We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but full of Nostalgia!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old, but full of Nostalgia!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for several days. The rooms were small but clean! Tiny bathrooms but that is the way they use to be. The courtyard was small and quaint but quite charming. You could not beat the service, food or those amazing views. Will I be back, YOU BET!!

Room Tip: If you are wanting luxury this is not the place for you. If you want convenience, great quality food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    50
    59
    72
See reviews for
60
109
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amanda_cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose this hotel as we were only in Laguna for one night and we wanted to be as close to the Beach as possible whilst still being close to somewhere to eat.
The Hotel Laguna certainly ticked our two boxes and the fact that we could open our windows to see the sea was fantastic. The hotel is quite old (it makes to pretense of this on it's website) so windows are single glazed, no air conditioning and fixtures look worn. A couple of tiles were missing from the bathroom and others were cracked however in all, it was a comfortable stay. In the heat of summer, we slept with the windows open and listened to the waves at night. Its worth paying more for a sea view as the hotel is on a main road on the opposite side and we heard people complain about the noise of the traffic especially with the windows open.
If you want a modern hotel then this probably isn't the place for you but it you dont mind a slightly older but still clean immediately on the beach then this hotel is great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for 9 days total over the last month with daughter once and husband once. The service on the beach and Deck restaurant is the best in town. The rooms are outdated without plugs for cell phones and could use a remodel but who really cares when you are on the beach in 2 minutes. We stayed in a Village room once and all of the other days the Village room deluxe. The deluxe room is much larger and worth the extra money. The valet service is top notch and we always pay for the breakfast, parking and room package as the deck food is wonderful. The staff is friendly and on a longer stay you really have to encourage the maid service to change your sheets. We have stayed in fancier but it was not as fun as staying here.

Room Tip: Loved the location of room 207 and 305 very close to every thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First, the headboard was not attached to the bed or wall. Thudding all night as we rolled over. Extension cords and power strip powering TV, alarm clock because there's no electrical outlets in the room to charge technology. Fire code violations seems to me. Bathroom wall paint peeling, sink bowl cracked, lukewarm water in shower, and mastic showing through at edges of mirror. Sliding glass windows nearly fell out of their tracks. Shredded fabric on window shade. Carpeting substituted for what you think should be base boards. Metal room keys that could be duplicated by burglars, not secure at all. Mentioned these to an employee who gave a B.S. story about it being an historic site that couldn't be altered. I will never stay here again. They gouge because of it being the only hotel on the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My siblings and I wanted a romantic, beach atmosphere for our parents special milestone wedding anniversary and Hotel Laguna delivered big time!
George was especially accomodating and all the staff helpful in making their 60th anniversary celebration a special and memorable one.
The hotel retains its historic charm and the food remains delicious with ocean views unsurpassed. Having access to the private sand lounges available for hotel guests only is truley a bonus, which includes wait staff.
Perfectly situated within steps to beach, main shopping area and restaurants (although no need to venture further than hotel which serves up delicious fare). Whether you wish to never leave the hotel grounds or stroll the neighboring downtown, this hotel is ideally located in the heart of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are modernized well considering the age of hotel. King size bed offers luxury sleep and qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff is amazing...so personable ....especially George!!
Thank you for being so understanding....!! I will remember your kindness !
The beach is beautiful..plus the attendants on the beach were so nice!
I just needed to be alone for the day and Hotel Laguna was the perfect place to do that...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We travel a lot and I have a experience of staying in so many hotels but this one even doesn't deserve the one star. It's not even clean and organize, everything here is really old and beds are so so small. Imagine I couldn't sleep because the bed sheets are smelling bad and very uncomfortable. I was trying to sleep and I realize the cockroaches was moving around on the wall that's why I stayed up all night and if my son wasn't sleep absolutely I would change my hotel in the same moment.
Don't stay in this hotel if cleanest and service is important to you.
Unbelievably bad experience :/(

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.