We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Def. recommendable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Laguna Beach

Nick's Laguna Beach
440 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2404
(949) 376-8595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 150 restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Def. recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there because Watermarc next door was closed that night. Had an enjoyable dinner at Nick's. Everything was tasty if not delicious. Particularly liked the shrimp tacitos and the seafood stew. Prices are appropriate. Service good. Would go back if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    300
    113
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. Had a cheese burger. And amazing artichoke. Servers are very friendly and helpful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Quality Atmosphere and Great Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I went to Nick's for dinner. It was excellent. We had the shrimp taquitos for an app. They were big shrimp with a nice kick! My wife had a center cut fillet and I had the pistachio crusted Mahi Mahi. I recommend both!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Boy, Are We Glad We Picked Nick's!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A noon stroll down Coast Hwy. in Laguna Beach with old friends naturally came to "where do you want to eat"? We noticed empty restaurants, but Nick's was nearly full. We thought this must be a good choice, we were right!! First, the decor is charming, clean and fresh. The Server was extremely professional. Everything on the menu looked wonderful with several very unique and unusual items. My seared sea bass, mashed potates and sauted spinach/cabbage were cooked to perfection.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were thinking of the Watermarc because we saw it on OC Housewives. It was nearly empty and a friend had suggested that Nick's (right next door) was better. Nick's was busy and we had about a 20 minute wait for a table. They took our cell # to let us know when the table was ready and we strolled down the block to an art gallery while we waited. They gave us a great table just outside the main restaurant on the patio. I had an incredible burger with bacon, Vermont cheddar, and hickory BBQ sauce on an English Muffin. She had the roast beef dip with au jus and a side of warm potato salad that had a slight hint of German potato salad flavor. Everything was delicious and the waitress was super. We even had a double celebrity sighting on the night we were there. We were in SoCal for 9 days and this will be a must stop the next time we are in the area. We hit the Gelato shop down the alley between Nick's and the Watermarc for desert and I recommend that as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.