We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Laguna Beach

Nick's Laguna Beach
440 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2404
(949) 376-8595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The whole family voted Nick's as their favorite food of our week long trip to Southern Cal. We stopped in for a late lunch on our way from LA to San Diego based on reviews seen here. Boy are we glad we did. My husband had the blackened halibut sandwich and has proclaimed that the best he has ever had! (and he eats halibut a lot). Everyone loved the asparagus fries- even the kids- who stole most of mine! Our kids enjoyed the chicken pot pie and the macaroni and cheese. The location was perfect- Laguna Beach is lovely. The atmosphere was pleasant- the outside patio was full so we ate inside and at lunch time it was quiet and enjoyable. Best of all, the staff was super friendly and efficient. Will definitely return next time we're in Laguna Beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    138
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a great meal at Nick's when we visited Laguna Beach. The service was great and our the food was amazing. We shared the asparagus appetizer, I order the fired chicken for my main and it was incredible. Be advised that the fried chicken serving is huge! Everyone had a bite, it was so tasty. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal and left full and happy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“I rarely give 5/5 for everything, but Nick's deserves it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Should have booked - had to wait 40 min - so we went over to Wyland's art studio! The wait was worth it, great food, great atmosphere, great service :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of our best meals anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife put it best: "and all we had was meatloaf, roast chicken and cake and ice cream".

WOW!!

We had the hotel call and make a reserve - thanks previous Tripadvisor reviewers= good call. We were seated right away and watched dozens being turned away. Sat in the small outdoor patio out in front and were thankful for it. The heater kept us warm and it was slightly less noisy than inside ( this place is hopping and loud).

I was confused by the wine list: I thought it was telling a bottle of Italian Pinot Grigio was only $20! Turns out yep, that's the price!

Jonathan our server was great. When my wife asked for some opinions on her choices he didn't play the usual game of trying to have it both ways - he was clear with his recommendations and more importantly - why.

I had roast chicken. It was perfectly prepared with a light sauce to help with any dryness. However the standout was the accompanying vegetables: exactly what you would expect ( and appreciate ) from Californian cuisine - fresh, lightly cooked and incredibly flavourful.

However while I thought the chicken excellent it was put to shame by the meatloaf! My wife shared a bite or two near the end of the meal and I understood why she had been humming as she ate.

Finished with butter cake with fresh raspberries and ice cream. Double WOW!!

Price before tip was $67 - and I checked it 3 times. I would have paid double for the meal.

Great service, incredible meal - little loud - but this place earned all the stars!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply delish...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location, great service and great food. What more can you ask for? Went here after walking by, thought the restaurant seemed neat. Went in and was able to sit on their mini-terrace. Nice relaxing atmosphere and good spot to people watch while eating. Steak Salad was fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.