We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Laguna Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Laguna Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   2020 S Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed only -unfortunately- one night in May, but it was a nice stay.
Not far from the ocean and from a very quiet beach at the time of our stay, just down the cliff.
A spacious room, well decorated.
Not far from restaurants, city center, galeries, shops, we drove, but could have easily walked there. Just we did not realize the distances.
Fruits, Wifi and PC for internet available all night through.
A very simple breakfast, and the breakfast room maybe a bit small in case of bad weather.
I would go back anytime...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    50
    12
    12
    4
See reviews for
30
61
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked the bungalow which was spacious and well equipped. But right next to the road and very very noisy. When we arrived it felt a bit grubby but the daily clean while we were staying was very good. The public areas are non existent really.. Communal breakfast area dingy and the shared terrace not really practical to use since you would be sitting outside someone's bedroom door! We used the pool a lot , kids enjoyed and don't care about cars whizz ing past. This has a motel rather than hotel feel. Saving grace is the free bus service that stops right outside, and a short walk to a nice beach. Staff and service varies by individual. We asked for an extra roll up bed to be put in one of the rooms to which they said no problem.. No mention of the 90 dollars they think they will charge for it! Overall not great, be prepared for the noise and motel ( not boutique hotel as it claims on the website) feel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed by the wonderful staff. The inn was very clean. The location is the best. We recommended the Inn to all our friends. We loved every moment of our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Unfortunately, the most disappoint stay of our Califonia round trip. The hotel is close to the ocean but in between there is the Highway, ad its very noisy traffic!! The windows are not isolating well, the rooms are very small, the breakfast very poor, the atmosphere is that one of a simple motel and nothing jusify the high room price,i.e. "no value for money“. The manger is very kind and helpful, but the owner of this hotel should make a lot of improvements!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in laguna beach for 2 nights, and loved the town, although it's a bit chi-chi, however the inn, whilst not bad, wasn't particularly great either

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a cute little "motor lodge" like they were called in the 60s. Nice clean rooms, although a bit small. Nice staff. Wonderful common patio outside the roomsfrom where you can see the ocean; only a block from the beach. There was a small pool, but we didn't use it. It is a long walk to the true center of town, but lots of stuff between hotel and center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in September 2011 and were delighted with it. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was less than a 5 minute walk from the beach and a pleasant walk into the main town of Laguna Beach (via a myrad of coffee shops & art galleries!). Very relaxed atmosphere everywhere, which was perfect for us. We enjoyed the continental style breakfast and there was enough quality coffee to keep us going throughout the day when we weren't off on a day trip somewhere.
The room wasn't the most luxurious (and could probably do with freshening up), but it was clean, tidy, and comfortable which was all we required; it's not as if we were in it all the time. The free wi-fi was a blessing and was very useful for planning our trips. The pool was small but a nice area, even if it was pretty much next to the street.
Overall, we had a fantastic time here, not least of which because of the friendly and welcoming atmosphere created by the staff, and we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Inn

Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel
Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Address: 2020 S Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Beach Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime stretch of Laguna Beach, the Laguna Beach Inn offers premier rates for a vacation close to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the comfort and convenience of this cozy beach getaway. The family-friendly inn offers a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, and even encourages small dogs to come along and enjoy some fun in the sun. Laguna Beach Inn is located across from Woods Cove Beach, "one of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California," and within walking distance of many great restaurants, boutiques and Laguna's well-known art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Laguna Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.