problem. Most grievances listed in this review could have been immediately ameliorated had they been reported to us at the time they are discovered. At this point we can only respond to each criticism, so that prospective guests reading this are aware that these issues are not normal or common. 1. Because the bathroom in question was recently remodeled, it is possible the rack may not have been tightened sufficiently. A call to the front desk at any time day or night would have solved the issue before it became a problem. 2. The same is true for the alarm, which had been left set by the previous guest. Had we been informed when the guest first noticed the problem, we would have come to their room and flipped the switch that turns off the alarm, and advised the guest that what they were hitting was the snooze button. 3. Every Laguna Beach hotel of any type or stature has bugs. Those like Casa Laguna, with lush gardens and greenery surrounding every building, have more than their share of six-legged visitors. Our property is monitored by Orkin, who performs regular eradication using eco-friendly systems that are proven effective. Because we are a certified wildlife habitat and Monarch way-station, we do not use strong poisons that harm the eco-system. 4. We cannot speak to any leaves found in the room as we did not see them. 5. It is not the policy of Casa Laguna (or most hotels) to issue refunds due to minor issues that could have been resolved or avoided by timely communication with the front desk. 6. Our Theraputic Soak Tub is not a Jacuzzi. It is a spa experience and is listed, with pricing, in our Spa brochure and on our website. It must be booked in advance and guests are asked if they would like to include Champagne in the cost of the therapeutic soak, which should indicate that it is not complimentary. 7. Not all rooms at Casa Laguna have an ocean view. Complete room descriptions are provided on our website, including whether or not the room you are considering has an ocean view. Again, we sincerely apologize that this guest felt disappointed with their stay. We hope that, as a result of reading of this review and respone, travelers are reminded that wherever they stay, they should immediately bring any issue they encounter to the attention of management so that the situation can be remedied before it affects the pleasure of their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful. Its so perfect for that intimate romantic feel, perfect privacy for me and my husband. The rooms are so cute, with fireplaces, jacuzzis, DVD players, and DVDs and board games to rent downstairs. They offer free wine and appetizers every night and a wonderful breakfast on the patio with ocean views in or outside. They have complimentary beverages in 2 places, out all day and also offered by the pool (80 degrees at all times). They give you complimentary water, wine, cookies and other great goodies. The place has flat screen TV's, microwaves, and a fridge. The service was fantastic and they give you a tour to your room. The location was across the st from the beach and the views were amazing! I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
What a perfect review for those who want to learn about all the many amenities Casa Laguna offers its guests at no extra charge. We are always pleased to know that we have provided yet another perfect romantic getaway. We cannot thank this couple enough for choosing our inn and we want them to know how very much we appreciate their lovely review and valuable recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed four nights at Casa Laguna in mid July and thoroughly enjoyed it. The magic here starts when you enter, what looks like an unassuming front façade, into a mission style, multi tiered garden retreat reminiscent of the early 1900's. The staff took great care in the upkeep and you really feel like you are in a special place. Because visitors are not allowed, it always felt very tranquil and private. The service was very good and everyone was courteous and helpful. This is a bed and breakfast but does not feel that way. There are a number of areas to sit outside and have your own space. I have to say the breakfast is outrageously delicious. While most of the offering are not for calorie counters, there are several that even cautious eater would enjoy. We had an ocean view room and it had a terrific view. While the room was on the small size it was part of the charm.
All in all I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms. We would choose the ocean view rooms again because you can really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are so pleased to add Michael R to our long list of New York friends who have found Casa Laguna the perfect California hideaway. We appreciate the mention that Casa Laguna is a closed compound. By not allowing visitors or catering to events or boisterous groups, we are able to provide a tranquil, relaxing experience that simply can’t be found elsewhere on the Southern California coast. We look forward to again spoiling this couple with great food, amenities, and service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything about our stay was great. The room was very nice and comfy, the swimming pool and spa was picturesque, the breakfast was delicious. The only tiny drawback was the location - far from the town center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We want to thank this couple for taking the time to tell others how much they enjoyed their stay. We understand that not everyone wants to escape from the hustle and bustle of busy downtown Laguna, but we think the short 1.5 mile distance from the town center is not too near, and not too far. Elena_Viv did not mention if they took advantage of the free open-air summer trolley that picks up our guests at our front door and takes them anywhere they want in the Laguna Beach area. We are so glad this couple enjoyed our beautiful rooms, grounds, pool, and food, and we thank them so much for their review and their patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.