We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Couples Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Laguna Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Des Moines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Couples Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I searched for a few weeks for a nice romantic hotel in the Newport/Laguna area to spend a couple nights with my wife and finally settled on Casa Laguna based on the reviews.

We were not disappointed.

Its always a little scary to book a trip to a place you've never seen with your own eyes but the testimonies on various websites convinced me it was worth the money.

I'll admit the very first thing that attracted me to this inn was their website. So many other hotels had really crappy sites - their site was attractive, well organized and had prices and nice pictures of the rooms. Well done Casa Laguna Inn.

We stayed in a deluxe garden room - number 22. I wanted to make sure that we had a bathtub and I wasn't too concerned with not having an ocean view. I was concerned that being so close to the highway it might be noisy but that wasn't the case. Once you enter onto the grounds of the inn you really feel like you have been transported out of the busy city.

The room was very clean, bed was comfortable and there were little personal touches like the gift basket with our name on it.

When we wanted to go to the beach they had an umbrella and beach chairs for us to use. There is a nice beach with parking just a short drive away.

They serve horderves and wine every evening which was a fun treat and the breakfast in the morning was amazing. I had steak and eggs both mornings and I don't think I've had a better steak and eggs meal.

If you are looking for a getaway with your wife for a great price I can't recommend Casa Laguna any higher.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are so pleased that Josh B and his wife chose our inn for their romantic getaway, and we cannot thank them enough for their exceptional comprehensive review and gracious recommendation. The superbly done photos are delicious icing on the cake. We hope this couple will have the opportunity to visit us again in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    106
    30
    26
    19
See reviews for
31
580
31
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed three nights. Here's the bad:
Welcome was non-existent. Nick: Curt, aloof, detached young man at the desk.
Nick not willing to help with our "spa package". Said he would follow thru but never did. It wasn't until the next morning that we resolved the issue with a female at the desk.
Small rooms, in need of updating and a real 'decorators' touch.
2 waters, 2 oranges and 2 cookies in basket upon arrival. Not replenished. For $300. per night, it is simple pleasures and details that make a difference.
Really loud traffic from PCH.
"Balcony" is not one. It is a pathway thru to all the rooms with a bench. No privacy.
Breakfast ends at 10:00. 11:00 is better for people who are on vacation and wanting to 'relax'.
Parking can be challenging.
Here's the good:
Exceptional two hour cocktail time. Good choice of wines, delicious appetizers, different every night.
Zack....a staff member was exceptional and helpful. Smiled, good conversationalist and it showed he loved his job. He has only worked there for one week.
Beautiful and lush grounds, lovely pool area, simple, small, but nice spa.
Good breakfast but certainly not gourmet. Chef could be much more creative.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, you must be on the second floor. You will be looking over roof tops be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Even though it is clear that Casa Laguna was not a good fit for this couple, we appreciate Lynne L taking the time to share her opinions. When we see a review with these types of criticisms that is totally out of line with our typical reviews, we know that the guest would have been better suited to a beachfront big-box resort with a bellman and an expansive room with matching laminated contemporary furniture. As anyone can tell from reading a few of our 412 5-star reviews, that’s not Casa Laguna.

Responding to the Cons in order: All of our guests receive a warm welcome followed by a personal tour of the property as they are escorted to their room. Nick has been a Guest Service Associate with us for many years and is well-versed in Casa Laguna’s acclaimed guest-first service concept. We have never seen him be anything other than friendly, polite, and responsive to guest’s needs. The spa issue occurred because the guest did not ask for a particular online special package in advance, a requirement that is clearly stated in the package description. As is the standard of our industry, these specials and packages are intended to incentivize guests to book with us, and it would be counterproductive to apply this special package pricing to everyone who requests it after arrival. This guest became angry and confrontational when Nick stood his ground on the issue, which we would presume to be the cause for their criticisms of him.

Each arriving guest receives a “welcome basket” containing fruit, cookies, and water. Water and fruit are replaced each day during linen service. There would, of course, be no such replacement on the final day prior to checkout. However, in any case, the guest need only call the front desk to request any of those items (within reason) and they would be delivered post-haste.

Regarding room size/décor, the balcony, and our sprawling ocean views, I would refer the reader to our recent prior reviews and to the photos on our website. We do not represent that we have private balconies, and guests rave about our Catalina sunset views.

We serve our full gourmet breakfast for three hours each morning—7am to 10am. Since 11am is check-out time, and since guests who are not checking out are usually heading out by 11am to enjoy their day, we do not see the need to extend breakfast service. Casa Laguna’s chef and breakfast was recently praised in a NY Times article and a well-known NYC restaurateur requested one of her recipes so that he can serve it in his new restaurant. We think that answers any questions about her level of gourmet creativity.

