We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classy Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband surprised me by taking me to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa for our 20th anniversary in 2012. From the moment we entered this hidden gem, I was overtaken with awe by the beauty of the grounds and privately appointed rooms. Though it's located right off PCH, it is extremely quiet and relaxing. The breakfasts are made to order and the selection is impressive. We really enjoyed the wine, cheese & hors d'oeuvres that are served nightly. The pool area is super relaxing with comfortable loungers and plenty of umbrellas. I never sleep well in hotels, especially the first night away, but I had the most peaceful and relaxing rest throughout our stay.

The staff are incredibly accommodating and helpful. We also learned that we were within walking distance to Victoria Beach, where there is an historic lighthouse that is worth the visit during low tide! I am looking forward to visiting this venue again this summer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We greatly appreciate Runner62_11 taking the time to share the details of their Casa Laguna experience, and we want to thank them so much for choosing our inn for their special anniversary getaway. With our garden terraces and expansive ocean views, Casa Laguna is the perfect getaway for couples like this who want to kick-back, relax, and let us spoil them with award-winning food and superb service. We hope that, like many locals, they will make Casa Laguna their yearly anniversary retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    91
    26
    25
    17
See reviews for
26
513
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Casa Lagna Inn for my husband's birthday. It was the perfect weekend getaway. The rooms are small but comfortable. The breakfast was the best! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so glad we were able to make this couple's special getaway a perfect one. We greatly appreciate their kind compliments and gracious recommendation. The management and staff of Casa Laguna hope to once again spoil them with beautiful surroundings, dedicated guest-first service, and award winning food in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I imagine this beautiful old property in the 30's, 40' 50' and 60's, as the California coast between San Diego and Los Angeles was still an adventure of sea, wilderness and seclusion. Back then, the Casa Laguna must have been a singular jewel by the ocean.

Today, the PCH at the front entrance is inundated with rushing traffic, which takes away much of the calm and quiet which once was a feature of this fine hotel. However, the management and staff of Casa Laguna have decided that even amid the bustle of today's coastal lifestyle, a bygone era of high service standards, quality accommodations and memorable meals are worth maintaining.

There is an aura of specialness to this unique bed and breakfast. Even though the prices are high, when you factor in the welcoming wine and cheese evenings and delightful included breakfast on the patio and free parking, you feel like you are getting your money's worth.

I have come to expect second rate service standards and corner-cutting details at almost every hotel I stay at these days except for the Four Seasons. Let it be said that the Casa Laguna is an exception to this. A very capable and sure handed staff welcomes you with sincerity, and the rooms are cared for with attention to comfort and quality.

