We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Clean and Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call us! We have rooms!
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, Clean and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my wife back in February 2012. It rained most of the time we were there, but that made it a little more cozy - we borrowed casablanca from their DVD collection and watched it in our room. Take full advantage of their breakfasts, the food was very good, and their wine and cheese spreads at night were good as well. My wife and I enjoyed a couples massage and an hour in their hot tub that over looks the grounds and the ocean. Overall I had an excellent stay good food, clean, friendly staff. I gave it a 4 out 5 only because of the price and the room we had was a little small for my taste - it was a bit expensive but it definitely provided a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We’re so glad Lance B took time to visit TripAdvisor and let others know how much they enjoyed their 2012 stay at our inn. It appears they had the opportunity to take advantage of many of the myriad features and amenities that Casa Laguna had to offer. We do need to let prospective guests know that our pricing is competitive with other quality accommodations in Laguna Beach, with the added value of our included gourmet breakfast chosen from a menu of entrees, our evening wine service, free parking, and no resort fee of any kind. We thank this couple for choosing Casa Laguna for their 2012 stay, and we hope they have the opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    101
    29
    25
    18
See reviews for
30
561
31
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a lovely little boutique hotel, with some nice little touches to make your stay memorable. On arrival we were met at reception and given a tour of the hotel and taken to our room.

The rooms are great - they aren't huge - but have been thoughtfully designed for what you need. A welcome basket with some home made cookies and delicious fruit welcomes you. The bed is very comfortable, and the bathroom clean with a fantastic shower.

There is a pool, which looked really inviting - especially lit up in the evening. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great, and we were tight on time, so we didn't get to try this or the spa facilities.

In the early evening there is complimentary cheese and wine in the main house - and in the morning a gourmet breakfast - which really was the best possible start to the day! You can sit outside on their beautiful patio.

The inn is about a 5 minute drive from the centre of Laguna with all the restaurants.

Go here for a relaxing break, great food, lovely accommodation and to be well looked after by attentive staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so glad HolidaySpeak1 chose our inn for their Laguna Beach stay, and we greatly appreciate that they took the time to let others know how much they enjoyed their visit. We hope this couple will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well, we just love those boutique hotels and Casa Laguna delivers much of what we were looking for. I am really unclear about all those people who said there is 'excessive road noise' from the PCH, because in our room, even with the a/C off, I couldn't hear a thing. Perhaps I am deaf, but it's certainly not the maddening roar some people report. With the a/c on in the evening, I slept like a baby.

Well, anyway, you want to hear about the hotel. It's a charming cottage inn. That being said, i'm kind of more an aficionado of more modern-style furniture, but CL has really interesting period furnishings with a Spanish mediterranean flair. Everything is well-kept up, especially considering the vintage of this inn. Beautiful common areas, every area is photograph-worthy.
Exceptional staff. We had a sort of flukey outlet in the bathroom and asked if someone could take a look at it; they arranged someone to come when we were out and of course phoned first to be sure it was a good time for us. No problems after that. Front desk also arranged taxi service for dinner (it was a Sunday night and the shuttle was not running), no problems. Very friendly, accommodating staff.
Other notable positives:
-comfortable bed, a little plushy (I like firm, but this is preference)
-nice heated pool (I didn't read the website well enough and forgot my swimsuit! darn!)
-fantastic staff (noted above)
-reasonable rates
-wonderful afternoon cheese/wine/hors'd'oeuvres. Really great wine selection (loved their Sauvingnon Blanc; if the management replies, can I get the name?)
-Breakfast very good. Loved the sauteed vegetables in lieu of potatoes option.

Some potential drawbacks:
-Wish they had a parking place for you when you first checked in or an easy spot for "parking for check-in only". We didn't have a problem finding a space, but they don't have exactly the number of spaces for rooms so there is a potential of not finding one. On check in-, it's nice to have a close space to take your luggage from. An example of this was Hotel Parisi in LaJolla; they had a 'numbered' space with our name on it. A really nice touch. Perhaps Casa Laguna could try this on check-in.
-Other issues with parking; it's a bit tight. You can do it fine, but I suggest you back in so getting out is easier. You also rely on the 'honor' of other folks staying to park in the NIGHT PLACES ONLY AT NIGHT. We generally are the first out, last in, though.
-Walking to town is possible, but it really is a long walk. Take it from us, we're walkers. It's certainly doable, but by the time you get to the first group of shops, you still have a long way to go to make it to the end. We think it's probably best to drive to downtown Laguna and then walk. I was hoping to walk to dinner, but in heels it's not really feasible. This is accurately represented on the map, so read the distances.
--Rooms pretty small. I know they tell you the square footage but for me 250 sq. feet turned out to be too small. I'll note this and book a bigger room next time. I think for us it was pretty tiny, but accurately represented on the website.
--Victoria beach is sort of difficult to get to, albeit close in distance. What we did, was walk up into the neighborhood, and then cross PCH at the cross-walk. You then walk into another neighborhood where there is a (nearly hidden!) set of steps to the beach. I think the neighborhood does this on purpose to discourage foot traffic through their neighborhood. Regardless, we found it. Note you have to cross PCH and I HIGHLY recommend you use the cross-walks or you are taking your life in your hands.


Anyway, all in all a charming hotel. Hope this helps some people who tend to be independent travelers like us.

