We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Laguna Beach

Nick's Laguna Beach
440 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2404
(949) 376-8595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 151 restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I only gave Nicks Laguna Beach one less star because of the location. Anything on PCH with paid parking in back, walking a distance is a pain and the inside of Nicks is cramped and noisy. We prefer Nicks in San Clemente and South of Nicks in San Clemente but the food always is consistent. Their vegi burgers is like no other. Fries tiny and crisp. I have friends who also rave.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    296
    112
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
766 reviews 766 reviews
657 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 301 cities Reviews in 301 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Just makes excellent rating - beats competition in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As is the case with most all good places in town, you have to make reservations well ahead. The first thing I noticed about Nick's compared to other places in town, is that the seating was more spread out vs on top of each other - certainly a positive. We started with artichoke and french onion soup. Both were fine, nothing great. Soup should have been served hotter. Lady had chipino - which was very good. I had ribs - which were good to very good. Side of shoe-string fries was very good. Overall very good food. Service was very good. Prices were a highlight - most plates under $20. Wines under $40. I give it overall excellent based upon the value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Def. recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there because Watermarc next door was closed that night. Had an enjoyable dinner at Nick's. Everything was tasty if not delicious. Particularly liked the shrimp tacitos and the seafood stew. Prices are appropriate. Service good. Would go back if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. Had a cheese burger. And amazing artichoke. Servers are very friendly and helpful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Quality Atmosphere and Great Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I went to Nick's for dinner. It was excellent. We had the shrimp taquitos for an app. They were big shrimp with a nice kick! My wife had a center cut fillet and I had the pistachio crusted Mahi Mahi. I recommend both!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.