Casa Laguna is all about real charm, a rare commodity these days on the California Coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
The staff and management of Casa Laguna were so thrilled to read andrtsao’s wonderfully complimentary review of our beautiful property, dedicated guest-first service, and award winning food. It’s clear that our inn was the perfect match for this seasoned traveler, and we cannot thank him enough for his patronage and his praise. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome this couple back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an amazing bed and breakfast, perfect for a couples weekend! Everything about the property exudes romance: the lush grounds; the view of the ocean and sunset; the ambience inside the room; the romantic breakfast that accompanies the room; every little detail has been thought of. The beverage bar is another plus to have throughout the day-especially for days when lounging by the pool! The only downfall of the property is the abundant amount of traffic noise coming from nearby PCH. The noise shouldn't deter you from staying here though-you can't hear the noise from the room- only while poolside or lounging somewhere on the grounds. Otherwise, an absolutely breathtaking property!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are smaller, but a little further away from the Pacific Coast Highway traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so pleased that this couple was able to take advantage of all our inn has to offer, and we greatly appreciate that they shared the details of their experience with others. As mentioned in previous reviews, our inn sits conveniently on historic Pacific Coast Highway, along with a myriad of shops, restaurants, and multi-million dollar homes, all of which are within earshot of the drone of vehicles making their way along the beautiful Pacific Coast. As others have said, unless you are particularly sensitive to ambient sounds, this hum soon becomes background “white noise” and does not detract from the enjoyment of Casa Laguna’s lush gardens, sunny patios, and ocean view terraces. We again thank Erik K for his patronage and kind compliments, and we hope to see this couple back at our inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my second time to stay at the Casa Laguna Inn and Spa. It is so wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast is superb, the room is romantic and cozy. Both rooms I've stayed in have been wonderful. Some rooms have views of the oceans and some step out onto the courtyard. Either way you can't go wrong. The only downside is that the beds are super cushy and I prefer a firmer mattress but that is just a personal preference. The location is really good with easy access to several great beaches. The service and attentiveness of the staff was great too. My husband and I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We want to thank this couple for their loyalty and continued patronage. It’s clear they find our romantic grounds and amenities the perfect match for their taste. We want to remind them and prospective guests that our cloud-like beds are created with plush toppers. Simply advise us that you prefer a firmer bed and we’ll remove the topper, but leave behind our luxurious luscious linens that everyone raves about. And by the time this couple returns, we expect to have a whole new line of custom-made designer mattresses in place. We look forward to spoiling them again with our award-winning romantic ambiance, superb service, and highly-acclaimed food in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent two nights at Casa Laguna and must say it is quiet a getaway. The hotel was fully booked but the property never felt crowded and the staff never seemed stressed. As other reviewers have mentioned the grounds and landscaping are incredible. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room immaculate. I opted to stay in an ocean view room towards the back of the property - mainly to get a view of the ocean over the other buildings and also to avoid the street noise. The hotel does sit adjacent to the Coast Highway - so when you are outside or at the front of the property you will hear car traffic most of the day. The pool area is so peaceful. And finally, the afternoon reception is incredible - and the breakfast is worthy of an upscale restaurant.

The staff at the Casa Laguna deserves praise. During the second day of my visit, I must have eaten something (NOT at the hotel, but out and about) and that night I had some stomach problems. The hotel brought Pepto Bismol tablets to my room and offered items not on the breakfast menu that were milder to my stomach. I thought that was a nice touch.

The hotel is about 1.5 miles from town. So it's not at the center of the action in the town. But .... that's not necessarily a bad thing.

I think the next time I go back - I'll try another room as there are many options for room styles and sizes.

Oh - Be warned -- this hotel has lots of stairs and really isn't designed for the handicapped or people who have difficulty climbing stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Sure, Casa Laguna is known as a romantic getaway for couples, but we always love hearing from one of our many solo travelers who find our property the perfect place to just relax and unwind in beautiful surroundings and enjoy award-winning service and food. We want to thank GareThere for his patronage and for taking the time to write this wonderful review accompanied by fabulous photographs. We are so glad we were able to make his getaway an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We usually don't stay at B&B's but went with the top rating from Trip Advisor and we were thrilled we did it. This was a relaxing quiet place. We spent a little more for the Laguna suite and we agreed with past reviewers it was great to have a small sitting area. The pool was small but perfect for lounging and lots of lounge chairs. Even though we had a room right in front of PCH I can honestly say it didn't bother us noise wise. The breakfast was phenomal. Above all the staff was extremely attentive and friendly. We walked into town and also liked how easy it was to walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Suggest a suite with a seating area for a little more room. The laguna suite had a small balcony whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We know that walking 1.5 miles from our inn to downtown Laguna is not for everyone, but we’re always happy to hear that one of our guests took that casual stroll through Laguna’s beautiful neighborhoods. We also appreciate LADuckFan’s mention that they were not bothered by the occasional background sounds from historic Pacific Coast Highway. As many of our prior guests have said, for most people it just becomes white noise and does not detract from the enjoyment of our lush grounds and ocean view terraces. We cannot thank this couple enough for choosing our inn for their special getaway, and for letting others know how much they enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna
Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.