We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn which we would return to in a heartbeat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call us! We have rooms!
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming inn which we would return to in a heartbeat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is our second visit to Casa Laguna. It is a perfectly charming inn. Rooms on the small side, but very well appointed - comfy beds, good cross ventilation, good tv, good dog dishes and treats, nice bath products. The grounds are lovely and my husband claimed his eggs Benedicte was the best he'd ever eaten!!

Yes, some road noise, but we slept with the windows open and had no problem. Excellent service and good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We greatly appreciate Nashville Gill’s patronage and continued loyalty and we cannot thank this couple enough for taking the time to let others know how much they enjoyed their recent stay at Casa Laguna. We look forward to their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    96
    27
    25
    18
See reviews for
29
540
32
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I searched for a few weeks for a nice romantic hotel in the Newport/Laguna area to spend a couple nights with my wife and finally settled on Casa Laguna based on the reviews.

We were not disappointed.

Its always a little scary to book a trip to a place you've never seen with your own eyes but the testimonies on various websites convinced me it was worth the money.

I'll admit the very first thing that attracted me to this inn was their website. So many other hotels had really crappy sites - their site was attractive, well organized and had prices and nice pictures of the rooms. Well done Casa Laguna Inn.

We stayed in a deluxe garden room - number 22. I wanted to make sure that we had a bathtub and I wasn't too concerned with not having an ocean view. I was concerned that being so close to the highway it might be noisy but that wasn't the case. Once you enter onto the grounds of the inn you really feel like you have been transported out of the busy city.

The room was very clean, bed was comfortable and there were little personal touches like the gift basket with our name on it.

When we wanted to go to the beach they had an umbrella and beach chairs for us to use. There is a nice beach with parking just a short drive away.

They serve horderves and wine every evening which was a fun treat and the breakfast in the morning was amazing. I had steak and eggs both mornings and I don't think I've had a better steak and eggs meal.

If you are looking for a getaway with your wife for a great price I can't recommend Casa Laguna any higher.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are so pleased that Josh B and his wife chose our inn for their romantic getaway, and we cannot thank them enough for their exceptional comprehensive review and gracious recommendation. The superbly done photos are delicious icing on the cake. We hope this couple will have the opportunity to visit us again in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed three nights. Here's the bad:
Welcome was non-existent. Nick: Curt, aloof, detached young man at the desk.
Nick not willing to help with our "spa package". Said he would follow thru but never did. It wasn't until the next morning that we resolved the issue with a female at the desk.
Small rooms, in need of updating and a real 'decorators' touch.
2 waters, 2 oranges and 2 cookies in basket upon arrival. Not replenished. For $300. per night, it is simple pleasures and details that make a difference.
Really loud traffic from PCH.
"Balcony" is not one. It is a pathway thru to all the rooms with a bench. No privacy.
Breakfast ends at 10:00. 11:00 is better for people who are on vacation and wanting to 'relax'.
Parking can be challenging.
Here's the good:
Exceptional two hour cocktail time. Good choice of wines, delicious appetizers, different every night.
Zack....a staff member was exceptional and helpful. Smiled, good conversationalist and it showed he loved his job. He has only worked there for one week.
Beautiful and lush grounds, lovely pool area, simple, small, but nice spa.
Good breakfast but certainly not gourmet. Chef could be much more creative.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, you must be on the second floor. You will be looking over roof tops be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Even though it is clear that Casa Laguna was not a good fit for this couple, we appreciate Lynne L taking the time to share her opinions. When we see a review with these types of criticisms that is totally out of line with our typical reviews, we know that the guest would have been better suited to a beachfront big-box resort with a bellman and an expansive room with matching laminated contemporary furniture. As anyone can tell from reading a few of our 412 5-star reviews, that’s not Casa Laguna.

Responding to the Cons in order: All of our guests receive a warm welcome followed by a personal tour of the property as they are escorted to their room. Nick has been a Guest Service Associate with us for many years and is well-versed in Casa Laguna’s acclaimed guest-first service concept. We have never seen him be anything other than friendly, polite, and responsive to guest’s needs. The spa issue occurred because the guest did not ask for a particular online special package in advance, a requirement that is clearly stated in the package description. As is the standard of our industry, these specials and packages are intended to incentivize guests to book with us, and it would be counterproductive to apply this special package pricing to everyone who requests it after arrival. This guest became angry and confrontational when Nick stood his ground on the issue, which we would presume to be the cause for their criticisms of him.

