We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&b with amazing breakfast; poor service with rude employees.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint B&b with amazing breakfast; poor service with rude employees.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, wonderful food. The grounds are welcoming and well-groomed. Unfortunately, our second trip in as many years revealed multiple young, rude employees that didn't seem to care much about their guests. From the breakfast waitress who was quite short with us, "ready yet?!", to the young girl at checkout who felt the need to insult me (see below), I doubt I'll be back. If you're used to Four Seasons service, look elsewhere. If a Home Depot-style B&b is your thing, Casa Laguna is for you!

So, at checkout a 20-something woman gave me my bill, which was confusing so I asked her to explain. She seemed annoyed, then said, "I don't want you to be confused", in a tone that showed she thought I was an idiot. I told her that I get confused easily, as I'm just a dumb doctor. This dumb doctor will be spending his money elsewhere.
- Daniel More, MD

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank ShotDoc for taking the time to share his experience with others. Since we get rave reviews for our service and many of our employees are often singled out for going above and beyond the call, we are a bit confused by this guest’s complaints. I have interviewed my staff regarding this guest and all I can say is that I am very sorry if he felt he was being somehow singled out. That was certainly not the intention of any of my staff. As our previous reviews and awards would indicate, we constantly strive to provide the very best in dedicated guest-first service. I certainly do not feel that the age of my staff has any bearing on their abilities. We do have a few new employees, all of whom are in the same age range as those who would have been on duty last year, and all of whom have satisfactorily completed the same training. I would agree that those who are interested in staying in a bustling big box hotel or resort like the Four Seasons with employees who stand at attention as you approach might not be a good match for our inn. We want ShotDoc to know that we appreciate his prior business and we wish him the very best in finding accommodations that better meet his unique criteria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    96
    27
    25
    18
See reviews for
29
537
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Charming little historic hotel. Most rooms have ocean views, although the hotel is on the inland side of Pacific Coast Highway. My wife and I spent a couple of nights here during fourth of July weekend. Room was small but very well appointed. The grounds are beautiful, with multiple levels and many secluded tables and chairs for a private cup of coffee or a nightcap. The included breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. We also had a very nice couples massage here. If you visit in the summer, the distance to town and the beach is alleviated by the free shuttle/trolley that runs every 15 minutes until 11pm and has stops right by the hotel.

Room Tip: Top level rooms all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are so pleased that this couple enjoyed their Casa Laguna getaway and we thank them for their kind words regarding our romantic property, award-winning breakfast, and relaxing spa services. We hope they will have the opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I decided to explore California for my first time ever over a long weekend, with my dog. It was, of all places I have every stayed anywhere, my favorite. This was due to many things, such as it being on the coast in the first place, and the location in Laguna Beach! (The view from my patio alone made it all worth it.) The room was cute and very small, but it had way more great little things than I expected. The cookies were a great touch! The inn and grounds were charming, the walk to the beach was short, breakfast was amazing, and everyone was very nice and helpful. I recommend this place, especially with the ocean-view patio!