We are so sorry that our inn was not a good fit for this couple, and we once again encourage all travelers to carefully research prospective hotels by taking time to study their website (including policies and restrictions) and read a number of their reviews before booking accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just as my husband and I were thinking of spending one night of our Southern California trip in Laguna Beach, we read an article in the New York Times Travel Section about the town and about Casa Laguna in particular. We were not disappointed in either. Casa Laguna Inn provides a magnificent setting for a romantic getaway. Set on terraces on the hill opposite the ocean, the grounds are pictureque and the views are magnificent. Our room had an ocean view and a fireplace. Though small, the room is beautifully appointed and well thought out with all the amenities that one might need. A welcome basket with fruit, cookies and water are a nice touch. In the evening we enjoyed the wine and appetizers as we watched the magnificent pacific sunset from a number of lovely spots on the property. Breakfast alone is worth the price of the room. With a large selection of breakfast entrees to choose from, it was hard to settle on just one - and everything was fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and accommodating - the setting is quiet and romantic. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We’re so pleased that dianeandstuart discovered us in the NY Times article and chose Casa Laguna for their romantic West Coast getaway. It’s clear that our inn was the perfect match for this couple, and we appreciate their kind words about our beautiful ocean-view setting, myriad amenities, acclaimed gourmet breakfast, and dedicated guest-first service. We welcome them to the Casa Laguna family, and we look forward to their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband I stayed here for our anniversary. We absolutely loved this B&B. The room was very nice with a nice view from the patio, fireplace, and huge tub. The breakfast was amazing and the wine and apps in the evening were very good. We had a couples massage and soak in the outdoor soak tub with champagne which was really relaxing and the massage therapists were great. We will definitely be returning. Some reviews said the rooms were too small which I disagree with, they are small but feel cozy and appropriate for a B&B. Also, the parking is not a big deal we had no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
This couple was obviously a perfect fit for Casa Laguna, and we appreciate their comment that room size and parking was not a problem for them. As we’ve mentioned before, we have a wide variety of room types and sizes, but many of our guests find the smaller “artist” rooms to be a perfect cozy refuge during a romantic getaway—especially Deluxe rooms with the jetted spa tub built for two that Rae B mentioned. We’re so pleased that Rae B and her husband took advantage of a relaxing massage and our soothing therapeutic soak tub with its beautiful view of the blue Pacific. And of course, everyone loves our acclaimed breakfast and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, both provided at no additional cost. Casa Laguna’s management and staff are so glad this couple chose our inn for their anniversary getaway, and we look forward to spoiling them with unique extras and dedicated guest-first service for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed twice. Both times we could not ask for anything more, perfect location with an amazing ocean view, the ultimate couples message and breakfast each moring as if you had stepped into a 5 star resturant. This place will always be on the list as a great weekend spot to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
JIMDAWG13 chose our favorite title for his review. We admit that we might occasionally fall a little short of perfection, but it’s always what we strive for, and we love it when our guests let us know that we managed to make their experience the best it could be. We want this couple to know that the staff and management of Casa Laguna appreciate their loyalty and we hope they will let us spoil them for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Laguna for one night as a quick getaway to celebrate our birthdays. It was everything that we were hoping for and more. We loved the historic feel of the inn. The views could not be beat. The service was great. We indulged in a couples massage and soak in the private hot tub during sunset. Boy, could it get any better than that? We found Laguna Beach to be a charming town and would highly recommend Casa Laguna to any other couples out there looking for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We’re so glad that crazyinluv and her husband chose Casa Laguna for their celebration getaway, and we appreciate her mention of our popular and romantic Couples Massage with Therapeutic Sunset Soak. We thank this couple for their kind recommendation, and we promise we’ll save a glorious Laguna Beach sunset or two for their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend at Casa Laguna based on the reviews and was not disappointed.
Booked one of the rooms with the private patio and water views.
Rooms: really pretty cottage style decoration, immaculately clean, comfortable bed, good sized fridge, welcome basket with cookies, bottled water replenished each day, patio with water views, spa bath was fabulous, bedding was so soft I ended up buying a set to take home with me!
Pool: great pool with beautiful views, nice loungers to spend a day doing nothing but relaxing, towels seemed to run out each day, but staff were quick to get more when asked.
Noise: located right on the main road and there was a hum from that, but even in one of the side rooms with a patio overlooking the road it wasn't that loud.
Breakfast: worth it for these alone - they were amazing! So many fabulous choices to work your way through, great side dishes, favourite was the baked eggs with chorizo. You're asked to book a time, but as a single traveller any time I didn't do that they always managed to fit me in.
Evening drinks: good selection of wine available every evening, nibbles were really tasty but needed replenished more often when I was there (it was pretty busy each night).
Lunch: I got a boxed lunch one day and it was amazing - recommend if you want a day lounging by the pool.
Parking: tight fit for the larger US cars, but I always managed to get a space...you need to be good at reverse parking though and not afraid of very tight spaces!
Overall: lovely place to spend a few days relaxing. the grounds are immaculately maintained and there's lots of little nooks to go and sit and watch the sunset or just look out over the ocean. Felt very comfortable staying here as a single traveller - staff were unassuming but helpful. A great place for couples as the setting is really romantic. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The private patio rooms were lovely - nice to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine watching the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Casa Laguna has a significant Aussie following and we find that, like Wallaki, they’re almost always a perfect fit for our laid-back relaxing atmosphere with friendly service, great food, and myriad amenities. We cannot thank Wallaki enough for his fair and balanced review, and we hope that he will have the opportunity to return to California, Laguna Beach, and Casa Laguna in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Laguna Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Inn & Spa

Address: 2510 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic bed and breakfast in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our inn features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel HDTV, and ambiance fireplaces. Some rooms have jetted spa tubs. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our bed and breakfast in is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a green inn and a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Laguna Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laguna Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.