We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nifty Nick's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Laguna Beach

Nick's Laguna Beach
440 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2404
(949) 376-8595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
SVaughn1
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nifty Nick's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The restaurant is very nice and cozy. The staff is great and very engaging.

During our brief conversation with our waiter we stated we were there for our anniversary --- and didn't think twice about it --- but to our surprise --- out comes a (complimentary) small bowl of ice cream to our table. NICE TOUCH!!

One of the manager's came by before we left and check on our dining experience --- NICE TOUCH!!

We were impressed with the quality of location, ambiance, food and service.

Excellent job everyone!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    121
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I only gave Nicks Laguna Beach one less star because of the location. Anything on PCH with paid parking in back, walking a distance is a pain and the inside of Nicks is cramped and noisy. We prefer Nicks in San Clemente and South of Nicks in San Clemente but the food always is consistent. Their vegi burgers is like no other. Fries tiny and crisp. I have friends who also rave.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
807 reviews 807 reviews
694 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 311 cities Reviews in 311 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Just makes excellent rating - beats competition in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As is the case with most all good places in town, you have to make reservations well ahead. The first thing I noticed about Nick's compared to other places in town, is that the seating was more spread out vs on top of each other - certainly a positive. We started with artichoke and french onion soup. Both were fine, nothing great. Soup should have been served hotter. Lady had chipino - which was very good. I had ribs - which were good to very good. Side of shoe-string fries was very good. Overall very good food. Service was very good. Prices were a highlight - most plates under $20. Wines under $40. I give it overall excellent based upon the value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Def. recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there because Watermarc next door was closed that night. Had an enjoyable dinner at Nick's. Everything was tasty if not delicious. Particularly liked the shrimp tacitos and the seafood stew. Prices are appropriate. Service good. Would go back if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. Had a cheese burger. And amazing artichoke. Servers are very friendly and helpful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.