We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & Sad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Carpinteria, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing & Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The positives: Perfect location for walking to Pagent of the Masters, shopping, fine dining. Could hear waves & smell ocean from our room. Comfortable bed. Food & service at restaurant was very good. Great, close public transportation.
The negatives: An indentation was made on the bathroom door so the door would close not hitting the toilet. A rusty cabinet inset to put some of your toiletries above the very small sink. Peeling paint on room-facing bathroom door showing layers of paint. A shower with either almost scalding water changing to very cold water without warning. No towel racks or hooks to hang a used bath towel. We don't mind 'rustic'. BUT we paid over $200. PER NIGHT (inc. taxes) Also we had to pay I don't remember, either $20. or $40. per day for valet parking. We didn't use our car ever the 3 days we were there. They tout cabana services. Yeah, sure, good luck. Very sad & disappointing and misleading. Not good memories. p.s. This is my first negative review. I was taught, "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all!" There you have it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    41
    50
    66
See reviews for
53
92
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is extremely old and dated. The location is great, you can walk everywhere but it's not a high-end place. The rooms & bathrooms were small. Outlets were a problem. I had to blow dry my hair by the window. The windows have no screens. Complete safety hazard for little kids!!

Laguna was a nice getaway but I felt like we could've done so much better. But, everyone liked the location...

Room Tip: The rooms on the side have a beautiful partial ocean view but they are noisy with no window screens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

2 reasons we have been going to the hotel for 17 years is the free breakfast and the beach club. They have taken the free breakfast away now and the beach club couldn't have treated us more rudely. We were the first ones down to the beach every day of our vacation and instead of putting us close to the hotel stairs they put us all the way at the end of the property right next to the stairs for the public beach access so they could ignore us all day. The staff was rude, the rooms are dirty, old, musty and the shower tubs don't drain. To top it all off if you want A/C (which should be standard in the 21st century) this is not the place for you. They do not have a single room with A/C.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

When paying $250+ for a room you should not be able to hear very specific bathroom noises from the rooms around you which was the case here. This hotel needs to be boycotted until it is updated. The room reminded me of a dingy college dorm or first apartment. All paint was peeling, bathroom seemed like it was the original from the 20's, shower had stains and several bugs, windows barely cranked open (one was broken), and the place in general reminded me of something seen in a 70's movie about a drug den or a brothel. Was literally expecting the door to get kicked in by cops or see vagrants in the hallway. Location alone is not worth the price of this place. Never stayed at a less updated hotel. They will hide behind the historic significance of the property but the truth is lazy/cheap ownership that is unwilling to update due to a steady stream of occupants looking for a beach location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location and beach are great..........but sleeping in the local park offered better accommodations. Avoid this place like the plague until they shell out some $$$$ for renovations. I'm talking enough money that this place no longer resembles the flop house/roach motel that will surely having you wondering why you forked out $500+ for the weekend. Every word of this account of the hotel is accurate but if you are the type of person that needs to learn the hard way then by all means take your chances.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was built in the 30's and is pretty original. reminded us of a 30's boardinghouse. Bed was not a queen as advertised, but more like a twin.

Beware of the parking guys, they scraped my car and would not take responsibility for it.

Loading dock is right outside the north wall and they started unloading things around 7 am on Saturday morning. Pretty loud.

Not happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

You cannot beat the proximity to beach, downtown, Art Festival, and restaurants but that's all it has going for it. Rooms are OUTDATED and the first floor hall all the way down to end smells of urine. The restaurant as advertised has a magnificent view but the food was mediocre. I personally would spend a little more to secure better accommodations.

Room Tip: Be sure not to get a room on first floor.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESCONDIDO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is old and in some cases not well taken care of. However we had a good experience with a very friendly and helpful staff. The wedding was very well done and enough staff to go around. The room was old but fairly clean. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was old and reasonably clean. All in all we enjoyed the stay and found waitresses, and other staff friendly and made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;