Room Tip: Loved rooms facing the ocean. Can see above beautifully landscaped grounds to Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We want Westmount to know how glad we are that they chose Casa Laguna for their Laguna Beach stay, and we appreciate their comprehensive review of our property. We serve a variety of wines, which can change from night to night, but it’s a good guess that the wine Westmount loved and is inquiring about was Mirassou Sauvignon Blanc. Casa Laguna’s award winning service and dedicated staff get lots of kudos, and we appreciate Westmount’s kind compliments in that regard. Unfortunately, it seems we may have fallen short in providing these guests with thorough information about the inn and surrounds. We do, in fact, have a check-in parking space (White Zone) on Pacific Coast Highway just outside our reception area door. No guest should ever have to carry their luggage to their room. Our front desk staff is trained to ask if you need help with your luggage and provide that assistance if needed. Our cloud-like beds get their cushiness from a feather topper, which we simply remove for those who prefer a firmer surface. Two fabulous and diverse restaurants are within 1-block walking distance—while it is true that high heels would probably not be appropriate for the walk. Our front desk staff should have provided Westmount with printed directions for the 10-minute walk to Victoria Beach via the PCH underpass, and we sincerely apologize that this couple had to make an unnecessary crossing of the highway. The staff has undergone retraining in regard to the above to assure the ongoing service consistency we are know for. We are so glad that this couple enjoyed their stay with us, and we hope they will have the opportunity to do so again in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in the Select Registry and this was delightful.
Very pretty with lots of nice features. The staff are superb and all very friendly and helpful.
We had a top floor ocean facing room which I thought could have been noisy but it wasn't.
The complementary appetisers and wine were excellent and very welcome.
Breakfast was beautiful cooked and presented. The hotel is on several levels and is not suitable for people with mobility problems and if you are looking for all rthe facilities of a modern hotel it is not for you, however if you are looking for something interesting, comfortable with great food and great staff you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room at the top was up one flight of stairs which was enough to carry suitcases, although the st...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel takes this very seriously. There are notices and information in evidence.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Casa Laguna is proud of the fact that UK visitors represent the second largest number of foreign guests at our inn—second only to our Canadian neighbors. We are so pleased that this couple included a stay at our inn as part of their US visit, and we cannot thank EdithWales enough for taking the time to let others know how much they enjoyed her stay. We hope that this couple will return soon to become a member of our every growing family of European regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fantastic place to visit. Casa Laguna does everything right. I loved this place. From the moment you check in (the receptionist walked us to the room, showing us points of interest along the way, drinks bar, pool, garden area, breakfast area etc. etc. The staff were very friendly, everyone of them which was amazing. I kept waiting for someone to be a little off, never happened. The breakfast each morning was amazing. It wasn't just the run of the mill muffins and cearel. It was cooked to order and you had a choice of 5 entree's every day. Wine and cheese every night. But not just cheese, fruit, nuts, olives ................ Casa Laguna not only takes care of the big things but also the little things, it all added up to a wonder 4 day stay...........

Room Tip: Upper level had a wonderful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so pleased that Sharon T appreciated the dedicated guest-first service that helped to make Casa Laguna one of the top 25 small hotels in the United States. It’s great to hear that our staff not only met this couple’s expectations, but exceeded them. We hope that Sharon T will make Casa Laguna a regular staycation getaway, and join our ever-growing family of returning Orange County “locals.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a find this place. Such a beautiful little retreat. The staff was very friendly. This place is very cozy and comfortable, with a home away from home feel to it. We stayed on the top rooms with the Ocean View, and it was perfect. I suspect the rooms toward the front of the property can hear a lot of traffic noise from the Highway, but up top it was never an issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Casa Laguna is proud to have a large following of guests from around the world, but we especially appreciate the increasing number of Southern Californians like OriginalRingo who have discovered that our inn and our beach village are the perfect place for a nearby romantic and/or relaxing getaway. We thank OriginalRingo for this kind review, and we hope this couple will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the staff. They have captured the spirit of the hotel and give the guests the sense of attention with a well balance for the privacy needed to relax and unwind. The breakfast and wine afternoon are very good gourmet dishes!! You can walk to Virginia beach, and from there to the Treasure Island gardens and beach, it is wonderful!! Also, at walking distance, you can enjoy an spectacular sunset views at Moss Street beach; it is a must!! Yes it is a romantic place with many feature like a nice view from the rooms veranda, few quite spots to relax, a nice heated pool, large jacuzzi and artificial fireplace in the room. As many parts of Laguna, and may be in the Californian coast the noise from the highway is a problem. At the night it was much better, and did not prevent me to sleep, but that is an issue for the public space. On the same note, the sound isolation between rooms are not perfect, and you can hear the other guests and the noisy from the artificial fireplace in your room and the neigborhood.

Room Tip: The ocean view room is the best option, and worth the price difference!!
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice any special emphasis on this area
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so happy this couple chose Casa Laguna for their getaway, and we greatly appreciate darwinsail taking the time to share their Casa Laguna experience with others. We love that these guests took full advantage of our nearby beaches and beautiful sunsets. Because we are situated in an upscale residential neighborhood, we almost never get complaints about neighborhood noise—and our ambiance fireplaces are certainly not supposed to be noisy. It is likely we could have remedied both of those issues had we been immediately informed. We encourage our guests to always bring even the most minor complaint to our attention, night or day, and we will do everything we can to solve the problem before it becomes an issue. Again, we cannot thank this couple enough for their patronage and kind review, and we hope they will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.