Each arriving guest receives a “welcome basket” containing fruit, cookies, and water. Water and fruit are replaced each day during linen service. There would, of course, be no such replacement on the final day prior to checkout. However, in any case, the guest need only call the front desk to request any of those items (within reason) and they would be delivered post-haste.

Regarding room size/décor, the balcony, and our sprawling ocean views, I would refer the reader to our recent prior reviews and to the photos on our website. We do not represent that we have private balconies, and guests rave about our Catalina sunset views.

We serve our full gourmet breakfast for three hours each morning—7am to 10am. Since 11am is check-out time, and since guests who are not checking out are usually heading out by 11am to enjoy their day, we do not see the need to extend breakfast service. Casa Laguna’s chef and breakfast was recently praised in a NY Times article and a well-known NYC restaurateur requested one of her recipes so that he can serve it in his new restaurant. We think that answers any questions about her level of gourmet creativity.

We are so sorry that our inn was not a good fit for this couple, and we once again encourage all travelers to carefully research prospective hotels by taking time to study their website (including policies and restrictions) and read a number of their reviews before booking accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just as my husband and I were thinking of spending one night of our Southern California trip in Laguna Beach, we read an article in the New York Times Travel Section about the town and about Casa Laguna in particular. We were not disappointed in either. Casa Laguna Inn provides a magnificent setting for a romantic getaway. Set on terraces on the hill opposite the ocean, the grounds are pictureque and the views are magnificent. Our room had an ocean view and a fireplace. Though small, the room is beautifully appointed and well thought out with all the amenities that one might need. A welcome basket with fruit, cookies and water are a nice touch. In the evening we enjoyed the wine and appetizers as we watched the magnificent pacific sunset from a number of lovely spots on the property. Breakfast alone is worth the price of the room. With a large selection of breakfast entrees to choose from, it was hard to settle on just one - and everything was fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and accommodating - the setting is quiet and romantic. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We’re so pleased that dianeandstuart discovered us in the NY Times article and chose Casa Laguna for their romantic West Coast getaway. It’s clear that our inn was the perfect match for this couple, and we appreciate their kind words about our beautiful ocean-view setting, myriad amenities, acclaimed gourmet breakfast, and dedicated guest-first service. We welcome them to the Casa Laguna family, and we look forward to their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband I stayed here for our anniversary. We absolutely loved this B&B. The room was very nice with a nice view from the patio, fireplace, and huge tub. The breakfast was amazing and the wine and apps in the evening were very good. We had a couples massage and soak in the outdoor soak tub with champagne which was really relaxing and the massage therapists were great. We will definitely be returning. Some reviews said the rooms were too small which I disagree with, they are small but feel cozy and appropriate for a B&B. Also, the parking is not a big deal we had no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
This couple was obviously a perfect fit for Casa Laguna, and we appreciate their comment that room size and parking was not a problem for them. As we’ve mentioned before, we have a wide variety of room types and sizes, but many of our guests find the smaller “artist” rooms to be a perfect cozy refuge during a romantic getaway—especially Deluxe rooms with the jetted spa tub built for two that Rae B mentioned. We’re so pleased that Rae B and her husband took advantage of a relaxing massage and our soothing therapeutic soak tub with its beautiful view of the blue Pacific. And of course, everyone loves our acclaimed breakfast and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, both provided at no additional cost. Casa Laguna’s management and staff are so glad this couple chose our inn for their anniversary getaway, and we look forward to spoiling them with unique extras and dedicated guest-first service for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed twice. Both times we could not ask for anything more, perfect location with an amazing ocean view, the ultimate couples message and breakfast each moring as if you had stepped into a 5 star resturant. This place will always be on the list as a great weekend spot to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
JIMDAWG13 chose our favorite title for his review. We admit that we might occasionally fall a little short of perfection, but it’s always what we strive for, and we love it when our guests let us know that we managed to make their experience the best it could be. We want this couple to know that the staff and management of Casa Laguna appreciate their loyalty and we hope they will let us spoil them for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Laguna for one night as a quick getaway to celebrate our birthdays. It was everything that we were hoping for and more. We loved the historic feel of the inn. The views could not be beat. The service was great. We indulged in a couples massage and soak in the private hot tub during sunset. Boy, could it get any better than that? We found Laguna Beach to be a charming town and would highly recommend Casa Laguna to any other couples out there looking for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We’re so glad that crazyinluv and her husband chose Casa Laguna for their celebration getaway, and we appreciate her mention of our popular and romantic Couples Massage with Therapeutic Sunset Soak. We thank this couple for their kind recommendation, and we promise we’ll save a glorious Laguna Beach sunset or two for their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B and Agoda so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;