We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Laguna Beach

Nick's Laguna Beach
440 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2404
19493768595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 131 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I only gave Nicks Laguna Beach one less star because of the location. Anything on PCH with paid parking in back, walking a distance is a pain and the inside of Nicks is cramped and noisy. We prefer Nicks in San Clemente and South of Nicks in San Clemente but the food always is consistent. Their vegi burgers is like no other. Fries tiny and crisp. I have friends who also rave.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    169
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
975 reviews 975 reviews
834 restaurant reviews
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Just makes excellent rating - beats competition in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As is the case with most all good places in town, you have to make reservations well ahead. The first thing I noticed about Nick's compared to other places in town, is that the seating was more spread out vs on top of each other - certainly a positive. We started with artichoke and french onion soup. Both were fine, nothing great. Soup should have been served hotter. Lady had chipino - which was very good. I had ribs - which were good to very good. Side of shoe-string fries was very good. Overall very good food. Service was very good. Prices were a highlight - most plates under $20. Wines under $40. I give it overall excellent based upon the value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Def. recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there because Watermarc next door was closed that night. Had an enjoyable dinner at Nick's. Everything was tasty if not delicious. Particularly liked the shrimp tacitos and the seafood stew. Prices are appropriate. Service good. Would go back if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. Had a cheese burger. And amazing artichoke. Servers are very friendly and helpful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Quality Atmosphere and Great Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I went to Nick's for dinner. It was excellent. We had the shrimp taquitos for an app. They were big shrimp with a nice kick! My wife had a center cut fillet and I had the pistachio crusted Mahi Mahi. I recommend both!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.