We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT the Hotel Laguna it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT the Hotel Laguna it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I met over 30 years ago at the Renaissance Bakery on Forest Avenue (now a very good Italian restaurant) in Laguna Beach. Given that our anniversary is coming up and we were going to be in Orange County for three nights anyway, we decided to stay at Hotel Laguna, asking for a corner room that has one window facing Main Beach and the other window facing the ocean. The location could not be better. The first night we were assigned a room next to/behind a corner room so that we had just a view of Main Beach, not really so bad. But what wasn't great was that the toilet bowl had black stains. The second and third nights we were moved to the corner room next to where we were the night before. Great views, cleaner looking toilet bowl, but one of the windows facing Main Beach was broken, secured with black electrical tape. Our last morning in Laguna, we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was very good. I heard one of the employees say something about "renovating the hotel." If that's true, they have a ways to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    40
    50
    66
See reviews for
53
90
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you love all the modern amenities and luxury bathrooms, this is probably not the place for you to stay. However, if you like a classic old hotel, it is great. And remember, you are not here to lounge about your room. It is all about the Beach and the ocean just steps out the door. Was there for my daughters wedding and we had a large number of rooms. They were clean and the beds were comfortable.

The restaurant and bar were spectacular. Good food and incredible service; and the only beach in the area where you can order drinks on the beach.

Great wedding venue.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, or a garden and ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Centrally located - yes, but the rooms are way over-priced for $244/night. Very old bathrooms, cracked ways, oldish carpeted floors, so-so toiletries, parking lot view from the room (you can hardly see the ocean despite being located on the oceanside of Hwy 1). I've seen old hotels that do a fabulous job in modernizing or making the decor cooly retro - but Hotel Laguna misses the mark. I hope a real renovation is on its way because the location is great.

Room Tip: I would check out AirBnB or stay at other B&B's 1-2 miles South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is great! True, the rooms are small and outdated, but this is a vintage, quaint hotel with tons of character. The bar and restaurant is fantastic, and the service is wonderful. My favorite thing about this hotel is the private beach. There are umbrellas and lounge chairs with beachside food and beverage service. What could be better than sitting on the beach and having someone bring you food?

I'm really surprised by all the negative reviews. I've stayed in a wide range of hotels from the La Quinta to the St. Regis, and I enjoyed my time here. If you must have a large and beautiful room, head up the coast to the Montage, but be prepared to spend 4x as much. Set your expectations appropriately and you'll enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: Get a coastal view. Worth the extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel Laguna was my annual summer trip with the boyfriend (now husband) for years. I love how quaint it is, along with updated amenities, despise how old the hotel is. The room is a bit smaller than most hotels that I've stayed at but who wants to spend all day in the room when the beach is right below!?!? We have stayed in both rooms facing the street or the parking lot, as well as the oceanview and let me tell you, nothing beats going to bed and waking up with the sound of the waves through the open windows. It's gotten pricier staying at Laguna but if given any chance, I would definitely stay here again. So many good memories!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The positives: Perfect location for walking to Pagent of the Masters, shopping, fine dining. Could hear waves & smell ocean from our room. Comfortable bed. Food & service at restaurant was very good. Great, close public transportation.
The negatives: An indentation was made on the bathroom door so the door would close not hitting the toilet. A rusty cabinet inset to put some of your toiletries above the very small sink. Peeling paint on room-facing bathroom door showing layers of paint. A shower with either almost scalding water changing to very cold water without warning. No towel racks or hooks to hang a used bath towel. We don't mind 'rustic'. BUT we paid over $200. PER NIGHT (inc. taxes) Also we had to pay I don't remember, either $20. or $40. per day for valet parking. We didn't use our car ever the 3 days we were there. They tout cabana services. Yeah, sure, good luck. Very sad & disappointing and misleading. Not good memories. p.s. This is my first negative review. I was taught, "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all!" There you have it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is extremely old and dated. The location is great, you can walk everywhere but it's not a high-end place. The rooms & bathrooms were small. Outlets were a problem. I had to blow dry my hair by the window. The windows have no screens. Complete safety hazard for little kids!!

Laguna was a nice getaway but I felt like we could've done so much better. But, everyone liked the location...

Room Tip: The rooms on the side have a beautiful partial ocean view but they are noisy with no window screens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.