We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired old piece of a jewel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A tired old piece of a jewel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First of all, let me say that I didn't stay at this hotel. I was there for my cousin's wedding, so I cannot really comment on the rooms, but on the common areas of the hotel.

This is certainly a classic: located in the very heart of artsy Laguna Beach, just a few steps south of the main beach. As you can guess, location is unbeatable and you can go walk from here to anywhere in town (which is, of course, a rarity in Orange County). From most places in the hotel you get an outstanding view of the Pacific.

Seeing the pictures you'll find in the corridors, you can already guess the hotel's name predates the twentieth century, but the actual construction is from the 40s or so. It shows.

The hotel certainly looks tired: a main ballroom with stained carpets and brick walls which have been painted and repainted all over. The bathrooms serving the Laguna Room are small, with scraped tiles and suspicious looking plumbing. I didn't see any kind of swimming pool, either.

In conclusion, this hotel should cater to a crowd willing to spend their days dozing at the beach, walking over to the gallerias and stores of Laguna and forgetting a bit about the busy and hurried suburban life of the surroundings. It is a reminder of a time gone by, but its central location and air of nostalgia compensate for an old timey vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    61
    57
    60
    72
See reviews for
63
116
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had brunch here during the weeking so availability was good. The staff our very attentive and try to accomodate your table choice, we were lucky to have a seaview table, the menu isn't huge but the food is very good and not too much. Good for families with young children.

Cost for Brunch including service was around $40 for 2.

The hotel looks very nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for several days. The rooms were small but clean! Tiny bathrooms but that is the way they use to be. The courtyard was small and quaint but quite charming. You could not beat the service, food or those amazing views. Will I be back, YOU BET!!

Room Tip: If you are wanting luxury this is not the place for you. If you want convenience, great quality food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanda_cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose this hotel as we were only in Laguna for one night and we wanted to be as close to the Beach as possible whilst still being close to somewhere to eat.
The Hotel Laguna certainly ticked our two boxes and the fact that we could open our windows to see the sea was fantastic. The hotel is quite old (it makes to pretense of this on it's website) so windows are single glazed, no air conditioning and fixtures look worn. A couple of tiles were missing from the bathroom and others were cracked however in all, it was a comfortable stay. In the heat of summer, we slept with the windows open and listened to the waves at night. Its worth paying more for a sea view as the hotel is on a main road on the opposite side and we heard people complain about the noise of the traffic especially with the windows open.
If you want a modern hotel then this probably isn't the place for you but it you dont mind a slightly older but still clean immediately on the beach then this hotel is great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for 9 days total over the last month with daughter once and husband once. The service on the beach and Deck restaurant is the best in town. The rooms are outdated without plugs for cell phones and could use a remodel but who really cares when you are on the beach in 2 minutes. We stayed in a Village room once and all of the other days the Village room deluxe. The deluxe room is much larger and worth the extra money. The valet service is top notch and we always pay for the breakfast, parking and room package as the deck food is wonderful. The staff is friendly and on a longer stay you really have to encourage the maid service to change your sheets. We have stayed in fancier but it was not as fun as staying here.

Room Tip: Loved the location of room 207 and 305 very close to every thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First, the headboard was not attached to the bed or wall. Thudding all night as we rolled over. Extension cords and power strip powering TV, alarm clock because there's no electrical outlets in the room to charge technology. Fire code violations seems to me. Bathroom wall paint peeling, sink bowl cracked, lukewarm water in shower, and mastic showing through at edges of mirror. Sliding glass windows nearly fell out of their tracks. Shredded fabric on window shade. Carpeting substituted for what you think should be base boards. Metal room keys that could be duplicated by burglars, not secure at all. Mentioned these to an employee who gave a B.S. story about it being an historic site that couldn't be altered. I will never stay here again. They gouge because of it being the only hotel on the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My siblings and I wanted a romantic, beach atmosphere for our parents special milestone wedding anniversary and Hotel Laguna delivered big time!
George was especially accomodating and all the staff helpful in making their 60th anniversary celebration a special and memorable one.
The hotel retains its historic charm and the food remains delicious with ocean views unsurpassed. Having access to the private sand lounges available for hotel guests only is truley a bonus, which includes wait staff.
Perfectly situated within steps to beach, main shopping area and restaurants (although no need to venture further than hotel which serves up delicious fare). Whether you wish to never leave the hotel grounds or stroll the neighboring downtown, this hotel is ideally located in the heart of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are modernized well considering the age of hotel. King size bed offers luxury sleep and qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn At Laguna Beach
Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#10 of 21 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#3 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#7 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.