Room Tip: Bring a picnic lunch and get a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Just because Casa Laguna was chosen as one of the top ten most romantic inns in the world doesn’t mean we are just for couples. A large number of solo travelers, like J6242013, find our inn to be the perfect place to relax, kick back, and enjoy some “me” time. We’re so glad this guest chose Casa Laguna for their holiday weekend getaway, and we want them to know how much we appreciate their patronage and the fact that they took the time to write this lovely review. We hope they will have the opportunity to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Casa Laguna was a great relaxing place to stay. For the most part, the youngsters on the staff were welcoming and helpful, the grounds were beautiful and relaxing and the surrounding area was amazing with beaches, tidepools, and great (but pricey) food nearby. Breakfast each morning was excellent, we tried almost everything on the menu and nothing failed to please. The room we had was on the small side with a closet and three small drawers below the desk for storage, but had a balcony with a view of the ocean which made a perfect start and end to every day. Our overall visit was positive and relaxing with the exception of little things like being reprimanded by the little lady up front for coming back from the beach with sandy water shoes and being charged for a water bottle which we did not open (we purposefully set the two unopened water bottles "for sale" in the room off to the side at the beginning of our trip, we obviously should have brought them up to the front desk).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are pleased that this couple had a relaxing and pleasant stay at our inn and were able to enjoy our beautiful grounds and highly acclaimed breakfast and amenities. We greatly appreciate that they took the time to share the details of their stay with others in a valued four-star review. After careful investigation, I have been unable to find any staff members who remember an incident regarding sandy shoes. We are known for our guest first customer service, and as a coastal hotel it is certainly not our policy to admonish guests for sandy shoes. It would be rare indeed if someone went to the beach and did not bring back some sand. I sincerely apologize to this couple for any distress they may have experienced due to a discussion of sandy shoes. I want to take this opportunity to explain to prospective guests about our water service. Each room is provided with fresh cold water in sanitized refillable glass bottles. These can be found in your refrigerator and are refilled at our reverse osmosis water station. Additionally, we sell metal sports bottles imprinted with our logo. These are enclosed in plastic bags sealed with a tie and tag stating the cost and explaining that all you have to do is open the bag and use the bottle and we will automatically charge the indicated cost to your credit card. Due to sanitation issues, we cannot resell bottles after the wrapping has been opened and thus these bottles are considered purchased and are charged accordingly. Again, we thank this couple for choosing our inn, and we apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during their stay. We hope they will return again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely private heaven in Laguna Beach. Expensive but you really get your money's worth. Food was excellent from the classy breakfast to the afternoon "snacks." Location was my only dislike. Long walk (1-2 miles) to downtown shops and restaurants. Also it is not within any easy walk to the beach. Rooms beautiful and perfect but small.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We want to express our sincere appreciation to SeaStarSeattle for taking the time to share their opinions with others in this greatly valued five-star review. Of course, we need to advise prospective guests that Casa Laguna’s pricing is competitive with similar accommodations throughout the Laguna Beach area, with the added value of the full gourmet breakfast and evening wine and hors d'œuvres mentioned by SeaStarSeattle, free parking, and no added resort fee. We are exactly 1.5 miles from downtown shops, restaurants, and festivals, and there is a free shuttle running all day, every day during the festival season. During the off season, Casa Laguna will cover the cost of a round trip on Laguna Transit so our guests can park-it-and-leave-it. Two excellent restaurants are just one block away. It appears we may have fallen short in our acclaimed guest service by not telling this couple about beautiful Victoria Beach, which is just a 10-minute walk along neighborhood streets (we’ve timed it). We are so glad this couple chose our little paradise for their Laguna Beach stay, and we hope they will have the opportunity for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our 2 week trip touring around California and wanted to find somewhere to relax for a few days after a busy first week. It is absolutely gorgeous location, the grounds are stunning and very much remind of us the Mediterranean! The pool area is very relaxing with music being piped out which almost (!!) blocks out the sound out PCH and the water and iced tea coolers are always kept topped up! The rooms are relatively bijou, but are gorgeous! The sheets are the comfiest we have ever slept in and the little welcome basket was a lovely touch. We went to beautiful Victoria beach one morning and the B&B loaned us beach chairs and an umbrella. The breakfasts were amazing, very unique twists on some Californian classics and it was so lovely to sit out in the courtyard garden to enjoy it. Unfortunately on our second morning it was drizzling a bit, but it gave us a chance to eat in the cozy mission by the fireplace! The wine and cheese 2 hours was lovely, really yummy cheeses and hor d'herves which we enjoyed up by the poolside. The only thing to be aware of with this B&B is that it us a bit out of town and not walking distance for lunch or dinner, but the staff will happily call you a taxi which is about $8/9. The staff were all really friendly and helpful! We would definitely recommend Casa Laguna for a relaxing break along this beautiful coastline!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Rachel H is not the first guest to compare our property to garden inns of the Mediterranean—even some who live in that region have mentioned the similarities. We are so pleased that this couple enjoyed their relaxing stay at our inn, and we cannot thank them enough for leaving this balanced and detailed review. We’re at a loss to understand why Rachel H was not aware that there are two superb restaurants just one block south of Casa Laguna—one of which is highly Zagat rated. And of course, the timing of this couple’s visit was just days before the fun, free, open-air trolleys started making their all-day runs from the inn to downtown and back, greatly reducing the need for taxis. We again thank this couple for their patronage and their kind recommendation. We hope to see them back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We just recently celebrated our 10 year anniversary at this charming little B&B. We only live about 30 min. away from Laguna but you don't have to travel very far to feel like you are on vacation! We booked the deluxe ocean view room and we were not disappointed! Yes, the room was on the small side but what it lacked is size it made up in charm. I loved the french doors that opened to the bathroom. The jacuzzi tub was heavenly and the bed was very comfy. The view was spectacular and we enjoyed watching the sunset from our room with the window and door wide open:) The gourmet breakfast was delicious! I was surprised at the selection on the menu and both of us loved what we ordered. The outdoor courtyard where we ate our breakfast was beautiful with a serene ambiance. We spent a few hours at the pool which was nicely maintained, beautifully lined with flowers, and offered an unexpected view of the ocean. Overall we had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. The only negative would be the noise from PCH but really there is nothing you can do about it. The place was so beautiful and well done that it was easy to overlook the road noise. We would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Casa Laguna is proud to be recognized by locals like Tracy V as the perfect nearby destination for staycations and weekend getaways. We are so pleased that this couple chose our inn for their getaway, and we cannot thank them enough for letting others know how much they enjoyed their stay through their wonderful descriptions and photographs. We hope they, like so many other locals, will make our inn a regular destination for relaxation and rejuvenation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.